Mikey 11/2 PMPS 526

Status
Not open for further replies.

Marycatmom

Member Since 2014
Hello All,
I have some cool news. Mikey spent today at the vet for another curve. He's been changing so quickly that the vet really wanted to do a recheck, and since he doesn't charge too very much for a curve, I consented. I really want to work together with my vet on Mikey's care, and I so want to share with him the many things I've already learned here. I dropped off Mikey's glucometer with him, and asked the vet to compare the readings, since the vet wasn't convinced about the use of human glucometers for cats. I also dropped off a copy of Mikey's spreadsheet and a copy of an article about the use of long acting insulin in cats that Marje pointed me too. I know it's on this site somewhere... Maybe Marje would be so kind as to post a link if she see this, since I don't have clue exactly where it is. When I picked Mikey up, I had a very encouraging conversation with my vet. I really think he's been converted! Sadly, he usually has to fight with clients to even get them to give their cats shots, so home testing wasn't on his radar. He also told me he had no idea how I was managing to measure out .25 units of insulin, but that it was definitely working. The article included information on Levemir, which he'd never heard of using in cats. (Mikey is doing great on Lantis, so we're not making any changes there.) The conversation wrapped up with him saying, "You know what your doing. Do it." I'm so pleased that this vet now has information that will help other cats. The fact that he would listen to me confirms that his guy rocks as a vet!

Julie, I don't know how to link to yesterday's condo, but I wanted to reply, so I'll do that here. You are not overdoing it on the "anti-dry food" talk. I hear you, and I totally agree. Mikey would be completely switched over now, if it was summer, and I was home. (I'm a teacher too.) I anticipate him being on 100% wet by the end of the weekend. So please remove the tape and keep talking! Your advice is very helpful.

I hope everyone is having a great night. Mikey sends purrs.
 
Hi Mary, wishing you a belated welcome to this forum! Here is a link to your last condo: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=127813

I just copy and pasted the URL and dropped it into this post. Some of the experts know how to put a label on the link, I am not that advanced :oops:

Sounds like you have a very supportive vet, who is knowledable about FD, that is something of a rarity, way to go! our Mikey is sure a little cutie, he looks a little like Marje's Tobey, but I see he is related to Miss Gracie! :-D
 
ah, that's all great!

He is a little guy, isn't he? I see on the ss that he's just 7 lbs. What a sweet handful!

Here ya go, Mary - we just put up this post to help people with the question Where Can I find ___?

The link you want is under the Tight Regulation Protocol yellow starred sticky - look in the link above.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top