Millie's curve numbers hit 45 nadir

Status
Not open for further replies.

Wendy and Millie

Member Since 2020
Millie is currently on prozinc 2 units bid and I'm using Relion Prime bg testing. I noticed that Millie has been getting sleepy after her insulin injections and even though she tests PS in 240s I am currently doing a curve today. At +3 was 52 and at +4 was 45. Im thinking this maybe why she is sleeping so much throughout the day? But I know cats sleep alot and Millie is 11 years old so I'm just not confident in says g that her glucose level is making her sleepy.When I saw the 45 I gave her some higher carb dry food cuz it kinda freaked me out.
Is 45 too low for a nadir?
 
Millie is currently on prozinc 2 units bid and I'm using Relion Prime bg testing. I noticed that Millie has been getting sleepy after her insulin injections and even though she tests PS in 240s I am currently doing a curve today. At +3 was 52 and at +4 was 45. Im thinking this maybe why she is sleeping so much throughout the day? But I know cats sleep alot and Millie is 11 years old so I'm just not confident in says g that her glucose level is making her sleepy.When I saw the 45 I gave her some higher carb dry food cuz it kinda freaked me out.
Is 45 too low for a nadir?
What meter are you using? Anything under 50 in a human meter is a take action number meaning give high carb food and test again in 20-30 minutes to make sure bg is going up as she could be having a hypo @Deb & Wink
 
What meter are you using? Anything under 50 in a human meter is a take action number meaning give high carb food and test again in 20-30 minutes to make sure bg is going up as she could be having a hypo @Deb & Wink
OK, I did say that I am using a Reli On meter in my post. And I did give her some higher carb dry food after seeing g the 45. Thank you, I will test her again to see if it is going up.
 
And that earns her a .25 dose reduction moving forward so please adjust for the next pm shot. Good for her!!!

this is why we ask for all that info on signature and ss because many of us are tying to reply fast and can’t scroll to read the entire thread. It’s helpful for us if you keep those up to date so we don’t have to ask and you don’t have to answer again
 
OK, I did say that I am using a Reli On meter in my post. And I did give her some higher carb dry food after seeing g the 45. Thank you, I will test her again to see if it is going up.
And in the future, dry is not a good option because it takes too long to work. You want wet high carb like fancy feast gravy lovers or a little Karo/ honey in her gums
 
To create your signature: Go to the dark blue banner at the top pf the page all the way to the right your name appears there that is the "settings" click on your name then..
  • Click on Signature. This is where you will put information that helps us give you feedback.
    • There is a limit of two lines which may include two links; you may separate pieces with commas, dashes, | etc. This is where you paste the link for your spreadsheet, once it is set up.
    • Add any other text, such as
    • Caregiver & kitty's name (optional)
    • DX: Date
    • Name of Insulin
    • Name of your meter
    • Diet: "LC wet" or "dry food" or "combo"
    • Dosing: TR or SLGS or Custom (if applicable)
    • DKA or other recent health issue (if applicable)
    • Acro, IAA, or Cushings (if applicable)
    • Spreadsheet link. Please put the signature link on the bottom line of your signature information, on its own, so it is easy to find.
    • Please do not put any information about your location in the signature for security reasons. If you wish to add your country location, please add it to your profile.
Be sure to click the 'Save Changes' button at the bottom. If you need help urgently it is important we know these things at a glance. We don’t want to waste valuable time finding out information.
 
What meter are you using? Anything under 50 in a human meter is a take action number meaning give high carb food and test again in 20-30 minutes to make sure bg is going up as she could be having a hypo @Deb & Wink
understood. the above post is what Ale is talking about. We know things get hectic but it WILL serve you to do so I' PROMISE
 
OK, I did say that I am using a Reli On meter in my post. And I did give her some higher carb dry food after seeing g the 45. Thank you, I will test her again to see if it is going up.
And that earns her a .25 dose reduction moving forward so please adjust for the next pm shot. Good for her!!!

this is why we ask for all that info on signature and ss because many of us are tying to reply fast and can’t scroll to read the entire thread. It’s helpful for us if you keep those up to date so we don’t have to ask and you don’t have to answer again
OK, I understand what you mean about putting g that information in the signature and spreadsheet. Thank you for your patience as I learn
So reducing by .25 is the SLGS way, correct?
 
To create your signature: Go to the dark blue banner at the top pf the page all the way to the right your name appears there that is the "settings" click on your name then..
  • Click on Signature. This is where you will put information that helps us give you feedback.
    • There is a limit of two lines which may include two links; you may separate pieces with commas, dashes, | etc. This is where you paste the link for your spreadsheet, once it is set up.
    • Add any other text, such as
    • Caregiver & kitty's name (optional)
    • DX: Date
    • Name of Insulin
    • Name of your meter
    • Diet: "LC wet" or "dry food" or "combo"
    • Dosing: TR or SLGS or Custom (if applicable)
    • DKA or other recent health issue (if applicable)
    • Acro, IAA, or Cushings (if applicable)
    • Spreadsheet link. Please put the signature link on the bottom line of your signature information, on its own, so it is easy to find.
    • Please do not put any information about your location in the signature for security reasons. If you wish to add your country location, please add it to your profile.
Be sure to click the 'Save Changes' button at the bottom. If you need help urgently it is important we know these things at a glance. We don’t want to waste valuable time finding out information.
Thank you, I did read this but didn't fully understand it until I tried to do it and read it again in this post. Thank you!
 
A few questions about your ss, there isn’t anything under units for the last 2 pm shots. Did you give no insulin or didn’t record it? When you give no insulin, we ask that you out a zero there so we know you didn’t forget to enter it.

and is there a reason you went down to 1 unit at am shot time yesterday?

what you experience today is exactly why we tell people it’s important to home test!!! :bighug:

Are you able to test her at +4 every day? I would also try to get a few +2 tests at night to see where she’s headed over night
 
A few questions about your ss, there isn’t anything under units for the last 2 pm shots. Did you give no insulin or didn’t record it? When you give no insulin, we ask that you out a zero there so we know you didn’t forget to enter it.

and is there a reason you went down to 1 unit at am shot time yesterday?

what you experience today is exactly why we tell people it’s important to home test!!! :bighug:

Are you able to test her at +4 every day? I would also try to get a few +2 tests at night to see where she’s headed over night

Sorry but my spread sheet is not up to date as far as insulin given, I have been using it for only when I test her bg to record bg. I have a little book that I use to record her insulin given because I am not the only person giving Millie her shots. She has been getting 2 units everyday bid since September 1st
 
Sorry but my spread sheet is not up to date as far as insulin given, I have been using it for only when I test her bg to record bg. I have a little book that I use to record her insulin given because I am not the only person giving Millie her shots. She has been getting 2 units everyday bid since September 1st
Also I am able to test her at +4 and just about anytime as I am at home most days. On the days that I am not well my son helps out by making g sure that Millie gets her shot and is fed her low car# ff wet food.
 
Sorry but my spread sheet is not up to date as far as insulin given, I have been using it for only when I test her bg to record bg. I have a little book that I use to record her insulin given because I am not the only person giving Millie her shots. She has been getting 2 units everyday bid since September 1st
If you could transfer the info to the ss, it would be helpful for other members next time you need advice. A lot of members don’t feel comfortable giving dose advice without the ss data. Understandably so since it’s a cat’s health on the line if the wrong suggestions are made :cat:
 
Also I am able to test her at +4 and just about anytime as I am at home most days. On the days that I am not well my son helps out by making g sure that Millie gets her shot and is fed her low car# ff wet food.
That’s perfect. I’d suggest testing her at +4 for the next couple of days to keep an eye on her nadir and make sure she won’t need more reductions.

that +2 at night will also be helpful as cats tend to go lower overnight.
 
OK, I
If you could transfer the info to the ss, it would be helpful for other members next time you need advice. A lot of members don’t feel comfortable giving dose advice without the ss data. Understandably so since it’s a cat’s health on the line if the wrong suggestions are made :cat:
Ok, I Will transfer the information. That is certainly understandable if the spreadsheet is the only information igloos rather...sporadic
 
That’s perfect. I’d suggest testing her at +4 for the next couple of days to keep an eye on her nadir and make sure she won’t need more reductions.

that +2 at night will also be helpful as cats tend to go lower overnight.
Thank you, I will do this and I can test her evening +2 as well.

Her +6 was 116
I recently switched her kibble to Dr Elsy's as I'm having to s l o w l y switch her diet to wet as she is reluctant to give up the dry. She is doing better about eating more wet food and less dry, so this might be why her numbers look like this?
 
Thank you, I will do this and I can test her evening +2 as well.

Her +6 was 116
I recently switched her kibble to Dr Elsy's as I'm having to s l o w l y switch her diet to wet as she is reluctant to give up the dry. She is doing better about eating more wet food and less dry, so this might be why her numbers look like this?
Absolutely. Any change in food can bring the numbers down considerably. But it’s all around good for her so yay! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Is 45 too low for a nadir?
YES! Not only for a nadir, but for a pre-shot or anytime in the cycle.
You need to drop the dose, ASAP. By at least 0.25U.
So the new dose should be 1.75U.
With the food change to low carb Dr. Elsey's, the need for even that much insulin can change rapidly.
So you may be dropping the dose again soon.

Please, always test at pre-shot, to make sure that your kitty Millie has a BG level high enough to give insulin in the first place. For safeties sake.

It could have been tragic, if you had given Millie the 2U dose on a pre-shot of 45.
Hypos happen.

Cats can be more sensitive to insulin, when their BG levels drop really low like Millie's did.
So keep a closer eye on her BG numbers for a while, please.

Ok, I Will transfer the information. That is certainly understandable if the spreadsheet is the only information igloos rather...sporadic
I think auto correct did something really funky here. What do you mean by "igloos"?

p.s. Thanks for the tag @Aleluia Grugru & Minnie
 
YES! Not only for a nadir, but for a pre-shot or anytime in the cycle.
You need to drop the dose, ASAP. By at least 0.25U.
So the new dose should be 1.75U.
With the food change to low carb Dr. Elsey's, the need for even that much insulin can change rapidly.
So you may be dropping the dose again soon.

Please, always test at pre-shot, to make sure that your kitty Millie has a BG level high enough to give insulin in the first place. For safeties sake.

It could have been tragic, if you had given Millie the 2U dose on a pre-shot of 45.
Hypos happen.

Cats can be more sensitive to insulin, when their BG levels drop really low like Millie's did.
So keep a closer eye on her BG numbers for a while, please.


I think auto correct did something really funky here. What do you mean by "igloos"?

p.s. Thanks for the tag @Aleluia Grugru & Minnie
Lol, I cant remember what I meant to put in place of igloos Just that the limited information on the ss was not much to go by.
Millie has had a hypo event once when i moved her food to a new location and didn't realize that she couldn't find it. When she was dry food mostly. It was frightening and she had to go to the emergency vet. I understand what you are saying and I am working towards it.
 
I'm just unemployed :woot::joyful:
And a "night owl" too. ;)

Actually, the "filling in the SS" comment was meant to be about doing a few more tests in each cycle. Like that +2 you did last night.
Good to see you got a few more tests in today 9/24/20 in the AM cycle. They help to "fill the spaces between the bookends, (the pre-shot tests) with some books (the middle of the cycle tests.

So you don't have "empty bookshelves" anymore. Or such a sparse looking SS. Thank you. Keep it up.
 
And a "night owl" too. ;)

Actually, the "filling in the SS" comment was meant to be about doing a few more tests in each cycle. Like that +2 you did last night.
Good to see you got a few more tests in today 9/24/20 in the AM cycle. They help to "fill the spaces between the bookends, (the pre-shot tests) with some books (the middle of the cycle tests.

So you don't have "empty bookshelves" anymore. Or such a sparse looking SS. Thank you. Keep it up.

Ah, :D ok about the filling in the ss. Yes, I have become quite a night owl :p some days worse than others!
I am still confused about the numbers and what I should be looking for but I hope that will come with more testing and experience.
Fortunately, Millie is an easy going kitty :cat:
Her pmps was 308 tonight I continued with the 1.75 units- honestly I feel more lost than I did before :confused:
 
Ah, :D ok about the filling in the ss. Yes, I have become quite a night owl :p some days worse than others!
I am still confused about the numbers and what I should be looking for but I hope that will come with more testing and experience.
Fortunately, Millie is an easy going kitty :cat:
Her pmps was 308 tonight I continued with the 1.75 units- honestly I feel more lost than I did before :confused:
That’s likely because of the reduced morning dose of 1. In the future, anything above 200 is safe to shoot the regular dose. I know it’s scary because it’s so close to being under 200, but I’d have shot and tested her again at +2. Can you do that next time? She’s getting good numbers and you want to keep it that way! :cat:
 
That’s likely because of the reduced morning dose of 1. In the future, anything above 200 is safe to shoot the regular dose. I know it’s scary because it’s so close to being under 200, but I’d have shot and tested her again at +2. Can you do that next time? She’s getting good numbers and you want to keep it that way! :cat:
Yes and thank you so much!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top