Milo AMPS 219, former OTJ kitty, need some opinions

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kelly and Milo

Member Since 2009
Milo was OTJ for 264 wonderful days. We decided to take a 2 week vacation, and when we returned, I think Milo decided to punish us for being gone so long. cat(2)_steam First day back his evening number was 150, not horrible, but high for Milo since he has maintained under 100 since being OTJ. I didn't test again for another week. This time he was over 200, so I decided to give him .5 units of lantus. I had previously used the coupon for the free pens, so I opened a new pen of lantus.

Milo has now been on lantus for almost 2 weeks, but his numbers just seem to be all over the place. (link to chart should be in signature, place let me know if not) I have been considering taking him to the vet, but since he is aggressive they have to sedate him to run any tests. It is for this reason I have been waiting to see how he reacts to the insulin and if just the stress of us being gone made him relapse. I just wondered what other on this board thought. When he was first diagnosed, he reacted very well to the insulin and the diet change. He stabilized very quickly and then was soon OTJ.

This time doesn't seem to be the same thought. I thought he was making progress on Oct. 1, when I came home for lunch and he BG was 54. After giving him a low carb snack, I was excited he might have earned a dose reduction, but then his numbers jumped back up, so I went back to .5. Any thoughts would be greatly appreciated!
 
Hi Kelly,

nice to see you guys, but not like this you know?
How are his teeth? Any food changes?

We'll see what others can add, but I hope it's just a blip, as they say, and a short trip on the juice.
 
I'm thinking along the same lines as Ronnie. I hate to suggest this since it sounds like a vet visit is very stressful for Milo, but I think he needs a check up. The basics need to be ruled out -- any teeth problems, basic labs for any infections, etc.
 
Hi Kelly,
My first thought was like Ronnie's - how's the teeth, when was the last full vet check, what about food, how is the LB action (any changes from before your absence), stuff like that.

It could be something with a tooth, even if he had a recent dental, and even some infection could cause problems, so it may be worth a look-see from the vet to rule out all possibilities.

I have a civvie that I plan to take to the vet before the end of the year, for the first time in her 8yrs, because she is crazy and I don't even know how I will get her into a carry case and if the vet will even look at a feline lunatic! I don't know how you do it, but I am sure I will want to get something from the vet to get mine to the office!

As for returning to insulin, I have heard that those returning are a bit tougher to get back OTJ, but others can say more about that. Hopefully the vet can tell you more what's going on with Milo.
 
Milo was last in to see the vet in May and had his dental cleaning at that time. I would hope that would rule out teeth issues, but maybe not? He had a full work up at that time as well and everything came back great. Other than us being out of town, no food changes. Now while we were away, I had our neighbor putting food out in the morning, half a can fresh and half a can frozen for each cat. This might have been a mistake because apparently Milo and his brother just licked away on the frozen. My neighbor said that when she came back in the afternoon to clean the litter box, all the food was gone. I am wondering if this was a contributing factor to Milo being back on the juice since he is normally fed once in the morning and once in the evening.
 
Gayle,

I have found two things very useful when trying to get either of my cats in their crate and to the vet. First, I spray some "At Ease" on a blanket/towel the day prior to the vet visit and put the blanket/towel in an area my cat normals naps in. Second, I place some freezed dried salmon in the crate. Both of my cats go crazy for the stuff and will run right in to get it. I buy both items at petsmart. Maybe this will help with your civie.
 
Rescue Remedy also works really well. I buy the kind for pets with no alcohol in it...I get it at Whole Foods. You can put 4-5 drops in their food or rub it on their gums and then keep administering every 30 mins or so until destressed.
 
thanks for the suggestions, but a tranquilizer gun is likely what I will need as she does NOT LIKE BEING TOUCHED and eats only 1 kind of dry food.
I will look for the at ease and other products similar and also see what my vet says to do.
not much point getting her there if they refuse to touch her!

Kelly, what about urine to see if any infection. Also, what about pancreatitis or something like that? When I took Ollie in for normal checkup, his tests showed he had p-itis but showed NO symptoms at all! Cats are so cagey; they hide stuff from you.

I wonder about a cracked tooth or something. Can you look at the gums and see how it all looks?

It just seems odd that you would have Milo come OTJ conveniently following your return home.
When had you tested prior? Can you recall any signs before you left for the trip?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top