Merry Christmas from J.D. PMPS 60, +4 89

Status
Not open for further replies.

Dyana

Member Since 2009
Yesterday

Merry Christmas and Happy Holidays to all our friends in Lantus Land!Christmas Morning Kitty Photos Sorry, I'm so late. I spent over an hour trying to get these pictures and then trying to edit them, but alas, I guess I don't know how. So, you might see my messy house.

J.D. was flat yellow all night. I don't know if that means anything. I did not take a dose reduction, yet. I don't even know if he earned one or not yesterday. I meant to shoot 15 minutes early this morning to continue getting back on schedule from the late shot yesterday, but I got involved in taking the pictures and forgot.
J.D. has eaten his first breakfast, and seems bored. I wish he played with toys, but only likes to lick the catnip toys. I did give him some new Freeze Dried Beef Livers and he threw them up :roll: .

I hope everyone has a really really nice Christmas :mrgreen:
Love you all!
 
Re: Merry Christmas from J.D. - AMPS 226

love the pics of JD and Ginger in their christmas collars! :mrgreen:

since you'll be home the next few days, you could try to hang onto the dose a little longer if you'll be around to monitor. if not, i'd attempt a shave. some times a flat cycle can precede another action packed cycle. time will tell.

have a very merry christmas!
 
Re: Merry Christmas from J.D. - AMPS 226

Merry Christmas JD and Dyana! What adorable pictures! Thank you for the healing vines for Blackie yesterday, Dyana. He doesn't play either, but also likes the catnip. I hope J.D. will give you some good numbers for your Christmas present. I hope your Christmas is filled with love and joy.
 
Re: Merry Christmas from J.D. - AMPS 226

Merry Christmas Dyana, JD, Ginger. Love the photos - so cute. those collars are great. :-D :-D I hope you guys have a great day today!

Nice amps JD - looking good.
 
Re: Merry Christmas from J.D. - AMPS 226

Merry Xmas to you Dyana!
Thank you for the xmas smiles this a.m. with those photos. Such laid back, yet fun and might I add ADORABLE kitties you have.

Have you tried any of the cubes for JD? He might be interested in sitting in one. Maybe batting a string through one of the holes?

Speaking of toys, while I was going shopping for the kids I care for I saw a hamster (fake) in a ball. The hamster would move around and the ball would roll with his/her movement. I got it for Duchess. :lol: She doesnt really play with it, but she watches it like crazy. Occassionally she will run away from her 'hiding spot' or 'high point' to the ball and tap it, then run back. Just making sure it knows whose boss. Something like that might be an idea (if noises dont bother them). And, when all else fails...PEACOCK feathers!!!!! :mrgreen:

Enjoy some snuggles with your kitties today and a maybe some holiday treats for you? Do you ever wonder what our cats would get US if they could go shopping? :lol:
 
Re: Merry Christmas from J.D. - AMPS 226

Merry Christmas from Us and What beautiful pictures of your furbabies!!
They are truly beautiful!! and BTW, Copper left me an HB too!! :lol: :lol: :lol: -What a gift!
Many Hugs from us!
 
Re: Merry Christmas from J.D. - AMPS 226

Loved the pictures. They certainly seem to enjoy being photographed. Hope you have a wonderful "green surf" day.

MERRY CHRISTMAS
 
Re: Merry Christmas from J.D. - AMPS 226

Wonderful photos! Thanks for sharing Dyana, and I didn't see anything messy at all! Just 2 gorgeous kitties! Merry Christmas to you all!
 
Re: Merry Christmas from J.D. - AMPS 226, +4 242

Merry Christmas to you and J.D. and rest of the family!!!
enjoy your day and btw.....those pics are sooooooo adorable!!!!!!!
 
Re: Merry Christmas from J.D. - AMPS 226, +4 242

J.D. has decided to be mellow yellow, today. They're just finally, now, getting their 2nd breffis. Ginger gets all the leftover HC from yesterday, so she is happy. J.D. get dumb ole soupy Sophisticat ..with freeze dried chicken liver dust on top.

Maybe, we'll go for a walk outside soon. Want to get all the cat walking and squirrel and bird feeding that I can get done today, as we are supposed to get some snow tomorrow .. a little late, but that's okay :-D
 
Re: Merry Christmas from J.D. - AMPS 226, +6.5 115

When we went for a walk about an hour and a half ago, I found J.D. licking an (burnt) oatmeal cookie that I had thrown out for the wild critters, about 5 days ago :o . I yelled at him and waved my hands, and he abandoned the cookie.

I tell you one thing, I can hear wherever he goes with those big bells around his neck :lol:
 
Re: Merry Christmas from J.D. - AMPS 226, +6.5 115

Merry, Merry Christmas Dyana, JD, and Ginger....LOVE the photos!! I can't believe you got them to wear those collars for all those pictures. Have a wonderful day.
 
Re: Merry Christmas from J.D. - AMPS 226, +7.5 89

My good boy cat_pet_icon , gave me a Green, for Christmas :mrgreen:
He was laying next to the kitchen sink as if he were waiting for shrimp to thaw, so I tested him, and WaaLaa!
So, I now have some shrimp thawing out.

I just hope I remember to shoot early tonight. I have two days to get back on schedule, and prefer to get it done by tomorrow night or Monday morning.
 
Re: Merry Christmas from J.D. - AMPS 226, +8.5 59

He got his shrimp :mrgreen:
Will test again at +9
 
Re: Merry Christmas from J.D. - AMPS 226, +9 51

J.D. has not picked a very good time for this. I'm in the middle of making dinner. Oh well.
 
Re: Merry Christmas from J.D. - +9 51, +9.5 51 Advice Please

He picked a PERFECT time! Right when you are in the kitchen! (he says feeeeed me! :mrgreen: )
Are you staying home? Guests? Or do you have to leave?
 
Re: Merry Christmas from J.D. - +9 51, +9.5 51 Advice Please

I fed him at +9 and at +9.5. I can't feed him anymore right? Also, I really need to shoot 15 minutes early tonight.
And, I'm in the middle of making dinner. I love Christmas, but I must love stress, too, or somethin'
I guess he's surfing, so everything is fine, right?

Hi Carolyn :mrgreen: It's so nice to see you!!!!!!

I am supposed to be cooking dinner for a guest, but I already ruined the ham :roll: Now, I'm working on the fixins.
 
Re: Merry Christmas from J.D. - +9 51, +9.5 51 Advice Please

well, +10 would be the last time you probably want to feed unless he is going low. Of course you will certainly want to monitor if you are trying NOT to feed, right?

Are you going for 3x's into the 40's before a reduction? He sure is liking this new cart.

Sorry about the timing.

Last xmas Latte had her first green surf and I was testing hourly at a minimum the entire day and into the evening. Its hard when they pull these xmas colors on us!
 
Re: Merry Christmas from J.D. - +9 51, +9.5 51 Advice Please

Merry Christmas Dyana, JD, & Ginger!!!

I totally enjoyed looking at JD & Ginger's Christmas photos. Those two are two of the most beautiful kitties and so photogenic! JD is looking really nice in green today. I hope that he goes up just a tad for you and then surfs. I know JD loves his frimp!
 
Re: Merry Christmas from J.D. - +9.5 51, +10 47 Advice Pleas

You could give a little food here. It is just about the cut-off for feeding before PMPS. I would only give a little and see if you can get him on a surfboard.
 
Re: Merry Christmas from J.D. - +9 51, +9.5 51 Advice Please

carolynandlatte said:
well, +10 would be the last time you probably want to feed unless he is going low. Of course you will certainly want to monitor if you are trying NOT to feed, right?

Are you going for 3x's into the 40's before a reduction? He sure is liking this new cart. I didn't start a new cart. He just got a reduction from s1.50 to 1.25 for the 37 he got on the 21st, so I wasn't sure if I should reduce again for the 39 last night, so I didn't. And, I had to delay his shot yesterday morning, because he was dropping, so my schedule is all off.

Sorry about the timing.

Last xmas Latte had her first green surf and I was testing hourly at a minimum the entire day and into the evening. Its hard when they pull these xmas colors on us!
He keeps following me into the kitchen, to be fed. Poor kitty, smells the ham.
The oven becons..
 
Re: Merry Christmas from J.D. - +9.5 51, +10 47 Advice Pleas

Hi Dyana-
not sure if I have much advice to offer. But I certainly can be a sounding board and offer support. I will stick around...Im here!

how early were you wanting to shoot?

maybe a little food?
 
Re: Merry Christmas from J.D. - +9.5 51, +10 47 Advice Pleas

He really doesnt need to go any lower...
JD you proved your point!
 
Re: Merry Christmas from J.D. - +9.5 51, +10 47 Advice Pleas

carolynandlatte said:
Hi Dyana-
not sure if I have much advice to offer. But I certainly can be a sounding board and offer support. I will stick around...Im here!

how early were you wanting to shoot?

maybe a little food?
Carolyn, thanks for being here.
I was going to shot 15 minutes early for the next 4 cycles to get him back on schedule for when I go to work on Tuesday.
I guess that ain't happening.
In about 5 minutes is +10.5. I'll test and if he's the same or higher I won't feed, but if he's lower, I will.
Won't the food affect this PMPS?
 
Re: Merry Christmas from J.D. - +9.5 51, +10 47 Advice Pleas

I feel weird saying this, but "J.D.'s armpit" made my day.

MJ&Donovan&Butthead
 
Re: Merry Christmas from J.D. - +9.5 51, +10 47 Advice Pleas

Dyana said:
Carolyn, thanks for being here.
I was going to shot 15 minutes early for the next 4 cycles to get him back on schedule for when I go to work on Tuesday.
I guess that ain't happening.
In about 5 minutes is +10.5. I'll test and if he's the same or higher I won't feed, but if he's lower, I will.
Won't the food affect this PMPS?

Unless you see a comfortable rise to shoot earlier, I would probably wait. My guess (though cats are always in charge), is that JD will bounce in the next few days and THAT is when you may feel more comfortable making up that time, maybe in a bigger chunk?

You know best how food affects JD and for how long. Didnt do squat for Latte, so I would never have hesitated to feed prior to shot/test if she was low. ECID.

That said, Im not sure its necessary for him to sit in the 40's. I would think the longer he is there the greater potential for a bigger bounce? But I dont know. Its just not a place I would feel comfy with my cat sitting. EBID.

Now you got me motivated and off my butt to cook myself some dinner. Thanks!

I will keep checking in, as your cheerleader! :RAHCAT
 
Re: Merry Christmas from J.D. - +10.5 43 (fed)

I see you fed +10.5 because he keeps dropping. Can you test again in 15, just to stay on top of it?
 
Re: Merry Christmas from J.D. - +10.5 43 (fed)

Hope he comes up some. Remember, shoot early, increase. Recheck in 15. Merry Christmas.
 
Re: Merry Christmas from J.D. - +10.5 43 (fed)

So, I gave him a teaspoon of food. But, it ain't (oh, I love my english) going to do anything. He's not carb sensitive.
At least I'll be home tonight. If I have to shoot a 40, I have to shoot a 40. I have coffee. I have everything I need. :lol:

why won't my yams boil?

Dinner is supposed to be served in 5 minutes. J.D., this is such bad timing!
 
Re: Merry Christmas from J.D. - +10.5 43 (fed)

Barbara and tuffy said:
Hope he comes up some. Remember, shoot early, increase. Recheck in 15. Merry Christmas.
How about if I take his dose reduction (from last night) and shoot 15 minutes early? Is that okay?
 
Re: Merry Christmas from J.D. - +10.5 43 (fed)

I would not shoot 40, dose reduction or not. That is just my opinion. Hopefully someone else will chime in here. Good luck. I know you have time constraints but 40?
 
Re: Merry Christmas from J.D. - +10.5 43 (fed)

Dyana said:
So, I gave him a teaspoon of food. But, it ain't (oh, I love my english) going to do anything. He's not carb sensitive.
At least I'll be home tonight. If I have to shoot a 40, I have to shoot a 40. I have coffee. I have everything I need. :lol:

Add a little karo to it if he keeps dropping. I know you want to make up time, but I dont know about shooting a DROPPING 40 w/ food on board (even if you are prepared).

Sorry about the yams. :(
Mine are in the oven.
 
Re: Merry Christmas from J.D. - +10.5 43 (fed)

Barbara and tuffy said:
I would not shoot 40, dose reduction or not. That is just my opinion. Hopefully someone else will chime in here. Good luck. I know you have time constraints but 40?

I agree, and shared similar thoughts already. Save the making up time for when he is bouncing. You dont have to explain now, but just wondering why you didnt reduce sooner after he earned it?
maybe a reduction by a drop rather than a full 1/4u would be something to think about as well.
 
Re: Merry Christmas from J.D. - +11 50 Yay!

GOod Boy JD! Creep it up a little more for your momma (no dramatics, tho...k???).
Dyana- I will go feed duchess and check back in on ya!
:YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
Re: Merry Christmas from J.D. - +11 50 Yay!

Merry Christmas Dyana and J.D. love the pics and looks like he is sure keeping you busy tonight :smile:
 
Re: Merry Christmas from J.D. - +11 50 Yay!

MERRY CHRISTMAS DYANA J.D. AND GINGER!!

19163066-13f8-4599-8c70-723073a77b61.jpg


Those christmas collars are so adorable Dyana! I see J.D. has picked a fine time to go low. :shock: Hope your dinner turned out tasty. Good luck with changing his shot time for when you go back to work.

Have a nice dinner.

jan and sara
 
Re: Merry Christmas from J.D. - +11.5 53 Yay!

Dyana....for what it's worth, Libby has always told me to feed the 40s; I'm glad you did and are not going to shoot a 40 esp if it's dropping. Good luck...hope he continues to come up for you.
 
Re: Merry Christmas from J.D. - +11.5 53 Yay!

Still here. :mrgreen:
Keep showing the small rises JD! cat_pet_icon
You are taking the reduction tonight, correct?

Hows dinner coming along?

(((dyana))))
 
Re: Merry Christmas from J.D. - +11.5 53 Yay!

Can I? I'm not shooting early. 5 minutes until +12.
 
Re: Merry Christmas from J.D. - +11.5 53 Yay!

I honestly don't know. How much are you shooting. 53 not much different then 49. Is this PMPS or is this the 11.5?
 
Re: Merry Christmas from J.D. - +11.5 53 Yay!

Well, you got a 39 yesterday and he surfed in the 40's for a while. That is a reduction, right? Or do you need THREE 40's before reducing since JD is an older diabetic (we would have to look at the protocol). Looks like you shot through the next cycle at same dose (1.25), in which he bounced into the yellows. You didnt take the reduction this a.m. to 1u (or skinnying it up), and he threw you more 40's late in the cycle (typical for him/lev) as he cleared the bounce..

Im just repeating what I see on the ss.
I can go peek at the protocol...brb, if you havent shot already.
 
Re: Merry Christmas from J.D. - PMPS 60

btw...while Im reading the sticky, it would be good to see THREE rising numbers before shooting, imho
 
Re: Merry Christmas from J.D. - PMPS 60

viewtopic.php?f=9&t=1581

Reducing the dose...

If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit. Alternatively, at each newly reduced dose... try to make sure kitty maintains numbers in the normal range for seven days before reducing the dose further.
If an attempted reduction fails, go right back up to the last good dose.
Try to go from 0.25u to 0.1u before stopping insulin completely

You would have wanted to drop the dose this a.m. according to the protocol. DId you shave it tonight?

ETA: I just see you shot and he is rising. YA! Hope you dont end up with too busy of a night and can enjoy your dinner/relax afterwards. Good job dealing with the issue and Great hootin'! BOS! You sure do know JD well. :mrgreen:
 
Re: Merry Christmas from J.D. - PMPS 60, +1 84

Thanks for sticking with me and for your help, my LL friends :YMHUG:

This is so new to me, J.D. being so good, I feel a little confused, and you guys sat with me, and helped me through.
 
Re: Merry Christmas from J.D. - PMPS 60, +1 84

Guess we are all confused the first time we shoot low numbers. Get a +2. You are doing fine so is J.D. Hope you got dinner.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top