Mikey 11/7 PMPS 467, +2 444

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: Mikey 11/7 PMPS 467

Looks like Mikey is bouncing from those pretty greens last night. Hopefully, he'll clear it soon. Someday, one day, he'll stop bouncing. Hang in there!
 
It can take up to 72 hours for a bounce to clear - it just depends on Mr Liver and Mr Pancreas' mood at the time. If you gave a furshot (missed) you should be able to smell the insulin or possibly even feel a little wet spot. With such a small dose it might not be so wet. The smell is like bandaids. Treating feline diabetes is a marathon, not a sprint. It's hard sometimes, and it will test your patience. Give Mikey some extra scritches tonight and enjoy his company.
 
Bouncing is a normal response by his body to blood sugar levels lower than he's used to. He'll get re-accustomed to them again and it will get better.

Take a look at the second post in this thread for an explanation about bouncing. While he's high, you get a bit of a break. I would pass on testing now until tomorrow morning's amps. take a break, get a good night's sleep. He'll be back in green before you know it, mary.

These bounce cycles are one reason why we encourage hometesting - what if today happened to be the day that a curve was done at the vet's? Instead of having seen those green numbers last night that CAUSED today's high numbers, a vet would have you increase the dose. You want to hold this dose and let the bounce clear, then we'll see how he's doing.

You're not doing anything wrong. He'll come back down again. :YMHUG:
 
Hi Mary,

It is normal to have bounces early in the FD "dance" (and some cats like to bounce regardless of how long they have been at it). Patience is the order of the day. Just keep following the protocol and you'll be fine. Eventually Mikey's liver will figure it all out. At least you know that his liver is working! Have a good weekend and try to relax.

TGIF!

Ella & Rusty
 
Thanks, Julie and Ella. I feel like all I ever do is stab poor Mikey. A night off will be good for us. It's been a rough week on all fronts. I have a cup of Bed Time tea. I'll crash for the night, then brush myself off and start over tomorrow. My poor Mikey boy.
 
OK, so maybe he went into such pretty numbers yesterday, because he was finally off all dry food (aka swill) and on all wet. Those low numbers caused the bounce. So in effect, the bounce was most likely caused from the food change rather than the dose? I'm not even sure I make sense here! Send chocolate.
 
chocolate_cat-lg.jpg


there ya go!

Don't stretch your brain too hard to figure it out. Cats go up and down. The removal of the dry food definitely is playing a role in his green numbers yesterday. The green numbers caused the bounce. Beyond that, we'll just wait and see what he does.

Enjoy your tea and chocolate. Pet your sweetie and have a good evening off. See you tomorrow! :-D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top