? Merlin AMPS 57, +2 57, +5 127 Crazy BG; Help with PMPS Shot Dose; On PreSurgery Antibiotics

Steve & Merlin

Member Since 2019
See previous thread for background: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...-pmps-307-bg-going-crazy.217970/#post-2422285

I will have the full new blood panel Monday and will enter it into Merlin's spreadsheet.

The consensus is the antibiotics working and the abscessed tooth are causing his having a nadir at his AM shot time. I gave no shot and he has been cruising low, but slowly rising.

My question is: What key points do I need to consider in deciding what dose to give tonight? If he is 200 - 300, do I still give 1.5 units, or do I reduce the dose given the events of the last 24 hours? If I reduce, what should I consider in determining the amount? What if his BG is above 300 or below 200? What should I consider in determining his dose? I'm supposed to keep him hydrated and his BG steady for the tooth surgery Tuesday.

FYI
His AMPS is at 11 and his surgery is at 8:30 so he will have his AM dose at the vet's after the surgery. She expects it to take no more than 45 minutes. I plan on staying with him and testing him and giving him the appropriate dose. Hopefully, at his regular time, but I will give it early if a high BG warrants it. The vet plans on keeping him on a fluid drip all day to make sure he is well flushed and stable before he comes home. A anesthetic that is not metabolized by the kidneys will be used.
 
Bump. You might want to add "on AB with upcoming surgery" or something to your title to get more eyes. How long until PMPS?
 
I think the green you saw this morning is the result of bounce clearing from the red yesterday morning. Sometimes when they zoom down from a big bounce they can come down fast and have a nadir at an unusual time. He'll probably keep going up today from the skipped shot and the natural rise from the bounce clearing. Unless he does change things up and comes back down tonight, I'd shoot his normal dose as long as you can monitor.
 
Back
Top