MILO BACK FROM VET Update PMPS 398

Status
Not open for further replies.

milosmommy

Member Since 2009
So we got there and he weighed the same as he did in January. They took him back for his blood workup and he let them know how unhappy he was. He growled, hisssed, screeched and proceeded to pee all over the one vet tech. Let me say this is NOT normal for Milo. He might growl or hiss there but he has never peed on anyone.

We compared my Relion Confirm with the Alpha Trak they used. It was 30 off so pretty good. Mine was 30 lower than Alpha Trak.

Vet came in and he started exam. Found Milo had a spot on his back that was very sore when he touched it. He went up and down back and only on this spot did Milo get mad. He put him on Onsior an anti-inflammatory for the pain. He is on that once a day for 3 days. He showed me how to see if the spot is sore on Milo. I got tablets. Came home and put it in a hot dog bite. Milo had no clue a pill was there and ate it.

Mouth exam was next and we have a badly infected tooth. So we are on Clavamox for 10 days. I also got the tablets for that and did the hot dog trick. Milo could care less if a pill is in it. He takes that twice a day. The vet said he needs a dental and he is sure an extraction. So on Tuesday we go in to get our teeth done. I am one who would rather get it done sooner (vet said this was good as he will have been on antibiotic for several days).

So Tuesday we have to be there at by 730. He said to give half a dose of insulin. I did bring up how Milo was acting different. He wanted to take care of all of this and see if these problems could be causing the issues. Then we will address if insulin could be causing problems. Overall when he saw the SS he was happy with the numbers we were getting. I am taking a can of his food in for them to feed him after the dental so they don't give him a 'bad' food.

So an expensive day and an expensive Tuesday to come I hope Milo gets better. He is happy to be home and ate his dinner, took a bath and is just sitting around. We get our shot at 830 so I am interested to see where we are. He was 356 at vet which I was actually happy with. This was AFTER they had poked and he had his tantrum.

Thank you all for the replies to earlier thread this afternoon. I feel terrible not knowing how long he has felt bad, BUT am glad I got him in today and glad I have a great vet.
 
Don't be too had on yourself. Our kitties are good at hiding when they feel bad. I hope the meds help him feel better soon. I'm sure the dental, and getting rid of the bad tooth, will help him feel much better.
 
There was a lot of interesting info in your other thread. Helped me out a lot too so thanks for that! I've told you before the Bud acts strange after his injections, too. He would hide behind the shower curtain and has moved to hiding under the bed. His eyes look "off" for a while too. It started after the switch to Levemir as I didn't notice this with ProZinc. But, I'm sticking with the Levemir as I think it is working better for Bud number wise. We'll see...

I'm sure all this treatment will get Milo better!
 
I am so glad to hear that yo have learned that some of Milo's problems could be the lump on his back and a tooth. It is not fun to get this sort of news, but at least now you can get those things treated and then figure out the insulin thing. Good luck on Tuesday. I hope all is resolved.
 
glad you got him in and found two things that might be the source of the problem. It's always good when you know what to tackle!

Just fyi - for next time, we ask people to have just one thread per cat per day. That keeps the cat's info all in one place and keeps the group's # of posts manageable with every cat on the front page. You can edit the subject line of a post endlessly during the day with any recent info. Use "thread tools" in the upper right of the thread to find where to do that.

Did the vet have any idea what was on his back that was hurting? was there a lump or something visible on his skin? that seems kind of strange.
 
glad you got him in and found two things that might be the source of the problem. It's always good when you know what to tackle!

Just fyi - for next time, we ask people to have just one thread per cat per day. That keeps the cat's info all in one place and keeps the group's # of posts manageable with every cat on the front page. You can edit the subject line of a post endlessly during the day with any recent info. Use "thread tools" in the upper right of the thread to find where to do that.

Did the vet have any idea what was on his back that was hurting? was there a lump or something visible on his skin? that seems kind of strange.

I'm sorry I missed the info about not posting 2 threads in one day.

He's thinking a disc is bothering him from the way Milo acted when he touched him and pushed on back up and down. In December when Milo was diagnosed he did a back xray so he was going to go back and look at that. There was no lump or anything.

I held dose tonight. Will increase in morning to 5 5u but didn't want to increase after his stressful afternoon. Also want to see what, if anything, meds do.
 
Last edited:
I'm glad you got some answers today. And I agree - don't beat yourself up on the tooth. Neko's teeth looked fine to visual inspection before her last dental and it wasn't until the x-ray that they found one with the roots gone below the surface. Cats are great at hiding things. I hope your vet will take pre dental x-rays to see if there are any other teeth "pending".

You can add fish oil to Milo's food as an anti-inflammatory too. Neko has some spinal arthritis, so she's sensitive to touch in a particular area, although she's gotten better with acupuncture and acupressure. She's a lot more relaxed now when I touch that spot. Onsior is only supposed to be used for 3 days. If you need something longer term for pain, buprenorphine is a better option.
 
I'm glad you got some answers today. And I agree - don't beat yourself up on the tooth. Neko's teeth looked fine to visual inspection before her last dental and it wasn't until the x-ray that they found one with the roots gone below the surface. Cats are great at hiding things. I hope your vet will take pre dental x-rays to see if there are any other teeth "pending".

You can add fish oil to Milo's food as an anti-inflammatory too. Neko has some spinal arthritis, so she's sensitive to touch in a particular area, although she's gotten better with acupuncture and acupressure. She's a lot more relaxed now when I touch that spot. Onsior is only supposed to be used for 3 days. If you need something longer term for pain, buprenorphine is a better option.
Yes he is doing pretty dental xray. That was in price quote. He is only on the onsior for 3 days. Is the fish oil better than a methyl b12 supplement. How do you do the fish oil... Just squirt into food.
We had 3 teeth pulled last time. Hoping this is just one.

Thanks
 
I'm using the Nordic Naturals fish oil, and I just squirt it onto the food. Fish oil helps with general inflammation. The methyl B12 is for neuropathy. I just mentioned the Onsior 3 days in case you end up having to go for longer term pain control.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top