MIlo PMPS 206 **Need help with Milo's dose***

Status
Not open for further replies.

milo

Member Since 2011
Hi everyone, I have really been working hard with Milo on transfering him for dry DM to Fancy Feast and he has been doing great with it. I went down on jis Lantus to 5 units AM & PM So I am really happy about that.. He is due his shot now but I am not comfortable giving him 5 units with a number like 206, does anyone have any advise about this??? AMPS was 331 / +2.5 289 / +6 260 / then the 206 PMPS >>>>>>I read the sticky notes on what to do about shooting with low numbers and it is now 8:06 PM and he should have had his shot at 7:00 PM he ate 1/2 can fancy feast turkey giblet for dinner at 7:15 PM just did another test and it was 197, I have decided not to give him a shot tonight, I hope I made the right choice but I am still new at this adn to be honest a bit scared of messing uo his doses and making him sick or bottom out etc.....so I'll see what his numbers are later and go from there
 
Jennifer --

We really need more than just one cycle's worth of numbers to offer any suggestions regarding dose. This is why we kept stressing the importance of a spreadsheet. Your last thread (we call them condos) is 56 posts long and to be honest, I just don't remember all of the details. A spreadsheet would give a better sense of what Milo's numbers have been since Sunday. As a general rule, we think it's fine to shoot if numbers are above 150. On the Health board, they will advise shooting your usual dose if numbers are above 200. Remember, Lantus dosing is based on the nadir, not on the pre-shot number although it has to be safe to shoot.

Milo's previous condo
 
Hi Jennifer, good job with switching to the wet food! That can be a real battle that goes on for months so you are making important progress. I would follow Sienne's advice about the spreadsheet. Everyone is very generous with help but they really need to have that information to make an informed and safe recommendation. Once you get the spreadsheet set up, it's very quick to enter information as you give shots and measure the BG. It's great to see Milo's dose coming down. Good job!
Liz
 
I too, as most of us do, look at the individual cat's spreadsheet on almost every condo I read, especially when an owner is looking for help. Please let us know if we can help you get your spreadsheet set up. I know someone helped me get mine set up, way back when. It is a really good record that you can look back on, when you have a similar situation arise and you want to remember what you did the last time this similar situation happened, especially when you are in a hurry, or just woke up, or are worried or stressed. It is an invaluable tool to help you.....and to help us to help you.
 
Jennifer :YMHUG: :YMHUG: First Breathe, we know that this is a lower number than you have seen, but it isn't really low. As others have said 200 is a very shootable number. Remember that meter have a 20%+/- accuracy so the number really wasn't dropping. If at all possible we avoid skipping a shot because then the shed will have to refill.

Post right away if the number seems low and we can walk you through it, that way you may not even need to stall. You didn't post until an hour after shot time tonight and there was no time to give you advice. It would be great if you could do a +11 test. It will give you an advance notice on what Milo's BGs are doing and an extra chance to get advice.

Another thing is not to feed while you are stalling and waiting for advice. Giving food will spike the numbers up and we need to see what happen to the BG on it's own. An hour is a long time to wait, too. We usually recheck every 15 minutes too. It gives us a better idea of what is happening.

It's a done deed tonight, so don't worry about it. But you are back to holding for another 6 cycles waiting for the shed to fill. If you need to adjust your morning shot time this is a good chance. You don't need to worry about the 12 hours from the night before or you can just go back to your regular time in the morning.
 
Yes, I do need some help with my spread sheet I have been trying to load it since I joined, and on my other post I was given sites to go to for help and still have yet to be able to do it, and I was not aware to continue to start A new post when they got so long until someone mentioned it, so I know I'm slow at learning all this but I really had know clue how to manage this site, but I will get the hang of it. I read the sticky notes about what do do about his numbers, and now I feel bad I didn't give him the shot, but I will remember not to be so concerned about the "pre shot" numbers etc... I read as much as I can on the boards and they are very helpful but I am still a little overwhelmed with all the information. I am still keeping all my information on my calendar, but would really like to get my spread sheet up for everyone to view. so I will continue to to try.
 
There definitely is a lot of overwhelming information, between setting up your SS and learning about diabetes. Some of the folks here really know how to epxlain everything so that it is not so overwhelming - just keep asking questions about any and all of it. Everyone here is extremely helpful - both in support and knowledge.

Don't feel bad about not shooting...you have to do what you are comfortable with. And, you will become comfortable with shooting lower numbers in time! Milo will be fine, and you'll be back on track before you know it. Just the facts that you have switched Milo's food and are home testing are huge, gigantic steps in taking control of Milo's diabetes. Excellent work...Milo is in great, loving hands! One step at at time. Once you get your SS up and running, the folks experienced with dosing will be able to guide you with the greatest of ease. If you still have trouble setting up your SS after checking out the link Ann provided, note that in your subject line and someone will come along and help you out.

Have a relaxing evening...all will be well!

Amy
 
You're getting good feedback on dosing, so I just want to say, don't worry, you're doing fine. It is so overwhelming at the beginning. If you can focus on getting those mid-cycle tests, you'll start getting more comfortable.

I am not tech oriented, but if you can't manage the spreadsheet, PM me. I'll if I can work through it with you.

First, have you created your Google account? Sign in, then click here:
https://docs.google.com/previewtemp...Z3I3TVh3YU5pNWRES0RYclZ2YUE&mode=public&pli=1

You should see a sample template that you can save with a name of your own.

Linking it into your signature after that isn't hard!
 
Do not feel bad about not shooting and you will get the hang of this place like you said its A LOT to take in at one time and I remember totally being in your shoes just take your time you are doing great with Milo and once you get your SS up and running the advisers here will be able to see what Milo is doing :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
good job getting milo's spreadsheet going! wahoo!

there is a ton to learn - no worries about it taking a bit. we've all been there. just fyi, milo's dose is going to be based off the lowest point it gets to in the cycle, and unless they go low (50 or under) we hold the dose at least 6 shots to let the dose settle in.

Here's the part of the protocol that you need right now:

"General" Guidelines:
Hold the initial starting dose for 5 - 7 days (10 - 14 consecutive cycles) unless the numbers tell you otherwise. Kitties experiencing high flat curves or prone to ketones may want to increase the starting dose after 3 days (6 consecutive cycles).
Each subsequent dose is held for a minimum of 3 days (6 consecutive cycles) unless kitty earns a reduction (See: Reducing the dose...).
Adjustments to dose are based on nadirs with only some consideration given to preshot numbers.

Increasing the dose:
Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.

absolutely LOVE the avatar picture you've got of milo! looks like he's an all-white kitty who fell into caramel back-first! what a cutie!
 
I see you got that picture up- very cute!! (I'm curious, did the avatar info I posted still work? so I know to trash it or keep it)

Milo looks like a big ball of fur- I just want to hug him! How much does he weigh? How old is he?

I know there's a protocol, and others can help with that, BUT, I don't feel bad about skipping or reducing a dose when I'm not comfortable- "mom's" instincts do count for me (and you can't take it back out). The switch off of dry food, can be huge. The fact that you dropped dose considerably recently, and still got a preshot way lower than you are used to, likely means the food switch is doing something, and needs to be watched closely until the switch is complete.

Great progress! on the learning curve- good job!
 
Your avatar photo made me giggle!!

Being overwhelmed is completely normal at this point. No worries. Thank you for getting your SS up and running. You're doing a great job at getting spot checks, as well.

With Lantus, it's important to be consistent. Lantus really likes consistency. With certain exceptions, you will ultimately see better numbers if you shoot the same amount of insulin twice a day. For the moment, I would suggest you hold Milo's dose. It's looking like he's bouncing off of the blue number from last night. You don't want to change the dose during a bounce.

I'd also suggest you start a new thread (we call them condos) each day.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top