Mikey 11/9 PMPS 124

Status
Not open for further replies.

Marycatmom

Member Since 2014
Hi Everyone,

We're holding the line after a bumpy ride yesterday. No idea if I'm seeing bounce, depot, or normality! Mikey is happily hanging out in the sink. He doesn't much care what I'm seeing.
 
Re: Mikey 11/9 AMPS 386 +3 267 +4 212 +6 181

Hope RB has a smoother ride today. :smile:
 
Re: Mikey 11/9 AMPS 386 +3 267 +4 212 +6 181

Thanks, Matt. I've been following JuJu, and I kind of feel like you and Ava and Don and I are in this together. We're the newbies with wild kitties club! :lol:
 
Re: Mikey 11/9 AMPS 386 +3 267 +4 212 +6 181 +8 120

I'm on my way out, but Don can test Mikey, if you think it's necessary. He seems to be dropping, so I'm a touch nervous, even though he's not at all in a dangerous range. When should I tell him to test? It's scaring me that no one will be here tomorrow!
 
Re: Mikey 11/9 AMPS 386 +3 267 +4 212 +6 181 +8 120

Mikey is getting over his bounce and settling nicely into this dose. :-D I'd get a +10 or +11. That'll give you a heads up if he's got any hijinx planned for tonight's PMPS and give you time to post and get help if it's needed.

Remember that the goal is to get him flat and green instead of acting like a rubber ball.
 
Re: Mikey 11/9 AMPS 386 +6 181 +8 120 +9 99

I'm showing Mikey your post, Wendy. He must be paying attention, because from +9 to +10.5 he stayed at 99. I'm going to need advice about shooting tonight. Thank you!
 
Re: Mikey 11/9 AMPS 386 +6 181 +8 120 +9 99

Good to see him stop dropping. For new people, it's always easier to shoot a number if they are on their way up or flat. When Neko was on Lantus, she had a late nadir so I very often had to shoot a dropping number, but it's something you learn to do over time. It allows you to take advantage of the overlap and get nice flat cycles.

So, are you home tonight and able to monitor? Do you have plenty of strips and high carb food? How is Mikey's appetite? He might be deciding to give you your lowest number yet to shoot. Often when you shoot a low number, the cycles are fairly flat, but it can be unnerving the first few times. Think bowling ball Mikey!
 
Re: Mikey 11/9 AMPS 386 +6 181 +8 120 +9 99

I have tons of strips and lancets and 2.5 small cans of HC food. Mikey will almost certainly eat anything we need him to, as long as it has gravy or is turkey flavored. Testing is an issue. I can definitely test to +3, but I have to work tomorrow, and staying up much past that is a problem. I usually shoot at 6:00. He gets a full can of FF classic at that time. What are you thinking? I will go test him again now, so we have more data. Back shortly.
 
Re: Mikey 11/9 AMPS 386 +6 181 +8 120 +9 99

Flat and just a little rise. Perfect. Has Don learned to test yet? ;-)

It's really hard to say what will happen tonight. Mikey is on a very small dose of insulin, but kitties can still go low on .1U. Do you have a timed feeder that he uses? If so, you can use the +3 test to determine if you need to load the feeder, and whether you want to put low or high carb food in it. The other thing that most of us do is use our cell phone alarms and wake up later if needed. It only takes me 5 minutes to get up, test, write down the number, decide if I need another test and reset the alarm if needed, then head back to bed.

Shooting low will be a new thing for you and Mikey, and it's hard to say what his cycle will look like when you do so. I'd definitely get a +1 and a +2 test.
 
Re: Mikey 11/9 AMPS 386 +6 181 +8 120 +9 99

He's 124 at PMPS. I do not have a timed feeder as DK would eat it all, and Mikey would get nothing. Brat. He's eating now.
 
Are you comfortable shooting that? I'll make sure I pop in and check your +1 and +2 numbers if you do. It would be great to see what he looks like on a cycle where he starts lower, before you go back to work.
 
No, but I shot it anyhow. If only did the things I'm comfortable with, I wouldn't do anything ever! :lol: Also, the 85% chance of remission, if we get things under control, that is mentioned in the "Shooting Low Numbers" article, is very enticing. I'll be back with a +1. Thank you so much for your help!
 
I'm sure Marje would have said "SHOOOOOT". :lol: In recognition of shooting low for the first time, here is your BOS award. See ya in an hour.
balls_of_steel.gif
 
Re: Mikey 11/9 PMPS 124 +1 177

Thank you for the award! Marje would definitely have said to shoot. Talk about balls of steel! :lol: This is the first time ever that Mikey has gone down after I shoot. I assume this is the food spike he should've been having all along. I will post a +2, but I will keep checking back before that to see if you have any further instructions. Mikey, meanwhile, is dozing in the bathroom sink.
 
Re: Mikey 11/9 PMPS 124 +1 177 +2 116

A little food if he would normally at this point, otherwise a +3. Looking good. :-D
 
Re: Mikey 11/9 PMPS 124 +1 177 +2 116

He doesn't usually eat at this point, but he will if I offer him some. Should I give him a bit?
 
Re: Mikey 11/9 PMPS 124 +1 177 +2 116

My gut said to test him at 2.5. He's 98, so I'm giving a bit of LC.
 
Re: Mikey 11/9 PMPS 124 +1 177 +2 116 +2.5 98

+3 is 53. HC or LC. That's pretty close to the limit. Darn it!
 
Re: Mikey 11/9 PMPS 124 +1 177 +2 116 +2.5 98

You got a ways to go in this cycle. I'd try a little bit of HC and test again in 20-30. Darn it is right!
 
Re: Mikey 11/9 PMPS 124 +1 177 +2 116 +2.5 98 +3 53

i'd give 2 tsps of low carb if you haven't done anything else yet. let's see if we can get him to surf!
 
Re: Mikey 11/9 PMPS 124 +1 177 +2 116 +2.5 98 +3 53

hahahaha wendy and i post at the same time again! we're psychic like that.

you could do either - we just want him to hang in there at this point and not go much lower if possible.
 
Re: Mikey 11/9 PMPS 124 +1 177 +2 116 +2.5 98 +3 53

How much LC did you give him at +2.5? It didn't seem to do much for him.
 
Re: Mikey 11/9 PMPS 124 +1 177 +2 116 +2.5 98 +3 53

Gave him a little of each to make everyone happy. lol If he bounces tomorrow, he his getting several rubber balls in his stocking. He needs to bounce those instead!
 
Re: Mikey 11/9 PMPS 124 +1 177 +2 116 +2.5 98 +3 53

I'll bow out and let Wendy help you - you're doing great, mary!

kudos on shooting the 124 - i'd have been yelling shoooooooottttt too!
 
Re: Mikey 11/9 PMPS 124 +1 177 +2 116 +2.5 98 +3 53

Sorry, Wendy, I missed that question. I have him .25 can of FF classic.
 
Re: Mikey 11/9 PMPS 124 +3.5 41

Time for the big guns - HC! Brat! Time to come up and surf please Mikey!
 
Re: Mikey 11/9 PMPS 124 +3.5 41

I add karo when I see the 30's, but that's what works for me. Let's see where he is at the next test. Try a couple tsp of just the gravy HC if you can.
 
Re: Mikey 11/9 PMPS 124 +3.5 41

Did give him a drop of karo with the HC, because I was panicking. When do I test again?
 
Re: Mikey 11/9 PMPS 124 +3.5 41

20-30 minutes after he finished the food. Paws crossed. Mikey seems to slow down around now.
 
Re: Mikey 11/9 PMPS 124 +3.5 41

So while we're waiting, tell me about tomorrow's dose. I have to leave for work at about 6:45. Obviously, he's earned a reduction, but to what? And he'll probably bounce tomorrow, because that is the way of our RB! Brat!
 
Re: Mikey 11/9 PMPS 124 +3.5 41

I've asked a few others for their input on tomorrow's dose. I'll make sure you have an answer by tomorrow morning - so if you don't get an answer by the time you go to bed, check this condo in the morning.
 
Re: Mikey 11/9 PMPS 124 +3.5 41 +4 45

Lather, rinse, repeat until he's in the 50's. A couple tsp's more gravy and test in 20-30. Good job Mary - make sure you break out the chocolate tonight. :-D
 
Re: Mikey 11/9 PMPS 124 +3.5 41 +4 45

Giving more HC now. Funny, but he hates the actual meat in it. He mostly licks up the gravy. Very convenient! So once he hits 50, am I ok to go to bed? As for the chocolate, I plead the 5th about the amount of chocolate I've eaten tonight!
 
Re: Mikey 11/9 PMPS 124 +3.5 41 +4 45

Unfortunately you can't go to bed when he hits 50. The carbs in the gravy can wear off and he could go back down again. We like to see two rising tests, without influence of food, before saying he's OK. Unless of course he bounced to the moon. Let's see where he is after this next test. Another alternative is to carb him up really high - he's got nothing left to prove tonight.
 
Re: Mikey 11/9 PMPS 124 +3.5 41 +4 45

If he's not up after the next test, you may have to rub a little karo on his gums.
 
Re: Mikey 11/9 PMPS 124 +3.5 41 +4 45 +4.5 35

Not sure if this is a misread of the meter. Trying to get karo on the gums. He's fighting me. How much does he need?
 
Re: Mikey 11/9 PMPS 124 +3.5 41 +4 45 +4.5 35

Just try to rub a couple drops on there. Any chance he'd lick it from your finger?
 
Re: Mikey 11/9 PMPS 124 +3.5 41 +4 45 +4.5 35

No, but I wrapped him up and rubbed his gums with it using a Q-tip. Take no prisoners. Retested incase it was a misfire, but it was 37.
 
Re: Mikey 11/9 PMPS 124 +3.5 41 +4 45 +4.5 35

As for dose tomorrow, I'm leaning to 0.0U in the morning and seeing how he does by the end of the day. Regardless of whether he needs to resume insulin, it's time to get rid of the depot.

How's Mikey acting? Other than full and feisty.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top