mid-cycle shot?

Status
Not open for further replies.

codyraja

Member Since 2014
Hi all-
Could someone take a look at my data and give some input...
It seems like 1u is too much...I've given him 1u when his BG is over 300, but it's always too low to shoot again 12 hrs later.
So I've been trying to stay the course at 0.5, but yesterday was a weird day...
AMPS 266, fed, .5u
+11 = 58, I had to leave, so i fed him and skipped the shot
+4=245
AMPS=367, fed, .5u
My question: when I got that 245 last night at +4 and he hadn't had a shot, should I have given him a mid-cycle dose? I didn't and this morning's # was pretty high.

If you give a mid cycle dose, do you give food? does that put my next shot off by 12 hrs? that would really screw up our schedule!

I'm hoping to get a lot more data this weekend, so my thought for now is to stay the course at .5 unless there are better ideas out there.

thanks!!
Tracy
 
Hi Tracy,

I tried looking around to see if you posted the answer already, but could not find it.....May I ask what you are feeding and is it just one flavor or several? Sometimes that can make a difference with numbers jumping around. I know Hidey has to stay with a VERY low carb content, 0%-4% or he'll start to spike, and he gets about 8 different flavors that I rotate around but I have to watch which ones carefully.
 
Hi Tracy! Cody's numbers are jumping around. The goal is to find a dose that gives 2 shootable preshots. Cody seems to have extreme drops and long durations on 1 unit. Then since you can't shoot...his next number is really high. I'd do one consistent dose of 0.5 for several days. However is only shoot if he is over 200. See if the 0.5 gives 2 shootable numbers.

Also, ProZinc is based in preshot and nadir (mid cycle). Can you get some nadir readings? Usually around 5-7 hours after shot.

I would NOT dose mid cycle. That's something we do only if traditional dosing doesn't work. Requires a lot more testing and I don't think it's necessary yet.

I'd like to invite you to the PZI board. There are more experienced ProZinc eyes there and we can help with dosing. We post daily condos with the numbers through the day so we can help. :)
 
dirtybirdsoaps said:
I tried looking around to see if you posted the answer already, but could not find it.....May I ask what you are feeding and is it just one flavor or several? Sometimes that can make a difference with numbers jumping around. I know Hidey has to stay with a VERY low carb content, 0%-4% or he'll start to spike, and he gets about 8 different flavors that I rotate around but I have to watch which ones carefully.

Hi dirtybird!
We switched from dry food (royal canin) when he got diagnosed and we've been feeding him fancy feast classics, but I haven't been paying attention to flavors - is there much variation? Can you point me toward a resource for carb content of the different flavors?


Rachel said:
Hi Tracy! Cody's numbers are jumping around. The goal is to find a dose that gives 2 shootable preshots. Cody seems to have extreme drops and long durations on 1 unit. Then since you can't shoot...his next number is really high. I'd do one consistent dose of 0.5 for several days. However is only shoot if he is over 200. See if the 0.5 gives 2 shootable numbers.

Also, ProZinc is based in preshot and nadir (mid cycle). Can you get some nadir readings? Usually around 5-7 hours after shot.

I would NOT dose mid cycle. That's something we do only if traditional dosing doesn't work. Requires a lot more testing and I don't think it's necessary yet.

I'd like to invite you to the PZI board. There are more experienced ProZinc eyes there and we can help with dosing. We post daily condos with the numbers through the day so we can help. :)

Hi Rachel - thanks for the feedback! My goal for the long weekend is to get some good nadir numbers, I just haven't been able to during the week. I def agree that 1 is too much, I was just nervous that .5 wasn't enough. It's also hard to eyeball the .5 so I think I might try the U100 syringes. I'll start posting on the prozinc board to get some input from those friends.

Thanks all!

Tracy
 
Here you go......

http://www.catinfo.org/docs/FoodChartPublic9-22-12.pdf

Just look for the flavors your feeding although looking at the fancy feast classics the highest I see is the chopped grill feast and the chicken feast. I only ask because Hidey seems to be really carb sensitive. I have to be so careful with what I feed him to keep him diet controlled. I'm sure I've been driving everyone crazy on this board with all my nutrition questions lol
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top