melville 1/23 AMPS 349

Status
Not open for further replies.

ericbakes

Member Since 2011
AMPS 349 (2 units, fed 50g)
+2 431 (50g)
+6 372
+7 276
+10 330
+12 253 (2 units, 50g)

Not sure if this will be helpful to anyone but me, but I'm trying to get into the habit of thinking of BG levels as a range (+/- 20%). Here are those numbers:

AMPS 279-418 (2 units, fed 50g)
+2 344-517 (50g)
+6 297-446
+6 220-331
+10 218-327
+12 202-303 (2 units, 50g)

Couple of observations.

Now that I'm controlling his diet a bit more strictly, I have noticed an occasional late afternoon dip in his BC. It's not much, and when you account for variance, it might not be anything at all. However, it's happened a couple of times, so I just want to make a mental note of it.

Also? He's continuing his trend of being more or less flat after his AM shot, and a bit more curvy after his PM shot. I suppose sleeping around all day might do that to you. :)

I'm considering adjusting his dose, but I'm not sure which way. Logic tells me I should raise it 1/10 unit. What do you folks thing? I plan on making a call to my vet tomorrow and making a suggestion.

Thanks again for everyone's support. I feel so fortunate to have found this group.

Eric
 
There are several things about Melville that confuse me, Eric.

Have you figured out the am jump? Sometimes it is pretty high. Today it was 100 points. Yesterday 10. Any difference you can find? Do you feed him after the shot and then again at +2? Wonder if a no carb food at +2 would make any difference?

And his pm preshot. By 12, he is getting a long duration, not heading back up. It is almost as though the insulin doesn't start to work until +6. I wonder if there are other variables we are missing? He varies so much from cycle to cycle on the same dose.
 
Sue,

First, welcome back! Hope you had a good trip!

I feed him 50 grams with the shot, and 50 grams 2-3 hours later (depending on our schedule and his interest in food). At night, I feed him an extra 10 grams, which brings him up to 20 cal/lb/day. So: AMPS, 50g. +2, 50g. PMPS, 50g. +2, 60g. I feed him Purina DM canned, so it's pretty low-carb to begin with. My goal is to move him towards 2 feedings per day, but this is as close as I can get right now without an all-out mutiny.

I've ruled out a lot of variables including snitching Friskie's, snitching "people food," fur shots (I always check diligently), and ambient temperature (We usually let it get very cool during the day, sometimes down to 55 degrees. However, we've had a warm snap lately, so it's been a steady 62 the last few days).

I wonder...

Do you think we might be seeing a rebound in disguise? Let's say the am shot lasts well into the evening PS. I shoot anyway, causing a late drop at 4 or 5am, then a bounce at +12 or +13. Rinse and repeat.

I keep looking at that 1.25 units a couple weeks ago... can't get that out of my head, because it seemed to *work.* However, when I tried it again last week, Melville sustained high BG.
 
FWIW, and I know I'm by no means any kind of expert, but I think you're right. The 2u seems to make his numbers stagger then drop...not really curve...then a staggering rise during the next cycle to rinse and repeat. I think it would be good to see what 1.75u does on a few cycles, see if it softens to a nicer curve.

Will be interesting to see which ever way you go. :smile:
 
I think a couple things might be worth trying.

Lower the dose for a few cycles. Sometimes long duration does mean too much insulin -- though his pattern is unusual.

Purina DM wet is 7% carbs. Feeding him a 0-5% carb food at that +2 mark might help lower that morning jump. It seems if the insulin didn't have to work so hard to come down from the am bump, his numbers might even out? I am assuming the food causes that jump and I may be off base. It may just be his pattern, but it isn't consistent.

Do you vary where you shoot?
 
Hi Eric,
I mentioned this in Tater's thread a minute ago, but you might want to contact Sev and ask him for some input on the "BG rising the first two hours after the shot" thing. Sev's Kitty did that a lot, and maybe Sev can help by offer some advice?

My goal is to move him towards 2 feedings per day, but this is as close as I can get right now without an all-out mutiny.

Any particular reason for cutting back to just feeding at shot time? Several small meals helps spread the sugar boost more evenly during a cycle, and sometimes you can manipulate the curve to some extent by using food.

It doesn't happen often, and like you said it could just be meter variance, but the times where his BG seems to climb to +10, and then drop to +12 are sort of weird. I know that happens occasionally with Lantus, and they call it a "double dip", but I am not sure why it happens, or if anyone else has seen it with PZI or Prozinc.

I keep looking at that 1.25 units a couple weeks ago... can't get that out of my head, because it seemed to *work.* However, when I tried it again last week, Melville sustained high BG.

Not sure if you gave it a long enough try.... it looks like on the night of the 17th, you got an okay curve, but then the day of the 18th you saw high a flatter.... might give it a few cycle trial?

Carl

Carl
 
Yes, we try to shoot on either side of his back, but never his scruff. We don't have a particular spot we go for or anything, though.

Strange. Low AMPS again this morning.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top