Mikey 11/21 PMPS 421

Status
Not open for further replies.

Marycatmom

Member Since 2014
As you can imagine, I'm not happy with Mikey's numbers. I'm considering shooting 2 drops tonight, even though it means two shots. What would you advise?

Right now, I'm so frustrated, that I'm in tears. I simply don't know what to do.
 
Re: Mikey 11/21 AMPS 332 +10 389 Dosing Question

(((Mary))) FD is a very frustrating disease. And Mikey's not making it any easier.

In your previous condo you said that Mikey would be 1/2 into his conversion to the higher LC foods. Another option you could try, since it's now the weekend, is a .1U dose again. With higher carb food on board, he might not tank as much. Course, you may decide to wait until tomorrow for that. The second reason for waiting is that you've only had 4 shots on one drop, and that was after a skip. It can take 6 cycles for the bounce to clear, the 6th cycle would be tonight. And it takes a while for the depot to fill after a skip. I usually wait 6 cycles for that too.
 
Re: Mikey 11/21 AMPS 332 +10 389 Dosing Question

Thanks, Wendy. I shot 1 drop tonight and will increase to .1 tomorrow. I feel like I'm doing a lousy job taking care of Mikey and keeping him safe. This has been a rough week, and I'm exhausted, so it's good that I'll be able to sleep tonight. Still, I hate having him so high. I've got to do better for him.
 
((((mary))))

you have a difficult cat! it's nothing you're doing wrong - he's so very sensitive to the smallest amounts of insulin. You're doing everything possible - just hang in there and persist. I think you're on the right track now, and we're in it with you. :YMHUG:

Sleep well tonight!
 
Thanks, Julie. It helps so much to know I'm not in this alone. I was talking to my brother tonight. He's a pediatric ER doctor. He wanted to know what symptoms Mikey shows when he makes these dives. It was shocking to him that Mikey could act totally normal while his BG was taking such a dive.
 
diabetic people report that it feels gross to have your BGs plummet. I can only imagine how our kitties feel with it.

And of course, once you've seen low numbers appear with no symptoms, you can't imagine not home-testing a cat. I just wonder at people who don't - they must not realize the risk of not testing.

Good thing Mikey's got you on his team. :-D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top