wjamyers
Member Since 2022
Hi Everyone. Will Myers here.
Mickey is 12 years old, his ideal weight should be around 11 to 13 lbs. He's around 10 now and too skinny.
Yes we're using Alphatrak, and that's what we're stuck with today and don't see why we shouldn't use a meter designed for cats to track our cat's BG.
Based on our observations of the clinical presentation (how normal is the cat acting)
And the Vetsulin curve documented here:
https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1Fe3njfgwvHoU7vWS6EOF_l8RKc-mqMIsf9tZyr2pIrg/edit?usp=sharing
It looked like the Vetsulin was just too short-acting in our cat so we switched to Lantus 5 days ago, today we are doing his first Lantus curve.
He's still urinating a lot but his behavior is much more normal, he's back to fighting and wandering around the house, chasing toys and jumping on the sink and bed, etc. So we already believe the Lantus is more appropriate but...
Based on today's preshot number (421, 40 higher than with Vetsulin!) I'm thinking we already know we'll need to increase the dose. Obviously that will depend on nadir, and I notice that SLGS doesn't even mention a 1 Unit increase at all, as though that's not a thing, but also doesn't say never do it. I understand that large changes can backfire so IF .5 is the max recommended increase then that's what we'll go with. Our needles are only calibrated to 1 unit, so the .5 precision may be a little shaky.
My wife and I don't like pricking our cat, so we're going to do it every two hours, even though I took the first post reading at 1 hour. So next update will be at noon (3 hours out).
I'm guessing we'll need to increase to 1.5 units or 2 units tonight.
Vet says they'd prefer us to stick to the 1.5, as 2 would be the max dose for his size.
Feel free to tell me what i'm getting wrong.
Thanks.
Will
Mickey is 12 years old, his ideal weight should be around 11 to 13 lbs. He's around 10 now and too skinny.
Yes we're using Alphatrak, and that's what we're stuck with today and don't see why we shouldn't use a meter designed for cats to track our cat's BG.
Based on our observations of the clinical presentation (how normal is the cat acting)
And the Vetsulin curve documented here:
https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1Fe3njfgwvHoU7vWS6EOF_l8RKc-mqMIsf9tZyr2pIrg/edit?usp=sharing
It looked like the Vetsulin was just too short-acting in our cat so we switched to Lantus 5 days ago, today we are doing his first Lantus curve.
He's still urinating a lot but his behavior is much more normal, he's back to fighting and wandering around the house, chasing toys and jumping on the sink and bed, etc. So we already believe the Lantus is more appropriate but...
Based on today's preshot number (421, 40 higher than with Vetsulin!) I'm thinking we already know we'll need to increase the dose. Obviously that will depend on nadir, and I notice that SLGS doesn't even mention a 1 Unit increase at all, as though that's not a thing, but also doesn't say never do it. I understand that large changes can backfire so IF .5 is the max recommended increase then that's what we'll go with. Our needles are only calibrated to 1 unit, so the .5 precision may be a little shaky.
My wife and I don't like pricking our cat, so we're going to do it every two hours, even though I took the first post reading at 1 hour. So next update will be at noon (3 hours out).
I'm guessing we'll need to increase to 1.5 units or 2 units tonight.
Vet says they'd prefer us to stick to the 1.5, as 2 would be the max dose for his size.
Feel free to tell me what i'm getting wrong.
Thanks.
Will