MICIO has been nauseous and sick all night long after taking CLINDAMICYN + BUPRENORPHINE

MISSY + Simone&MICIO (GA)

Member Since 2021
Took Micio to ER for a sudden tooth infection, vet gave me Clindamicyn and Buprenorphine to give him twice a day...gave Micio 1st dose last night and he's been sick since. Just got his BG at 390 and getting ready to feed a bit but most likely will vomit...HOW DO I DO WITH INSULIN? Still give to him?
TNX
 
Does he have a history of ketone? Not enough insulin plus infection/ inflammation can lead to DKA.

I would give him his dose and see about getting food into him. Is there some food he likes? Even if it's not low carb? It's important he eats and not just because of the insulin.
 
He's been gagging the whole time...just tried to feed him but vomit right away....could it be an allergic reaction to this antibiotic?
suppose to give insulin 10 minutes ago...
 
Does he have a history of ketone? Not enough insulin plus infection/ inflammation can lead to DKA.

I would give him his dose and see about getting food into him. Is there some food he likes? Even if it's not low carb? It's important he eats and not just because of the insulin.
He wanted to eat but he vomit right away and he has been making this weird noise while he breaths almost like if there is stuff stock in his throat
 
He might need to have an antinausea injection. Can you ring the vet and tell him what’s happened and can he have an injection for vomiting. The vet needs to sort the vomiting issue out for you as he can’t leave a diabetic kitty vomiting.
Has the bupe made him groggy?

I agree, you need to give the insulin.
 
He might need to have an antinausea injection. Can you ring the vet and tell him what’s happened and can he have an injection for vomiting. The vet needs to sort the vomiting issue out for you as he can’t leave a diabetic kitty vomiting.
Has the bupe made him groggy?

I agree, you need to give the insulin.
I gave him insulin. he vomited as soon as I gave him the antibiotic last night, that thing is nasty cause I taste it too. then I gave him the pain med but he's been just vomiting this thick clear spit and making a noise when breathing almost like when you're congested , you know what I mean? Getting ready to call the ER. I do have Cerenia at home but he's not keeping anything down
 
Does he have a history of ketone? Not enough insulin plus infection/ inflammation can lead to DKA.

I would give him his dose and see about getting food into him. Is there some food he likes? Even if it's not low carb? It's important he eats and not just because of the insulin.
Micio never had ketones, last time I tested him was last night before I gave him insulin after dinner and then took him to ER. Then he ate again after we came back before midnight but, as soon as I gave him meds he started regurgitating/vomiting clear thick saliva. He cannot keep any food down now
 
Please call the emergency clinic that saw Micio. He may be having a reaction to the antibiotic or, as Bron suggested, he may need something to control the vomiting.
 
He might need to have an antinausea injection. Can you ring the vet and tell him what’s happened and can he have an injection for vomiting. The vet needs to sort the vomiting issue out for you as he can’t leave a diabetic kitty vomiting.
Has the bupe made him groggy?

I agree, you need to give the insulin.
@Bron and Sheba (GA) , @Bandit's Mom I did call the ER and they think, based on my description about the noise he's making when breathing, he could of have aspirate some of the meds while either I was giving it to him or when he started gagging and that's the case could potentially lead to pneumonia. We're keeping a close eye right now but this is scary.
I gave him some Cerenia (I put it inside a gel cap) and so far, he kept it down and he's finally resting but still making a lot of noise with each breath he takes...
I'll try to give him some food in a bit
 
Please call the emergency clinic that saw Micio. He may be having a reaction to the antibiotic or, as Bron suggested, he may need something to control the vomiting.
I did call... he started gagging as soon as he tasted the antibiotic because is so bitter but in the process he may have aspirate some and if it gets or got in his lungs it could potencially cause pneumonia. Keeping a close eye on him, gave him cerenia 20 minutes ago and kept it down so far...he's now resting but the noise when breathing continues and if it doesn't stop we need to take him back in to investigate
 
See if you can get the antibiotic in pill form. Maybe you can get amoxicillin which works for dental issues. I’d get a cerenia shot now too.
 
See if you can get the antibiotic in pill form. Maybe you can get amoxicillin which works for dental issues. I’d get a cerenia shot now too.
Tnx for the suggestion, will ask the tech as soon as he’ll come to talk to me…clients not allowed in exam room. I gave him Cerenia earlier in the morning and luckily I think he kept it down. Couldn’t keep down breakfast this morning but after Cerenia he sort of eat some baby food but very little
 
Clindamycin is nasty strong stuff. And it can kill tummy flora and make you feel awful. Speaking from personal experience too. If you are giving an antibiotic, it can help to give a probiotic too to restore the flora in the gut. Give the probiotic two hours apart from the antibiotic.

As Paula says, ondansetron is better for nausea if you are dealing with that too. Cerenia is better for vomiting.
 
Wait time for all vets and ER are crazy in CA too. Shortages of help they say.

One of my vets (I have a few I use) said vet shortage is across the country. One of the referral/ER vets is bringing them in from another country but I don't remember where. one of the issues seems to be because of covid, ERs are seeing more and have stopped taking new cases causing primary vets to double or triple their intake, but don't have enough staff to handle the influx. Some vets near me cut back hours and have shorter weeks. Drs want the big bucks from practicing in the big cities and don't necessarily want to start their own practice because of cost and amount of time they have to spend running it. It's tough right now.
 
BTW. I use Proviable probiotic. From the vet it's expensive and only get box of 30. Thinking Tux would begin it long time (vet said it could take weeks) I ordered from Amazon, 80 count for less than half what the vet charged.
 
UPDATE ON MICIO @Tiger(GA) and Ruth , @Olive & Paula @Diane Tyler's Mom , @tiffmaxee, @Wendy&Neko , @Sienne and Gabby (GA), @Bron and Sheba (GA) , @Bandit's Mom :
Took Micio back to ER this morning as he spent last night gagging and vomiting spit and earlier this morning he couldn't keep down any food 'till he finally kept Cerenia down but still, he continue having that weezing/ snoring sound when breathing. Even this second doctor didn't find necessary taking x-rays and to him it sounded more like an "asthmatic' sort of noise but not stuff in his lungs. He offered Convenia injection (in the place of the Clindamicyn) + another non-steroidal injection for inflammation (sorry but don't remember right now as I haven't slept in 2 days)...I agreed on those when the Dr. came out to tell me and, by the time I started reading about COnvenia possible "bad " side effects, it was too late . At this point I had to trust the Dr.'s choices and I'll keep my fingers crossed . ER visit can be extremely stressful and frustrating that in the end you just want to get the heck out of there.
Already have a follow up appointment with regular vet for the 31st december. As for the dental, only 1 Dr. in Indiana that is board certified and first available appointment is in March, unless there's a cancellation...sometimes there's only so much we can push.
Micio is now resting and he's definitely doing better: he ate a late lunch ok, I tested him and his BG were 344 vs 390 this morning .
QUESTION: I'm suppose to increase the dose again by tomorrow morning: I believe his bg got elevated because of the tooth infection, stress and meds (maybe?) so, should I stay at 3.25u and wait 'till antibiotic will take care of infection (next about 10 days) or do I have to increase to 3.5u (I'll be honest, when the nurses and doctors got to know how much insulin I'm giving Micio they all raised their brows, I guess they're used to less amounts or so...
THANKS AGAIN FOR ALL OF YOUR SUPPORT, really hope Micio can get better soon.
 
Good to hear the update on Micio. Poor baby, I’m glad he’s feeling a bit better. It’s very difficult when you can’t go in with them when they are seen by the vet.
I agree with Wendy about increasing the dose after 6 cycles if you don’t see blue.
 
Back
Top