Meter gave me crazy numbers

Status
Not open for further replies.

Bobbie And Bubba

Member Since 2015
Just now for my PMPS I got a 252 which is a bit lower than his+7. So, I retest and got 198 and did one more and got 338. That's a big span from highest to lowest. Not sure what to trust. My concern is shooting a falling number from the +7 if the first number is accurate.
 
Hmmm. How about waiting 20 minutes and getting another one? I would guess that the higher ranges are accurate but it is concerning If he is still dropping. Can you monitor if you give him the "usual"?
 
I guess, Bobbi. The 260 is a lower preshot than we are used to and the last time you gave 1.8 On a 220, you got a green nadir, but a safe one. I hate to see you lose momentum but hate to think you might be up all night. What are you thinking?
 
I'm thinking go for it! I want to get him to the greens. I was just concerned that he still had some insulin working and to give him more could be bad but, you are right, I shot 180 on that dose. Fingers and Paws.
 
I like your enthusiasm and I think that is a great call Bobbie. I would have shot that dose too. Hey, it is the weekend and what else do you have to do but to stay up and test?
 
Still crazy numbers, just tested at +4.25 and he is 252 after a 260 preshot test. I'm not getting it. I did run a test on the meter and it is functioning fine. The only thing I can think of is that there was a 10-15 min delay after he ate tonight before I shot him. I will do a +6 or +7 test tonight to make sure. I am scratching my head.
 
That stinker...I was sure that you might see a blue tonight. I guess you still could. Good thing I don't gamble!
 
That stinker...I was sure that you might see a blue tonight. I guess you still could. Good thing I don't gamble!
Yeah, right? Me too. It's so weird. I think today his nadir was even later than I caught. And maybe he will go blue. I was hoping for a green. Could this just be a flat cycle after all the bouncing from Aug. 19th when he got into the greens? This is his third day since then.
 
Sometimes it takes 3-4 days for some cats to clear a bounce and others only a day. You never know. You may want to consider changing his dose by 0.20. The reason why I was thinking that is because you have been at 1.8u for quite a while and the mid-cycles have been mostly in the low to mid-200's especially since 8/13. Actually you could go either way (increase or decrease) just to see what he does. It seems that he got more blues when he was at a lower dose. If that doesn't work, change the plan and increase say after about after 3-4 cycles. Just a thought.

You are doing a great job testing. I think we are starting to see some patterns even though Bubba is keeping you on your toes.
 
Thanks Cindi, I went to bed shortly after my last post and just got yours this morning. Okay I will try a small decrease this AM to 1.6 and see where we go. I can always go back up if needed. He's perplexing.
 
@Merlin, Hey Cindi. I took your suggestion and lowered the dose this AM to see what the Bubster decides to do. It's interesting , last night's +7 was higher than his PMPS. He never really dropped at all through the night. He's just so flat now. Guess I will hold this 1.6u for a few more cycles and see what happens.
 
Yep - at this point, it is just data collecting and trying out some doses. So glad you can monitor most of the time.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top