Merry 11/21 amps 323 on AT2/ 286@+5 on AT2 & 196@+5 on FSL Dosing Advice

Status
Not open for further replies.

LuanneP

Member Since 2017
Hi guys,

I got a new FreeStyle Lite meter today & when I tested Merry at +5 using that meter he was 196 and when I compared it to the AT2 with the FSL strips (that's the combo I've been using since Oct 2) on the same blood sample it was 286. That's quite the difference, a high blue & a high yellow. I'm going to be using the FSL meter/strips from now on so maybe all those pinks I was seeing will actually be yellows now. I'll post later tonight after I do a few more readings with the new meter & I will also use the AT2 as well just to see the difference because maybe Merry's numbers aren't as pink as we thought. I know there's a variance between human meters & the AT2 but that's quite a difference. I could have missed some nice blues or low yellows all this time.

If I'm seeing the higher blues or into the yellows with the FSL meter for the rest of the day/night should I increase tomorrow by 0.25 instead of the 0.5 as we had discussed at the end of this thread (just so I know what dose to give in the am as I won't have time to check the board again in the morning before work): http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/help-with-merrys-dosing-please.186409/#post-2075312

Thks :)
 
The best thing to do is just go with one meter and forget about what the reading would be on the other. Using an AT meter all the time is so very expensive. You'll get used to the range that the Freestyle Lite meter gives you as you use it. The important thing to keep in mind is the "take action" - 50 on the FS meter.

You'll see more blue and yellow on your SS using the human meter and you'll learn to judge when a dose increase is in order. The TR and SLGS guidelines are written with a human meter in mind so they can help you decide what to do.

I suggest you put a clear dividing line on your SS and label it to say you've changed meter. The other thing to note is that your SS was set up for a pet meter so the automatic colour coding will give you lime green at a BG of 68 or lower. Until you change your SS (for the new year maybe?) you'll have to go in and colour code BGs between 51 and 68 as dark green.
 
Hi guys,

I got a new FreeStyle Lite meter today & when I tested Merry at +5 using that meter he was 196 and when I compared it to the AT2 with the FSL strips (that's the combo I've been using since Oct 2) on the same blood sample it was 286. That's quite the difference, a high blue & a high yellow. I'm going to be using the FSL meter/strips from now on so maybe all those pinks I was seeing will actually be yellows now. I'll post later tonight after I do a few more readings with the new meter & I will also use the AT2 as well just to see the difference because maybe Merry's numbers aren't as pink as we thought. I know there's a variance between human meters & the AT2 but that's quite a difference. I could have missed some nice blues or low yellows all this time.

If I'm seeing the higher blues or into the yellows with the FSL meter for the rest of the day/night should I increase tomorrow by 0.25 instead of the 0.5 as we had discussed at the end of this thread (just so I know what dose to give in the am as I won't have time to check the board again in the morning before work): http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/help-with-merrys-dosing-please.186409/#post-2075312

Thks :)
You can forget about FT2 (keep it as backup only), the colors on SS look much better when you test BG with human meters. :)
If I were you I'd start a brand new SS so you don't mix data from two types of meters with complete different readings on the same sheet - will be easier for you to follow.
Cheers.
 
Last edited:
With that blue on the FSL meter/strips, you need to hold this dose for now.

I would just put a solid line now on your ss to clearly demarcate when you have started using the human meter and strips.
You will need to alter the ss so that it shows up lime green at below 50 rather than below 68. Just shout if you need a hand with that.

I think that's a better option, that way you have all the data in one place, it's good to be able to look back at all the historical data both for you and for anyone trying to help you.
 
So how do I change the coloring on the SS? I started a new one for the FSL meter but having a hard time getting both in my signature due to an error coming up that shouldn't be coming up (I've posted in the tech forum about that). But I can keep using the same one if someone can tell me how to change the coloring, pls.

With that blue on the FSL meter/strips, you need to hold this dose for now.

Ok, so hold it for 10 cycles then? Or is that dependent on how he does on the same dose after the 6th cycle?

Now I'm curious to see what Merry's night time numbers are going to be. Maybe he's actually doing better than we thought :)
 
So how do I change the coloring on the SS? I started a new one for the FSL meter but having a hard time getting both in my signature due to an error coming up that shouldn't be coming up (I've posted in the tech forum about that). But I can keep using the same one if someone can tell me how to change the coloring, pls
It’s faster and simpler for me to just do it for you than to explain it. I have to change all the formatting which I do frequently for members switching meters. I’ll send you a private message as I need editing rights.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top