Mikey 11/11 Dosing question. PMPS 292 +1 355 +2 267 +3 156

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: Mikey 11/11 AMPS, 194 +1 375 +2 195

Hi Mary! Sorry you haven't got an answer. What did you end up doing? Sometimes we need to "stall" when we get a number we are not used to or are not comfortable shooting, and need advice. When stalling, you can put "stalling, advice please" in your post heading, and hopefully that will get a response. Also if stalling you shouldn't feed, as that will spike the numbers. Stall for 30 min. without feeding and retest and post the number. Remember too that if you stall and then decide to shoot, the next shot should be 12 hours from that time, so be sure that will work with your schedule until you can adjust back to original shot time. And, if you shoot a lower number, make sure you will be home to monitor, and have plenty of testing strips. Paws crossed for your fur baby..hes a doll! :-D
 
Re: Mikey 11/11 AMPS, 194 +1 375 +2 195

Thank you for the information about stalling, Laura. I'm home today, and 194 isn't a spectacular number, so I decided to shoot. Given his antics, I probably wouldn't have, if I'd had to work. So far he's doing well, but I totally DO NOT trust my Rubber Ball, so I'll be getting a +4 to add to the other testing.
 
Re: Mikey 11/11 AMPS, 194 +1 375 +2 195 +3 142

Good idea on the +4!..that +1 I am thinking was a food spike, but that is a big drop at +2. Did you feed after the +2? because if you did then it slowed down the drop at +3, and he might drop again considerably. If you didnt, then thats a good sign that he will not drop too low for the next test at +4. Make sense? Either way, +4 will tell more.
 
Re: Mikey 11/11 AMPS, 194 +1 375 +2 195 +3 142 +4 126

I did feed him about .25 can FF LC, but now I can't remember if it was at +2 or +3. Pretty sure it was at +3, though. He didn't finish all his food this morning, so between the fast drop and his needing calories (He's underweight.) I decided that would probably be the best move. He's 126 now at +4. When do you recommend testing next? Also, as the day goes on, I'd appreciate thoughts about dosing for tomorrow when I will be back to work all day.

A minor housekeeping question: When and what numbers should be removed from my subject line as it fills up?
 
Re: Mikey 11/11 AMPS, 194 +1 375 +2 195 +3 142 +4 126

I'm a little obsessive with the testing when I'm not sure what my rubber ball will do so I would get a +5. Nice day so far. Max often gets a big food spike but I also think for him he is on the rise by +1 and the lantus hasn't kicked in yet making the spike appear larger.
 
Re: Mikey 11/11 AMPS, 194 +1 375 +2 195 +3 142 +4 126

I'm a little obsessive with the testing when I'm not sure what my rubber ball will do so I would get a +5. Nice day so far. Max often gets a big food spike but I also think for him he is on the rise by +1 and the lantus hasn't kicked in yet making the spike appear larger.
 
Re: Mikey 11/11 AMPS, 194 +1 375 +2 195 +3 142 +4 126 +5 89

He's 89 at +5. I'm thinking I should give a bit of LC?
 
Re: Mikey 11/11 AMPS, 194 +1 375 +2 195 +3 142 +4 126 +5 89

sure - this is basically a nice cycle.

what i always did is look at the BG changes from test to test to see if i could predict what might come next. Cats don't drop at a constant rate in a cycle, but you can get some clues to what might happen next from looking at what you've got going. I have to wonder if the +1/375 was a good test - that's kinda high to be attributable to a food spike. The +2 is about the same as the preshot, so that tells you it's likely to be a normal active lantus cycle. That's described on the new to the group sticky as going down from +2 to midcycle, then rising til the next preshot.

Then I"d look at what you got at +3 - a drop of around 50 points in that hour.
from +3 to +4, a drop of less than 20 points
from +4 to +5, a drop of about 35 points

So he's not diving - a little bit of low carb will hopefully help him flatten out the cycle and surf in greens for a while. It's a good practice to give 2 teaspoons of low carb when you get into green numbers like this to help him stay there.

I'd get another test at +6.
 
Re: Mikey 11/11 AMPS, 194 +1 375 +2 195 +3 142 +4 126 +5 89

oh, and you asked about dose for tonight.

I'd stick with this 0.1u dose for now unless he goes below 50. If you're going to be home, he's eating, doesn't seem ill at all, you have plenty of strips and HC, I'd shoot most everything over 50. He's doing so well that I would try not to interrupt his momentum if possible. The longer he spends in green numbers the more of a chance his pancreas will heal.

However, if he's at 55 tomorrow morning and you're headed out to work, I would not shoot low for the first time when you can't monitor him afterwards. In that case, I'd skip.
 
Re: Mikey 11/11 AMPS, 194 +1 375 +2 195 +3 142 +4 126 +5 89

He's 112 now, so the LC seems to have kept him from going to low. When do I test again? I suspect you're right about that 375 being a misfire. It doesn't fit in with the rest. I'm going to reread what you wrote about shooting tonight ant tomorrow, Julie. I'm not so sure about shooting that low after the other night.
 
Re: Mikey 11/11 AMPS, 194 +4 126 +5 89 +6 112

Given the way Mikey's been going down the dosing scale in such a hurry - especially since the dry food disappeared - I'd be a little more cautious with him. As long as you're home, though, I'd probably go for it. It's up to you, of course, and you're not going to know what's going to happen until you do it. *Most* cats will flatten out the curve into more of a line when you shoot low.

Sometimes a cat will just go down afterwards - that's why you can't do it and not monitor.

If you shoot a number lower than you've shot before, always get a +1 and +2 to see where he's headed.

As far as when to test next, keep in mind that you don't have to do anything unless he goes below 50. If he were mine, I'd be thinking he's passed his nadir, the low carb is helping him to just surf, and I probably wouldn't test again until pmps. He'd have to drop 70 points before you have to intervene, and there's nothing to suggest that's going to happen now.

Testing at +11 might help you at pmps, though, so you know if he's dropping at that point, rising, or holding flat when you see the pmps.
 
Re: Mikey 11/11 AMPS, 194 +4 126 +5 89 +6 112

You are probably good until pmps unless you want to gather more info for the future.
 
Re: Mikey 11/11 AMPS, 194 +4 126 +5 89 +6 112 +9 173

I'm going out in about a half an hour, and it'll be past +11 when I get home, so I grabbed a +9, which is 173. If I get home much before PMPS time, I'll get a reading between +11 and +12, but at this point, it looks like a good idea to shoot tonight, even though I can't stay up all night. Any input is always appreciated! Thank you so much for helping me with my boy. I love him so much.
 
Re: Mikey 11/11 AMPS, 194 +4 126 +5 89 +6 112 +9 173

One of the advisors will be on then to help you. How late can you stay up tonight? That is something to consider and think about between now and then. Great cycle today!
 
Re: Mikey 11/11 AMPS, 194 +4 126 +5 89 +6 112 +9 173 +11 225

I got home earlier than expected and was able to get a +11. It's 225. It seems like it would be in Mikey's best interest for me to shoot. I'll be up until +3 for sure. Have I your blessing? For that matter, have I plenty of chocolate???? :lol:
 
Re: Mikey 11/11 PMPS 292

did you go ahead and shoot? I'm sorry no one saw your question. I think you did and i think that was a good call, mary.
 
Re: Mikey 11/11 PMPS 292 +1 355

I will be instituting feline reading lessons tomorrow. Mikey needs to learn to read, so he can read the right books.
 
Re: Mikey 11/11 PMPS 292 +1 355 +2 267

What would you say the cut off for shooting tomorrow morning is? We will be gone all day. I hate leaving my boy.
 
Re: Mikey 11/11 Dosing question. PMPS 292 +1 355 +2 267 +3 1

Gave a bit of LC to try to even things out. Please speak up, if I should've done something different. I'm trying to learn, and I appreciate all input. There are no words to express how much I appreciate everyone here.
 
Re: Mikey 11/11 Dosing question. PMPS 292 +1 355 +2 267 +3 1

The +1 today after AMPS just doesn't fit. I know he can food spike and then come back down (like tonight) but that number is way out of the ball park. Did you retest it?

So tonight...he's headed back down. I had hoped when he started coming down this morning that he was just going to flatten out and not bounce. So it does make me wonder if the insulin is making him bounce.

I know it's late and you have to work but I'd like to see where he ends up before he heads back up tonight. If he goes below 50 again, I'd be tempted to stop the insulin, let him clear any bounce, and see where he is.

If he doesn't go below 50, it's going to be a gut call for tomorrow, Mary. You know how high he can start and end up lower mid=cycle. It wouldn't be the end of the world to skip again unless you or Don can get home to test him which I know is near impossible.

eta: I don't think you should have done anything differently. ;-) :-D
 
Re: Mikey 11/11 Dosing question. PMPS 292 +1 355 +2 267 +3 1

it's pretty impossible to have a cut-off number in advance, mary. the numbers are always more important in context. If a cat's been 100 for the past 6 hours and is 100 at preshot, it's probably fine to shoot. If the cat is at 300 at +10 and 100 at ps, that's a huge dive and maybe not the time to shoot if you've got to leave. If the cat is at 40 at +6, 80 at +9, 100 at ps, that would look like a bounce might be starting, so it *might* be ok.

See what I mean? Context is everything - that's why we rely so heavily on the spreadsheets.

I know it's been rough because it doesn't seem like many people are on who are willing to help with dosing when you're trying to make the amps decisions. I think I'd just second what marje said - if you're in doubt, go ahead and skip. Mikey is doing so well that skipping in these circumstances isn't going to hurt anything.

Hope that helps a bit.

And yes, I agree, you're doing just fine. :-D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top