Merry Christmas! Newbie here, your generous advise would be highly appreciated!

Status
Not open for further replies.
@Nan & Amber (GA)
Hi Nan did you happen to notice #44 she said

adjusted to now 1unit/dose, AM only. I assume she's only giving one dose a day by what she said #44

Good point, we'll have to talk about that too after we make sure that the 57 is taken care of... Yuling, just so you know, Lantus in particular works much better with twice-a-day dosing. It may be that what Casper needs is an even lower dose (maybe 0.5U), but twice a day.

But let's make sure he's safely up, first!
 
Good point, we'll have to talk about that too after we make sure that the 57 is taken care of... Yuling, just so you know, Lantus in particular works much better with twice-a-day dosing. It may be that what Casper needs is an even lower dose (maybe 0.5U), but twice a day.

But let's make sure he's safely up, first!
I agree safety first , I hope she comes s back on
 
Good afternoon all from CA! So sorry to get back to you late, I just got a chance to read all the replies.

Yes, I gave him 1 unit every single morning since he's home on the 13th night. So, 1 unit yesterday morning at 9 AM and 1 unit this morning at 9 AM. I even called the vet this morning about his dose, I was told to give 1. Got me wonder how much these vets really know about insulin and FD.
When I got his number at 57 yesterday afternoon at +7, I gave him 2 drops of honey, 2 tbsp of cat milk, followed by 30ML Forza10 Actiwet food. Tested him again at +9, his number went up to 161 mg/dl. The PM dose is skipped.
The AMPS today is 684, he had 40 ML ProPlan DM can food; 30 mins later at 9 AM, he received his 1 unit dose. 2 hours later, retested, BG reads at 684 still; feed him more DM, now he is resting. I would need to test him again at +6, as I read the Lantus works at its peak at +6.
Other than the diabetic food, he is eating and drinking well; tested keystone last night, negative.
 
@Nan & Amber (GA) - Could you keep an eye out for Yuling and Casper for a while, Nan? (It's just before 2am here and I won't be able to stay the course. I'm knackered.)


Mogs
.

Hi Mogs, so sorry not be able to get back to you ladies yesterday. I feel terrible now as I really can sense how much you care about Casper.
I had been having full-day meetings, followed by team activities from 6 AM to 9 PM, Monday to today. Just glad it's finally done and I could devote my full attention to Casper now. I also have home instruction for other family members on how to care for Casper when I am out, but I haven't been stepped out of home for more than 2 hours recently, as soon as I found an issue, I can act immediately based on the knowledge you all have given me.
As I mentioned in the previous reply, I plan to test him again at +6, record it and test him again around 8 PM right before his PM dose (although the stupid vet told me not to worry about it)...Gosh! I am so pissed off right now. We paid them $13k to figure out the right treatment for him and I ended up received more professional advice and knowledge here. Thank you all!!!!!!!!!!!!
 
Good to hear from you and Casper!

Gosh! I am so pissed off right now. We paid them $13k to figure out the right treatment for him and I ended up received more professional advice and knowledge here. Thank you all!!!!!!!!!!!!

Yikes! But, it's important to keep in mind, we're really just focused on feline diabetes here, while your vet is treating the whole cat. Ideally, the two approaches complement each other.

Looks like he's in a serious bounce from that 57! You're still planning on reducing the dose, right?
 
Good to hear from you and Casper!



Yikes! But, it's important to keep in mind, we're really just focused on feline diabetes here, while your vet is treating the whole cat. Ideally, the two approaches complement each other.

Looks like he's in a serious bounce from that 57! You're still planning on reducing the dose, right?

Absolutely! I am not sure why the morning dose did nothing to him today, the last time I checked was 694 at +6. Other than that, he is drinking, eating just fine. Plan to test him at 8 PM which would be +11, then make a decision whether or not to give him 0.75U this evening.
 
Looks like the insulin takes it's time to do the work today. At 8 PM, +11, BG reads at 383 mg/dl. Guess I will give him the PM dose at 0.75 unit and get up at 3 AM to check his BG again.
Afraid his BG dropped way low with two doses during sleep and this is the issue the vets are having: 2 doses, BG dropped way low (lowest at 26 mg/dl).
 
Sweet dreams, Mogs!
I just did 0.5 unit to be on the safe side after test him again at PMPS: BG reads at 552 mg/dl. I will test him at +2 again. Feel so bad for him, his ears are all bruised up and paws are poked so many times.
 
Hi Yuking,
Have you been giving Casper insulin twice a day every day?....just asking because there are blank spots in both the am and pm spots.
Casper is bouncing at the moment from that 57 yesterday. He could bounce for up to 6 cycles.
You need to stick to the one dose and also take a reduction from the 57 yesterday.
I’ve just looked at your thread on the Lantus forum and see you were advised to shoot 0.5 units tonight.

Haveyou looked at the two dosing methods. Have a look at them as it will be much easier for you and easier fro us to advise you if we know which method you are following ,
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...-low-go-slow-slgs-tight-regulation-tr.210110/

Are you able to get any tests in during the PM cycle?
 
Hi Yuking,
Have you been giving Casper insulin twice a day every day?....just asking because there are blank spots in both the am and pm spots.
Casper is bouncing at the moment from that 57 yesterday. He could bounce for up to 6 cycles.
You need to stick to the one dose and also take a reduction from the 57 yesterday.
I’ve just looked at your thread on the Lantus forum and see you were advised to shoot 0.5 units tonight.

Haveyou looked at the two dosing methods. Have a look at them as it will be much easier for you and easier fro us to advise you if we know which method you are following ,
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...-low-go-slow-slgs-tight-regulation-tr.210110/

Are you able to get any tests in during the PM cycle?

Hi Bron and Sheba,
After he came home on the 13th, we followed the vet's instruction: 1-unit/day ONLY, morning dose until tonight.

Before he was rushed into the ER on the 3rd, we always did his Vetsulin shots at 1U/dose, 2 doses/day, 12-hours in between.

He started with Lantus on 01/08/2021, the initial instruction was: 1 unit/dose, 2 doses/day. However, the vets experienced high (so high and extremely low numbers (32, 47 etc.). On 01/20, the vet changed to 0.5 unit/dose, 2- doses/day; the following day, we were told that 2 doses are too much for him, then changed to 1 unit/dose, 1 dose a day in the morning only. They kept him at the ER for another 24-hour, discharged him on the 13th evening after one- more round of testing.
We were told to follow up in 4 weeks, no meds were given, told not to worry about his HCT. Keep an eye on the low BG. That's bit.
 
You must be feeling very frustrated. I don’t get their reasoning when they say that 0.5 unit twice a day is too much so give 1 unit (double the dose in one hit) once a day!:eek: I don’t think they must realise that Lantus only lasts around 12 hours in a cat.
And then just follow up in a month! And don’t worry about the HCT!
 
Last edited:
Good evening all,

Just wanted to give you an update on Casper:

The ladies in Lantus section have been helping us fine tuning in his dose. We just did 2 cycles on 0.5U/dose, 2 times a day. So far so good, the numbers look quite promising.
Other than he's still stubborn and picky on food, we do see a tremendous improvement in his status. Just wanted to thank you all for the support and advise when I was lost.
Love from Casper and my family!!!:bighug:
 
Hi Yuling,

What an encouraging update about Casper! :cat: It's good to hear how he's getting on.

I'm glad to see that his BG levels are improving too after his roller coaster ride a few days ago. :nailbiting:

Now, Casper, pay attention: you need to eat your fudz for your mama!!! ;)

(((Casper and family)))

:bighug:


Mogs
.
 
Good evening everyone,

Just wanted to seek for some guidance here, Casper has been having HI readings for 2 nights. He doesn't eat himself anymore and he barely drinks any water, we are syringe feeding him all these time.

I am in the process of TR, but are these type of HI readings normal? Casper has been on antibiotics for 4 days now.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top