Ah yes that makes sense! Thank you for calming my head down once again!When her preshot numbers start to come down and you are “shooting low to stay low” then the cycles will smooth out and be much flatter.

Ah yes that makes sense! Thank you for calming my head down once again!When her preshot numbers start to come down and you are “shooting low to stay low” then the cycles will smooth out and be much flatter.
Here’s some info about dosing with calipers:Didn’t someone post a video about how to use them? I haven’t been able to find it yet.
Hi! Unfortunately I didn't see this msg until now, just did her +2 check. But can get in a +1 this evening if you think that's a good idea?Morning Monica,
If you see this I might get a +1 today, she is slightly lower BG than she's been giving latel, also she had a flat blue coming into amps. It might signal a more active than usual cycle, as the depot builds.
If she is dropping at +1, give her some a snack (just a teaspoon or two of food)at +1. To try and slow her down, in an attempt to avoid a visit into lime green.
Yes exactly, I doubt I will have the same high numbers during her evening cycle today. And very happy with her cycle today! Hoping to see more and more green numbers throughout the day and more during the evening too as she has generally seemed to have higher BG numbers in her evening cyclesI saw, last night, that note about the vet visit and I was also speculating on that yellow number being due to the bet trip. Good news that the bloodwork was all good!
She’s having a very nice cycle so far today! Have a nice day today!
@Gill & George no worries about the note, they are a bit hidden being all the way to the right. Don't really notice them unless you look for themLovely cycle this morning.
I didn't see the note about the he vet visit, that explains last night's numbers I thought she was taking s run up for a dive. Not the case.
Not necessary to take a +1 tonight unless she were to surprise you with a lower than usual pmps.
I like that she's seeing s lot more green on this dose.
![]()
@Suzanne & Darcy yes was super happy seeing she stayed in greens so long! Will do a +2, +4 and +6 as usual, and of course more tests if there are any surprises with her numbers. Her +2 is at 21.30, so in 1 hour and 45 min nowA very pretty cycle today! She had an even longer run in green.An excellent PMPS, too. When will you next test her?
I just gave her another portion of her usual low carb food. It is 3.33% carb dry matterHi Mónica.
What % carbs did you feed?
It's very early in the cycle for 53, i hope the food does the trick and encourages her to surf.
@Gill & George when you say she was flat at pmps, what exactly do you mean? That there wasn't a big increase from her +10?She was flat and low blue at pmps, so looks like you were getting good duration from this mornings dose,
Tonight's dose has onset and with the longer duration that's possibly why you are seeing the sharper drop at onset.
Watch out for those flat blues at the end of the cycle, they can indicate increased duration and be a signal that they're going to before active than usual.
It's also cycle 4 of the new dose so you are starting to see the full effect of the dose.
No shooting on time is best.Should I have waited for 20 min before giving her the shot to see if it went further down/stayed stable/started going up?
Exactly she was just about the same at pmps as at +10 so she was still getting some insulin action from the mornings dose.you say she was flat at pmps, what exactly do you mean? That there wasn't a big increase from her +10?
What's that in US ? 57 ?She's up on 3.2 now at +3.5
Tested again now at +4 after waiting 30min and she is 3.1, which is showing on the US SS as 56.What's that in US ? 57 ?
Good she's out of the lime green.
A teaspoon of LC now and chec again in another 20min if she's stil dark green at that point then another LC snack if she'll have it and check in one hour.
Did you give her honey or HC when she went lime green?
Good decision she earned a reduction, but she's perhaps not yet ready for no insulin.So I decided to give her a drop dose this morning, it was either that or not shooting. Her preshot number was 5.1 which is the lowest preshot number yet. Considering she last time went into lime greens when her preshot number was 5.5 and even yesterday when her preshot number was 7.1 I hope it was the right decision. Will be doing a +1 in 15min
Found some vomit after she got her shot and fed her. I was in the shower so not 100% sure its hers, could be of my other cat
Her duration of last night's dose is up, not enough insulin in system resulting in a little food bump, you will probably find that once she onsets she comes down again.I'm so confused right now. Her +1 now shows she has gone up to 7.3
Hi Mónica,
Those are really nice cycles. Thanks for making notes about the food.
Using dreamies as an emergency is fine, they are approximately 40% carb and they are dry.
There are a couple of problems with using dreamies to manipulate the curve
1) they are too high in carbs, ( you wat to manipulate the curve with LC food (below 10 % ideally, I used medium carb at times, but mostly 10%)
2) they are dry, and for TR/ the cat needs to be on strictly a wet diet. (Dry food can remain in the system for quite a long time/not predictable/ and when it does come out of their system BG can crash)
Do you have any higher carb wet food?
Some of the Purina gourmet golds might be suitable
Chunks in sauce are 30%
Some of the pares, come in at around 10%
Absolutely fine to use dreamies in the event of an emergency, but not recommended for routine use of manipulating the curve.
Have you been using dreamies on a regular basis?
Or only the last couple of cycles?
No problem I could see you were reading your posts and with the notes you were keeping I could see you were taking it in.trying to keep up with all the testing and feeding times in between.
Great that should help with consistencyOh and yes we have started with the caliper.
Hey Mónica,
No problem I could see you were reading your posts and with the notes you were keeping I could see you were taking it in.
The 9%mouse is probably a good option.
One thing I sometimes did to get a higher carb is mix equal amounts of food, so 1tsp of 4% and one teaspoon of 18%. Would give me 11%
Or one teaspoon of9% and one teaspoon of18% would give me 13.5%
I used some of the cosma tins which are complimentary foods back when George was on insulin, some of them were between 10 and 15 % it's a long time ago so you will need to check the carb content. I'll take a look and see if I see anything.
@xelo y sinver uses a liquid treat that's 18% perhaps she knows of others.
Great that should help with consistency
@Suzanne & Darcy Ok that's great to hear you agree with the 0.1 dose. And appreciate the feedback on yesterdays cycle. I must admit I got really disappointed when I saw she went into lime green and felt like I failed the goal of manipulating the cycle with food.I agree with you keeping her at the .1 dose for now. You did a good job heading off that drop last night with food. She probably would have dropped lower than 47 if you hadn’t been proactive with the HC when she was at 52.
She’s already back to green today so if there was any residual carryover of high BG from the carbs, it’s gone now. It’s possible that later in the cycle after you went to bed that she did climb into higherBG than what is normal for her — due to all the carbs — but her AMPS wasn’t too terribly high and at least was still blue.
@Suzanne & Darcy No, not 10 percent carbs, just the amount of high carb food I should give in order for her not to get too low again. Like yesterday evening she got 10 grams of the high carb food, which I calculated to be 9.6% carb. But still she went into lime green. Was just thinking how much I should have given her when 10 grams wasn't enough to keep her out of the lime green numbers?Do you mean 10 percent carbs? I assumed that 10 gram was the amount (portion size) that you gave her. I hope she’s not having diarrhea from the HC food.
@Suzanne & Darcy Yes it looks like the low carb she is getting might be a little too low on this dose, I agree. Do you mean that you would switch completely to wet food around 14-15% carbs? Or are we misunderstanding each other?Well, every cat is different, and normally I don’t recommend feeding HC unless they drop below 50; however, in Mia’s case on this dose, it seems she does need some medium carb food. I would try something around 14-15 percent to keep her out of lime green.
@Suzanne & Darcy ok got it!Not completely switch no. I am only saying to ise a higher carb when you are trying to keep her out of lime — like when she’s in the low 50s at only +2 for example.
@Bron and Sheba (GA) Oh! Really? That sounds so opposite of what makes sense in my head regarding BG levelsI would try giving a snack at +9 overnight to see if that brings down the AMPS. Do you have an automatic timed feeder?
Sorry I didn’t get your first tag so thanks for the second one.@Bron and Sheba (GA) Oh! Really? That sounds so opposite of what makes sense in my head regarding BG levelsWe don't use an automatic feeder. To give you an idea of her feeding schedule, I can give an example of how much and when she ate yesterday. She gets 40 grams at both AM and PM shooting times, which sometimes she eats in one go and sometimes she takes an hour to finish. At +2 she got 20 grams, at +5.5 she got 20 grams, and 20 grams at +9 before removing food 2 hours before PM shot. Got her 40 grams with her PM shot, another 20 grams at +3 and 10 grams at +6.
Regarding a snack at +9 during the night, could you explain? I don't understand how a snack would make her AMPS lower?![]()