Mercedes 2/23 BG High

Status
Not open for further replies.

danielle

Member Since 2015
Well my kitty's BG is super high again? 7:45am BG 428 1 unit lantus 1/2 can fancy feast Classic 1 Zobaline pill
9:45am BG 539???
He's been back and forth from the litter box to the water bowl all morning? What am I doing wrong? Extremely frustrated!
 
Hi and welcome to LL. Have you started a spreadsheet yet? If we can see what is happening each cycle it will be much easier to help you. Was lantus started the day you joined the FDMB? Can you give us numbers since starting? Which type of meter are you using? Sorry to ask so many questions but the info is needed to help you.

I just went back and found your intro. One of my cats had worms that I didn't discover until I had her for several months. I don't recall how long as she would be 17 now if still here. Max, my fd cat came home to me the same day as she did and never got them or was treated for them. Tiffany got two treatments and never had another problem again and Max never got them. I know others have treated all their animals when one has them though.

Okay, now I see that you just started lantus. It is going to take some time for the depot to build up to see changes in the BG. We dose based on the nadir, the mid point often but not always in each cycle. Can you get tests at different times of the day? The nadir for most cats on lantus is between 5 and 7 hours after insulin is injected. That number will help see how he is responding. When lantus starts working cats often go lower than they are used to and then bounce high by the time for the next injection. When you get a chance I suggest you read the sticky on how lantus works. You will hold the dose for at least 3-5 days unless your cat drops under 50 and earns a reduction.
This takes a lot of patience. You will soon see results though.
 
Last edited:
Thank u so much. Lantus was started yesterday. I am using the relion meter and I am checking every two hours today to see what's going on.
 
Good job. I didn't get up the nerve to start testing until two months had gone by. Any data you get is great although when starting in the higher numbers you probably don't need to test every two hours. It's not that you shouldn't if you want to but it will take some time usually to build the depot. With Max the lantus usually kicks in at +3 but every cat is different. If I need to leave I get a test earlier than +2.5 or if he starts lower than usual or acts super hungry. It will take awhile for you to get a feel for what is going on and when to test. I always try and get the nadir which for Max is usually at +6-7 but sometimes at +4-5. Of course just when I think I have him figured out he changes things up to keep me guessing. Hence the nickname Mr. Unpredictable.
 
Welcome aboard! Elise has covered a lot of info for you already. It is fabulous that you are testing!! Diabetes does definitely have a steep learning curve, and the whole process is a marathon, not a sprint. As others have often said here, your kitty didn't become diabetic over night, so gaining control won't happen over night, either. But between starting insulin AND testing, you are well on your way!

The spreadsheet Elise mentioned will be an incredibly helpful too, for you and for those helping you.

All of this seems overwhelming, but we're here to help you - with both technical and emotional support, so please keep posting questions!!
 
Welcome to Lantus Land! You've definitely come to the right place for help with Mercedes' diabetes. The spread sheet would definitely be a useful tool to have, not only for yourself, but for those that want to take a look at Mercedes' #s. They'll be able to determine if an increase or a decrease is needed if you're unsure about it, and you asked, and you'll be able to have a history of how she's doing with every little thing you do for her (ie. food amounts, food schedule changes, insulin amounts, etc.) Keep up the excellent work, and again, welcome! :D
 
Hi there! It is fantastic that you actually joined this site prior to starting insulin. I went two full months before I found this site and it wasn't until I came here that saw improvements in Sami's number. So you are definitely in the right place. I can tell you that there is a lot of information to absorb, don't try to do it all at once. When I first found the site I was spending 5-6 hours a day reading information and Condos. If you have the time for it then okay, but don't overwhelm yourself, I did and it stressed me out sometimes. Learn what you can and rely on the experts here for advice on dosing.

What are you currently feeding Mercedes? When Sami was first diagnosed she was on an all DRY diet and I found out after coming here that WET is the way to go. There are links to the food charts that will help you decide which brands and flavors to use. Try and stay under 10% carbs. I give Sami 4% and 5% and use 8-12% for medium carb food if she has a low number, under 50. Then there are High Carb foods that can also be used if Mercedes isn't coming up with Low Carb or Medium Carb.

Again there is a lot of information and you might have to read it more than once, but everyone here will help as much as possible.
 
Just want to add my welcome to you and Mercedes!

Lantus works by building up in the body and sort-of slow releasing. It's a great insulin and you'll see results, but they typically aren't instant. Here are the guidelines for the first few days on Lantus:

"General" Guidelines:
  • Hold the initial starting dose for 5 - 7 days (10 - 14 consecutive cycles) unless the numbers tell you otherwise. Kitties experiencing high flat curves or prone to ketones may want to increase the starting dose after 3 days (6 consecutive cycles).
  • Each subsequent dose is held for a minimum of 3 days (6 consecutive cycles) unless kitty earns a reduction (See: Reducing the dose...).
  • Adjustments to dose are based on nadirs with only some consideration given to preshot numbers.
Keep posting and we'll give you a hand understanding what you're seeing. It's a bit overwhelming at first, so lean on us and we'll help you through it. We've all been in your shoes and people here are great about helping teach new members what they need to know.

For now, hang in there. You've found the right spot to get help. :bighug:

Here's two important things to start with:
How to draw up the insulin dose - video about halfway down the page - it's expensive enough you want to take care of it
How Lantus works in the body

If you need help with getting your spreadsheet set up, just ask. People can give you a hand. It's an essential tool for us. If you're having trouble with testing, just say so. People have tons of tricks that work for various cats.
 
Oh goodness I am just reading this now. I haven't been able to log on all week. Mercedes sugars have been very high. This morning was in the 500's so I increased his lantus to 1 1/2 units. Now I'm really worried that was to much considering I just started him on this Sunday at one Unit?? What should I do for tmw just stick to the 1 1/2 unit or go back down?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top