Melville update

Status
Not open for further replies.

ericbakes

Member Since 2011
Hello, everyone. I just wanted to give a quick update on Melville.

I don't want to jinx it, but for the first time in several weeks, Melville seems to be heading towards regulation. After consistently higher pre-shot numbers and some really wonky curves, I decided to try increasing his dose above 2.5. Since doing so, I've only had one PS number in the pink. The rest have been in the blues and yellows. I recorded a green number for the first time in nearly a month last night. His curves seem more regular now. He still spikes into pink and red immediately after eating, but after that, it's a long, slow drop into the low blues. His nadir has been consistently at +7 or +8. After that, it's a short climb up into the high blues and yellows, just in time for his next shot.

The best run he had was after receiving two consecutive doses over 2.6. I put 2.7 and 2.75 in the chart, but I was still using U40 syringes at the time, so that's an estimate. At this dose, he had nice, low PS numbers, and his +1 and +2 were also low. However, I didn't feel comfortable shooting 2.75 into a 157, so I backed off. Looking back on it, I think he would have been fine at 2.75. In the four cycles following that, his PS number have been creeping up again, which indicates to me that he is not getting quite enough insulin.

I was surprised at first to see 75 at +8 last night, especially since he had a little extra food before bed. However, thinking back on it, I he was particularly active yesterday evening. We had company over (cat lovers, fortunately!) and Melville decided to show off. He insisted that we bring out the laser pointer for the guests, so we complied. Melville spent a lot of time running and jumping, which, as I understand it, can lower blood glucose.

Tonight, I backed off a smidge once again. I'm not entirely sure why I did this. After all, he's been fine with 2.6, and I'm tempted to try 2.7 again. For some reason, though, 2.5 just felt "right." In reality, an increase or decrease of 1/10 unit probably won't make much of a difference. At this level, that's only 3.8%. When you get down to regularly dosing half a unit, 1/10 is a lot (20%). It would be interesting to see if there is a standard percent increase required to cause a measurable change in BG.

Anyway, that's all I have for tonight. I've been enjoying reading everyone else's posts for a while, even though I've been somewhat absent. Thanks again to everyone here for providing much-needed support.
 
Can't argue with success. We were all thinking lower but you are getting some interesting numbers on the higher dose. You are being pretty aggressive on the lower end - just be sure you are around to test. Glad things are looking up!
 
Who knows, Sue. Tomorrow we might find out that he's in an extended rebound and that I should have lowered to 1.25. I do want everyone here to know that I weighed your advice very, very carefully. In fact, that's why I left him at 2.0 for so long, even though I wasn't seeing results. I actually wanted to decrease, because that would mean (in my mind, at least) that Melville's pancreas isn't in as bad of shape as I thought. Plus, I think the advice I received was well founded. It's clear that several cats benefitted from an insulin reduction.

The thing that ultimately changed my mind was this article. There were a few clues that led me to increase, specifically the following:

  1. His nadir was consistently above 150
  2. His midpoint was consistently above 250
  3. HIs peak was 5-8 hours long

All three of these factors led me to a higher dosage. Again, we may find out that I'm wrong, but so far, so good. It was definitely a risk to increase, but I had data that indicated he would be OK on 2.5. I don't think I would recommend to anyone else that they do what I did. Start low, go slow. Do as I say, not as I do. :)

One other change that I made just recently is that I am now feeding the cats twice a day. They seem to be getting used to it, and it certainly makes my job easier.
 
Also glad that you seemed to crack the 'puzzle'. Sounds like you are getting some good results. Gutsy move but seems like it is paying off!
 
The best-laid plans of mice and men, often go awry...
He certainly gives you a run for your money. :lol: Be a good boy Melville!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top