Mikey 11/4 PMPS 391, +2 198

Status
Not open for further replies.

Marycatmom

Member Since 2014
Good evening! I hope everyone is doing well tonight, especially the kitties.

Julie, your going to get a kick out of this. Mikey is starting to refuse to eat dry food. He ate maybe a tablespoon of it tonight after his 3/4 can FF, then gave me "THE LOOK". Mikey is the sweetest, most easy going cat on the planet, but he gives "THE LOOK", he means business. I gave him the other 1/4 of a can of FF, and I'm planning to test him at +2. I suspect that by tomorrow morning he is going to flat out refuse to eat the dry. That's a good thing, but I'm going to be gone all day tomorrow, and I have something I have to do afterschool. Is there anything I should be sure to do to make sure he's safe, if he refuses the dry tomorrow. I was planning to finish the change to wet over the weekend, but I may not have control over this one. Li'l Stink'ear! I don't know if I should be thrilled or terrified.

Of course, he's totally chillin' about his all. He's out cold in the bathroom sink. Don just went in there to use the facilities, and he's going to have a big surprise when he goes to wash his hands! lol
 
Re: Mikey 11/4 PMPS 391,

He had trace ketones at diagnosis. He hasn't been testing since. I'm not really sure how to handle that, because he's a very private litterbox user and won't go with anyone in the room. If I dare to enter while he's going, I get "THE LOOK".
 
Could you put something like aquarium gravel in the litter box? It doesn't absorb and you can rinse and re-use for the next "capture".

Looks like Mikey's practicing for the diving team tonight. I'd give him a little of his regular food now and see if you can slow him down. Not too much though in case you need him to eat later.

Can you get a +2 tomorrow morning before you leave? It's a great indicator of whether you need to leave low, medium or high carb food out for him to snack on it he needs it.
 
Perhaps what worked for Shadow will work for Mikey.

I covered the entire box with a trash bag ( usually a schwan's large clear bag) so they can feel the litter under their feet still,
and their smells are all there, but mine still peed on the bag and I was able to get a clean sample.
It's worth a try. Mine is a private kitty too.... no one can look at her.
 
you can also order a Novamax blood ketone meter that measures with the same blood drop that you take for a BG test. Not sure if it's worth it to you to get one, but a while back they were giving free ones out. You might google and see if there are any deals on them. Mostly we suggest those for cats that are ketone-prone, so you might not need one. But it's an option for you.

eta - and very funny about the dry food! he know what the good stuff is.

If he's lower in the morning (say less than 200) and not eating the dry food, you might just skip the morning shot. I was asking about the ketones because if a cat is prone that way, skipping is a very bad idea. I'm uncertain about this for him because he had them at diagnosis, which wasn't that long ago. At the same time, you're balancing the situation. If he's not eating crunchies he'll need less insulin, and you've got him on a very small dose already. You don't want to leave him unmonitored with that combination of factors (no crunchies and no easy way to reduce his dose.)

If there's any way to get that +2, I like Wendy's idea.

Keep in mind you can give him canned high carb food too. It's not idea to just leave it out, but . . . again, you're weighing out the factors and figuring out how to navigate the day.
 
Mary, I just noticed your +2 tonight. You've got a drop of 200 points between pmps and +2 - that's a giant red flag that his blood sugar is moving very fast. Unfortunately, that's fast enough that the speed alone will likely set up another bounce.

I did want to mention bouncing to you again. Looking back to the green numbers on 11/2, his body wasn't used to green numbers and it bounced from them. Bounces can last up to 3 days - which would mean that he would be clearing the bounce by tomorrow midday at the latest, if he read the manual. It's possible that the big drop tonight is telling us that he's clearing the bounce tonight. Clearing bounces can have a lot of downward momentum to them.

I'd feed him some regular low carb to try to slow down his drop and retest him at +3 tonight.

You want to observe how many points per hour he drops - cats don't drop at a consistent rate, but it can still give you information that can be helpful. Anything over about 50 points per hour has potential to cause another bounce. If you don't remember what bounces are, it's in the second post here.
 
Mikey seems to like to drop fast, early, and then level out.

I'm a little torn right now on whether you should skip even if he's high. He can certainly drop as evidenced by 11/2 but he stopped himself cold with no food. But would he do it again?

Even though he only ate one tbsp this evening, if he eats none tomorrow, and takes a big drop, we just don't know if he will level off by +3/+4. I'd tend to skip, too, if he won't eat any dry food tomorrow morning.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top