Kelly and Milo
Member Since 2009
Milo was OTJ for 264 wonderful days. We decided to take a 2 week vacation, and when we returned, I think Milo decided to punish us for being gone so long. cat(2)_steam First day back his evening number was 150, not horrible, but high for Milo since he has maintained under 100 since being OTJ. I didn't test again for another week. This time he was over 200, so I decided to give him .5 units of lantus. I had previously used the coupon for the free pens, so I opened a new pen of lantus.
Milo has now been on lantus for almost 2 weeks, but his numbers just seem to be all over the place. (link to chart should be in signature, place let me know if not) I have been considering taking him to the vet, but since he is aggressive they have to sedate him to run any tests. It is for this reason I have been waiting to see how he reacts to the insulin and if just the stress of us being gone made him relapse. I just wondered what other on this board thought. When he was first diagnosed, he reacted very well to the insulin and the diet change. He stabilized very quickly and then was soon OTJ.
This time doesn't seem to be the same thought. I thought he was making progress on Oct. 1, when I came home for lunch and he BG was 54. After giving him a low carb snack, I was excited he might have earned a dose reduction, but then his numbers jumped back up, so I went back to .5. Any thoughts would be greatly appreciated!
Milo has now been on lantus for almost 2 weeks, but his numbers just seem to be all over the place. (link to chart should be in signature, place let me know if not) I have been considering taking him to the vet, but since he is aggressive they have to sedate him to run any tests. It is for this reason I have been waiting to see how he reacts to the insulin and if just the stress of us being gone made him relapse. I just wondered what other on this board thought. When he was first diagnosed, he reacted very well to the insulin and the diet change. He stabilized very quickly and then was soon OTJ.
This time doesn't seem to be the same thought. I thought he was making progress on Oct. 1, when I came home for lunch and he BG was 54. After giving him a low carb snack, I was excited he might have earned a dose reduction, but then his numbers jumped back up, so I went back to .5. Any thoughts would be greatly appreciated!