? Midday reading higher than AMPS reading?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Panic

Member Since 2019
Let me start by saying I do not have very many readings yet on my cat! We only started home testing last week and right now I'm just aiming for AMPS and PMPS tests until kitty and I get the hang of things. There are gaps where I tried and failed to get a reading.

Since I've had a good past four or so sessions where we got blood, I decided I would try midday and see what her reading was. You can check her SS in my signature (all info is in my signature as well!), as you can see her AMPS shot this morning was 307, which is actually pretty low for her for a pre-shot test, so I was pleased. I checked just now, +5 after and she's up to 410. Do you suspect this is a rebound number? I know there's really not enough readings to make a good educated guess but I figured it was either that or I messed up her shot this morning...I checked her fur and it didn't feel wet, however lately I feel like I'm not poking through the skin enough because I keep stabbing her muscles, thus I may be over-compensating (already ordered proper smaller needles) so it could be that.

I have a little log book I'm updating that I want to bring to my vet next Thursday when we do a fructosamine test, so I will be showing her the numbers as well. I have a feeling Vetsulin isn't lasting long enough for her so if the readings back up my suspicions I will bring up Prozinc again (we were originally going to switch her after her first Vetsulin curve but after the second one we finally got some low numbers, after being so high for weeks the vet wanted to stick to Vetsulin for now, which I agreed with considering she's finally getting strength in her back legs again). But now I'm also suspicious that her dose is too high and causing rebounds...but she was on 3u for a week or two but we only saw improvement (referring to physical and behavioral) when we went to 4u.

I can provide more info if required, just ask!

EDIT: Will also mention that she gets 1 can FF for breakfast, then throughout the day she gets snacks consisting of another can's worth, today at +2 and +5 so far. I cannot free-feed yet because she will eat it all, however we are not concerned about her eating too much because she is severely underweight.
 
Last edited:
Great you are getting some tests in!

Hard to say if a bounce or not. I have seen that happen, but I am using Lantus which is a different acting insulin.

You may want to copy this thread link to a post on Vetsulin forum as they would know more on the specifics of how that insulin works.

You mentioned poking in muscle? That is not good for insulin. There are tips for shooting just under the skin if you need help with that.

I know for me the shooting is actually more difficult these days that getting a blood sample.
 
you want to see what is most likely a Vetsulin bounce? look at Catcat's spreadsheet, particularly yesterday

AM = 270; +2 = 171 (100 drop); +4 = 116 (55 drop); then he bounces ... +5 = 194 (68 gain)

I don't usually test for the second half of the day cycle because I don't feed him then, I can't get a reasonable test if I don't feed something
(he fights, BG goes sky high, if I try to prick without his nose in the food bowl)

likely he stayed increasingly higher all afternoon to the PM = 284

looks like his nadir hits somewhere between +4 and +5, seems to be typical vetsulin curve, but others bottom out earlier or later

we're trying a reduction to .75u from 1u -- 2u (see the vetcurve SS) was clearly too much

we're hoping things smooth out -- though the vetsulin doesn't work for 12 hours for him

if things don't, though, I have authorization to go to Lantus
 
You mentioned poking in muscle? That is not good for insulin.

Possibly. I have definitely poked her too far a couple times trying to get that 29g to go through her skin, so now I'm trying to just barely break the skin to keep from hitting muscle...it was much easier with my U100s so once they arrive in the mail hopefully that will clear that issue up. Thanks for the Vetsulin forum suggestion, I will cross-post there!

you want to see what is most likely a Vetsulin bounce? look at Catcat's spreadsheet, particularly yesterday

Someone mentioned her first Vetsulin curve may have had a rebound number (jumped up to 700 really randomly in the middle of some 500s if I remember right) so now I'm paranoid. How much longer are you and Catcat going to wait before making the decision to stay or switch to Lantus?
 
I'm waiting to get the Lantus, then waiting to accumulate enough $ for the next vet visit, to clean his teeth since that will affect his BG readings

and coordinate with her on the initial dosage and trial with Lantus

couple of people have offered to sell me some, just trying to get things set up, mostly an issue of finding a way to get it to me; the person in Seattle had already earmarked it for someone else, the others haven't send me any followup PMs verifying that they've shipped it, they've set up a way for me to pay for it, or that they will be in the area anytime soon

am getting near the 42 days since we first used the Vetsulin (alleged discard date), vial is possibly 1/3 used, maybe less -- doing the best we can to get some stability to his BG now, especially since everything will go out the window for the first few cycles if./when I get the Lantus
 
4 units is a lot of insulin for a fairly new diabetic cat. If at all possible you should be getting a test in around +4 and if the BSL is lower than the Preshot, testing again until it rises. I realise you are new to testing but please try and get the mid cycle tests in to see how low the insulin is taking your kitty. And always get a Preshot test to see it is safe to give the insulin.
I would be pushing to swap to Prozinc or Lantus insulin. They are gentler insulin’s and have a longer duration.
Do you have honey/karo and high carb wet food in case of low numbers?
 
Though it is not Vetsulin, I started out with NPH and it did not last a full 12 hours at all. The only regulation I achieved with it was after she had DKA and I went to every 8 hours instead of every 12. I spent months messing with NPH and in less than two months since switching to Lantus, my Alice has put on substantial weight (she was a walking skeleton), and has energy and grooms and plays and gets cranky and all the good stuff.
ECID but I recommend at least considering a longer acting insulin. The more mid-cycle tests you can get though, the more you will really know. It’s hard when they don’t like the things we need to do. I tell Alice every time, “I know you don’t like it, and we still have to do it. Greater good.”

My favorite game-changing tip for getting blood was to hold the ear underneath where I poked to help the blood bead up. I’ve also learned to just be firm. Sometimes I hold her scruff lightly too if she is a little wiggly, and that calms her some.

As for your original question, I would assume (but not necessarily be correct), that peak was earlier than that midday test. I would try for a +4.....
 
Thanks for the input, I will try a +4 tomorrow. She ended up with a fur shot this morning. :/
 
Fur shots are so frustrating. How are things going?

Totally! Things aren't great number-wise, in another thread I started asking about my curve I did yesterday it was determined she was bouncing... maybe she bounced too on this particular day. :/ Thanks for checking up on us.
 
Totally! Things aren't great number-wise, in another thread I started asking about my curve I did yesterday it was determined she was bouncing... maybe she bounced too on this particular day. :/ Thanks for checking up on us.
I tried to go look at your profile so I could look for your additional posts but your settings won’t allow me to view it.
Alice bounces anytime she runs a good blue streak, it seems like. ECID! Sigh!

Besides the numbers, always look at the clinical signs. Purring, grooming, playfulness or level of energy, etc. If urination decreases to normal levels, no sticky urine in the litter (that’s from the glucose they shed in their urine), etc., those can still be helpful indicators! :)
 
I tried to go look at your profile so I could look for your additional posts but your settings won’t allow me to view it.
Alice bounces anytime she runs a good blue streak, it seems like. ECID! Sigh!

Besides the numbers, always look at the clinical signs. Purring, grooming, playfulness or level of energy, etc. If urination decreases to normal levels, no sticky urine in the litter (that’s from the glucose they shed in their urine), etc., those can still be helpful indicators! :)

Oops sorry, here you go!
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/do-you-ever-just-get-bad-days.215126/

Panics a bit of a no-nonsense cat when "normal" so it's often hard to tell if she's feeling better or worse lol. The only way I can tell when she's feeling good is when she wants in my lap or she's smacking the other cats around xD
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top