? Mikey 4/3/26 AMPS 301 + 5 82 PMPS 417

Mikey’sDad

Member Since 2021
Mikey has had diabetes for years now, and been great about shots . Lately, he has jumped when I give him his shot. I haven’t done a fur shot because of this, but it could happen .
He is fine , no ketones, happy, eating and drinking, peeing and pooping and being spoiled. Has this happened to anyone. Any suggestions.

Thanks
tom
 
Hi Tom, When Jude is receiving larger doses of insulin, as he is now (3.25 units), he will occasionally flinch, cry, and sometimes he's reached around to bite when I inject him. We have none of that behavior when I test. I've read on here that insulin can cause a burning feeling when it's injected, and I think that's what is causing his response. Do you think it's the insulin for Mikey, or is it specifically when you're inserting the syringe needle? Are you rotating the shot location? You've been at this for a while, so I'm sure you know to insert the syringe with the bevel up. I don't have suggestions other than to be careful to avoid a FS and shoot quickly (which is what I try to do).
 
Is there any chance you're using a different gauge needle on your syringes?

I'm also curious as to why you've been at a dose of 2.75u for so long. It really looks like Mikey needs more insulin. Have you ever given any thought to trying TR?
 
Hi Tom, When Jude is receiving larger doses of insulin, as he is now (3.25 units), he will occasionally flinch, cry, and sometimes he's reached around to bite when I inject him. We have none of that behavior when I test. I've read on here that insulin can cause a burning feeling when it's injected, and I think that's what is causing his response. Do you think it's the insulin for Mikey, or is it specifically when you're inserting the syringe needle? Are you rotating the shot location? You've been at this for a while, so I'm sure you know to insert the syringe with the bevel up. I don't have suggestions other than to be careful to avoid a FS and shoot quickly (which is what I try to do).
I think he has really is just being ornery. I have spoiled him and he just loves to boss me around and give attitude. In 6 years I have only given 2 fur shots. I think also that I rush sometimes and he senses that
 
Is there any chance you're using a different gauge needle on your syringes?

I'm also curious as to why you've been at a dose of 2.75u for so long. It really looks like Mikey needs more insulin. Have you ever given any thought to trying TR?
I have been using the same needles I always have used.
I have not increased his dose because of tge bouncing but I may increase tomorrow :)
Not sure what TR is?
 
There are two dosing methods we use with Lantus. One is TR -- Tight Regulation and the other is SLGS -- Start Low Go Slow. This is the link to the post on Lantus dosing methods. The post is at the top of the Lantus board and is a sticky note.

Holding the dose will not prevent bouncing. Ultimately, once Mikey gets more accustomed to spending time in better numbers, his body will become more accustomed to those lower/more normal ranges and the bouncing should flatten out.
 
Back
Top