Merlin - New and need advise based on evening BG

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tamicat

Member Since 2018
I just took my cat Merlin's BG before giving him his evening injection and his BG is 161. Does that mean I should NOT give him his evening injection or just to do a lower dose? Thanks!

Note: We just found out last Friday he is diabetic, caused by steroids.
He is on 3 units of Lantus twice per day.
I just got a BG monitor to do testing today.
Morning dose at 10 am - 3 units.
Testing blood 6 hours later and BG was 100 (his first at home test).
Now it is time for evening shot and his BG is 161.
 
Hi Tami!! I'm glad you made it over here from the FB group!

Since we don't have any background on Merlin and you don't have much data on him yet, it's probably best to skip it, but as long as you haven't fed him yet, there's another option.

Wait about 20-30 minutes and test again.....we call that "stalling".....those numbers can go up fast at the end of the cycle, so by not feeding and testing again, we'll have a better idea if the last shot is truly wearing off (since the number wouldn't be naturally higher due to feeding)
 
Hi Tami!! I'm glad you made it over here from the FB group!

Since we don't have any background on Merlin and you don't have much data on him yet, it's probably best to skip it, but as long as you haven't fed him yet, there's another option.

Wait about 20-30 minutes and test again.....we call that "stalling".....those numbers can go up fast at the end of the cycle, so by not feeding and testing again, we'll have a better idea if the last shot is truly wearing off (since the number wouldn't be naturally higher due to feeding)

Hi Chris, I think I will just skip the injection and test again before his next injection (which is normally 9am). I think doing 2 tests today is all I can handle, lol! My husband has to hold him to get the test done and so I hate to do it again so soon. But, I do understand the stalling method now.
 
Does he get a special treat after every test? That's really important....something he really loves and doesn't get any other time!

Here's something I wrote up for others for testing...maybe it'll help you too!

It can be really helpful to establish a routine with testing.Pick one spot that you want your "testing spot" to be (I like the kitchen counter because it's got good light and it's at a good height....it also already blocked 2 escape routes due to the wall and the backsplash) It can be anywhere though...a rug on the floor, a table, a particular spot on the couch...wherever is good for you.

Take him there as many times a day as you can and just give his ears a quick rub and then he gets a yummy (low carb) treat.Most cats aren't objecting so much with the poking..it's the fooling with their ears they don't like, but once they're desensitized to it and learn to associate a certain place with the treats, they usually start to come when they're called! Or even when they hear us opening the test kit!

You also have to remember...you're not poking him to hurt him...you're testing him to keep him safe and understand what's going on inside his body. There's just nothing better than truly understanding what's going on inside your kitty's body and with this disease, the more knowledge you have, the more power you have against it. The edges of the ears have very few pain receptors, so it really doesn't hurt them. Also, if you're nervous and tense, it's going to make your kitty nervous and tense too. As silly as it might seem, try singing! It forces you to use a different part of your brain!

It's also important to make sure his ear is warm.A small sock filled with a little rice and microwaved or a small pill bottle filled with warm water (check temp against your wrist like you would a baby bottle) works well

For new kitties, using a heavier gauge lancet is also really helpful.A 25-28 gauge lancet pokes a bigger "hole" than a 31-33 gauge lancet does, so look for "Alternate Site testing" lancets that are usually a lower number

Finding the right "treat" will be a great help too!Freeze dried chicken, bonito flakes, little pieces of baked chicken...whatever low carb treat you can find that he really enjoys will help him to associate the testing with the treat! China's Achilles heel was baked chicken, so I'd bake a piece, chop it into bite sized pieces, put some in the refrigerator and freeze the rest to use as needed. It didn't take long for her to come any time I picked up the meter!
 
Does he get a special treat after every test? That's really important....something he really loves and doesn't get any other time!

Here's something I wrote up for others for testing...maybe it'll help you too!

It can be really helpful to establish a routine with testing.Pick one spot that you want your "testing spot" to be (I like the kitchen counter because it's got good light and it's at a good height....it also already blocked 2 escape routes due to the wall and the backsplash) It can be anywhere though...a rug on the floor, a table, a particular spot on the couch...wherever is good for you.

Take him there as many times a day as you can and just give his ears a quick rub and then he gets a yummy (low carb) treat.Most cats aren't objecting so much with the poking..it's the fooling with their ears they don't like, but once they're desensitized to it and learn to associate a certain place with the treats, they usually start to come when they're called! Or even when they hear us opening the test kit!

You also have to remember...you're not poking him to hurt him...you're testing him to keep him safe and understand what's going on inside his body. There's just nothing better than truly understanding what's going on inside your kitty's body and with this disease, the more knowledge you have, the more power you have against it. The edges of the ears have very few pain receptors, so it really doesn't hurt them. Also, if you're nervous and tense, it's going to make your kitty nervous and tense too. As silly as it might seem, try singing! It forces you to use a different part of your brain!

It's also important to make sure his ear is warm.A small sock filled with a little rice and microwaved or a small pill bottle filled with warm water (check temp against your wrist like you would a baby bottle) works well

For new kitties, using a heavier gauge lancet is also really helpful.A 25-28 gauge lancet pokes a bigger "hole" than a 31-33 gauge lancet does, so look for "Alternate Site testing" lancets that are usually a lower number

Finding the right "treat" will be a great help too!Freeze dried chicken, bonito flakes, little pieces of baked chicken...whatever low carb treat you can find that he really enjoys will help him to associate the testing with the treat! China's Achilles heel was baked chicken, so I'd bake a piece, chop it into bite sized pieces, put some in the refrigerator and freeze the rest to use as needed. It didn't take long for her to come any time I picked up the meter!


We tried giving him some "regular" treats both times and he didn't want them. He just wanted to get out of the bathroom. I am going to get something else to try tomorrow. Thanks for all the above tips!
 
Hi and welcome.

Congratulations on beginning to test at home. It is the best way to keep Merlin safe. Chris gave you some excellent tips to help. Here are some more tips for new testers: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/hometesting-links-and-tips.287/.

The best treats for diabetic cats are bits of freeze dried meat. Most cats love the chicken. We call it kitty krack! You can get them in most pet stores.


I notice you mentioned you are shooting at 9:00 am and 10:00 pm. Is there any way you can do 9 and 9 or 10 and 10? A Lantus cycle is twelve hours, and when you shoot after just 11 hours, it's like giving a dose increase.

Now that you are testing, it would be great if you can set up a spreadsheet to keep track of your numbers. It will not only help you, but it will help anyone here that wants to make suggestions, etc. Here are the instructions. Be sure to choose the appropriate template for the kind of meter you use - pet or human. If you have any trouble with it, Chris is a whiz at setting them up.

Here is a post we put together to help new members get comfortable with the site. It includes some of the links I just gave you, and more. http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/updated-tips-for-new-members.173572/

Be sure to read the stickies at the top of the L&L page. There's an overwhelming amount of info there. Ask lots of questions - we love to help!
 
I feed Mav a small amount of wet food to distract him while I check his blood sugar.
This is Jennifer from Facebook. I’m glad you made it over here!
 
I feed Mav a small amount of wet food to distract him while I check his blood sugar.
This is Jennifer from Facebook. I’m glad you made it over here!

Yeah, I am going to get some canned tuna today, he might like a bite of that during testing.
 
Hi and welcome.

Congratulations on beginning to test at home. It is the best way to keep Merlin safe. Chris gave you some excellent tips to help. Here are some more tips for new testers: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/hometesting-links-and-tips.287/.

The best treats for diabetic cats are bits of freeze dried meat. Most cats love the chicken. We call it kitty krack! You can get them in most pet stores.


I notice you mentioned you are shooting at 9:00 am and 10:00 pm. Is there any way you can do 9 and 9 or 10 and 10? A Lantus cycle is twelve hours, and when you shoot after just 11 hours, it's like giving a dose increase.

Now that you are testing, it would be great if you can set up a spreadsheet to keep track of your numbers. It will not only help you, but it will help anyone here that wants to make suggestions, etc. Here are the instructions. Be sure to choose the appropriate template for the kind of meter you use - pet or human. If you have any trouble with it, Chris is a whiz at setting them up.

Here is a post we put together to help new members get comfortable with the site. It includes some of the links I just gave you, and more. http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/updated-tips-for-new-members.173572/

Be sure to read the stickies at the top of the L&L page. There's an overwhelming amount of info there. Ask lots of questions - we love to help!

Hi Tricia,

The treats we normally use are grain free...not sure about carbs, I will have to check. But I will look at the freeze dried treats.

I normally shoot 9am and 9pm. Today I had to do it at 10am. I intend to try to do exactly 12 hours but I am sure there will be times it's not perfect.

I have a spreadsheet on my computer I use already for my other cat's meds but will check out the one you mentioned to possible do a seperate spreadsheet just for him. I will check out all the other info too. Thanks!!!
 
So I skipped Merlin's shot last night and tested his BG at 9am this morning and it was 124.

I called the vet office to find out what to do...same dose, lower dose, or no dose. Waiting to hear back from them.
 
Yay! I would expect no dose, then reduced dose if he is consistently high again. I am soooo glad you are testing. 3 units twice a day would have had your cat in a bad hypoglycemia situation.
 
Yay! I would expect no dose, then reduced dose if he is consistently high again. I am soooo glad you are testing. 3 units twice a day would have had your cat in a bad hypoglycemia situation.

Yeah, I finally heard back from the vet office and they were really happy with his numbers. They said if his BG was over 175 to give him 1 unit and if it was less than 175 not to give him the shot. So I guess that is the plan for now and he has an appointment back with the vet on Monday for a recheck.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top