Wendy and Millie
Member Since 2020
I'm not sure what to do here. Millie’s amps is 201 just now and do I give half dose based of yesterday's numbers in ss? I did feed her after checking her blood.
I fed her immediately after che king herblood out of habitCan you stall feeding to see if she's rising? She is technically high enough but she's lower than she's used to, at least that we've seen so far.
Ah, I'm scared to give her anything ...maybe I give her 1 unit and I'm home so I can monitor.?.Ahhh shoot. I'd probably reduce the shot to be safe. Maybe 0.5 - 1u? If you can monitor.
OK, giving 1 unit and will see how she doesDo what you're comfortable with.She IS high enough for insulin, we just don't have much data yet. She is clearing that bounce from yesterday's 45.
Ok, thank you so much!Test her in two hours, let us know how's she's doing.![]()
Next time, you want to do what Panic suggested so you can see if she’s going up on her own. This is GOOD news as you might be able to decrease the dose again soon!!I fed her immediately after che king herblood out of habit


Also she has had several snacks as i feed her anytime she is in the kitchen begging.Ooh that's a very nice number! Make sure she has a snack, that's almost a 100 point drop from an hour ago. Might cause a bounce, so be prepared. Check her in 30 to keep an eye on her, it'd be nice if she'll surf where she's at.
Yes, you can update the title if you like!![]()
Thank you, I'm going to print this out along with the hypoglycemia information since I have trouble finding this stuff again after reading it onceFructosamine levels are not the same as blood glucose levels, it works on an average. So a 100 and 300 will look like 200 on a fructosamine.
Non-diabetic numbers on a human meter are 50-120. Right now, you want to stay around 90. Drops under 90 earn a .25u reduction. Overall we want to see numbers staying under 150, but it's usually a long-time coming to get those consistently.
Q6.1. What is regulation?
A6.1. There are different definitions of regulation. As hometesting becomes more common, we've been getting a better understanding of what cats and their humans might be capable of. Janet & Fitzgerald propose the following "regulation continuum":
There may also be an extra category of "mostly above 300 (16.7) but with good clinical signs" which occurs with some cats who are getting insulin. We don't know why it happens, but such a cat probably should not be considered to be regulated. On the other end of the spectrum, it is possible for a cat who is not getting insulin to have blood glucose as low as 40 mg/dl (2.2 mmol/L) on a home glucometer. If you have a non-diabetic cat, try testing her with the same meter to get a safe comparison figure."
- Not treated [blood glucose typically above 300 mg/dl (16.7 mmol/L), poor clinical signs]
- Treated but not regulated [often above 300 (16.7) and rarely near 100 (5.6), poor clinical signs]
- Regulated [generally below 300 (16.7) with glucose nadir near 100 (5.6), good clinical signs, no hypoglycemia]
- Well regulated [generally below 200-250 (11.1-13.9) and often near 100 (5.6), no hypoglycemia]
- Tightly regulated [generally below 150 (8.3) and usually in the 60-120 (3.3-6.7) range, no hypoglycemia, still receiving insulin]
- Normalized [60-120 (3.3-6.7) except perhaps directly after meals -- usually not receiving insulin]
.
BTW, Millie was a little more active today, yay!