Carla and Squirrel
Member Since 2017
Hello fellow FD caregivers,
Sorry in advance for the long post.
Squirrel is my 10 year old male orange tabby with a serious love of bread. He was diagnosed on December 26, 2016 and is unregulated. He was originally started on Novolin N and his dose was increased to 4 units twice a day by February. We had blood work done in December and everything looked good minus his BG and Spec fPL which was 7.4. I was not home testing at the time.
I had already switched him over to low carb canned.
The weekend of March 25th he stopped eating and drinking and became very lethargic. We had more blood work and a new Spec fPL done. Slightly anemic, high BG, and a Spec fPL of 23.2. I bought the Relion Micro and began home testing. After a few rocky days of subcutaneous fluids, hand feeding chicken, and adding on buprenorphine and cerenia his appetite recovered. We switched to Vetsulin and have been struggling to find a dose that will work for him. I've been trying to find low carb, low phosphorus, low residue food that he will eat but his appetite after the first flare was ravenous. He even gained a little weight for the first time in months. He had a few off days and symptoms of a UTI so we did two rounds of antibiotics and even did a steroid shot for the pancreatic inflammation. My vet has suggested an ultrasound and listens to me and is willing to try other blood work panels to try and figure out what else he may have going on but she is leaning toward cancer. Unfortunately money is tight and I'm not sure which tests I can afford that would be the most beneficial.
Two days ago his appetite started waning again. Now we appear to be back in a pancreas flare. The comments in my SS detail my observations and his BG test results are up to date. I found the vetsulin board and read through all the stickies and studies on pancreatitis I could find. We are going back to the vet in the morning for fluids and Cerenia and Covenia shots. I'm hoping to find an injectable emetic as I am unable to pill him when he is off food. I adore my vet and know she is trying to help him but he just doesn't seem to be responding. This is my first post but I've been actively reading the boards since March and love this community.
I'd appreciate any pointers, feedback, and opinions at this point. I'm also curious as to whether there are any vets who specialize in feline diabetes in the Dallas area.
Worried mom,
Carla
Sorry in advance for the long post.
Squirrel is my 10 year old male orange tabby with a serious love of bread. He was diagnosed on December 26, 2016 and is unregulated. He was originally started on Novolin N and his dose was increased to 4 units twice a day by February. We had blood work done in December and everything looked good minus his BG and Spec fPL which was 7.4. I was not home testing at the time.
The weekend of March 25th he stopped eating and drinking and became very lethargic. We had more blood work and a new Spec fPL done. Slightly anemic, high BG, and a Spec fPL of 23.2. I bought the Relion Micro and began home testing. After a few rocky days of subcutaneous fluids, hand feeding chicken, and adding on buprenorphine and cerenia his appetite recovered. We switched to Vetsulin and have been struggling to find a dose that will work for him. I've been trying to find low carb, low phosphorus, low residue food that he will eat but his appetite after the first flare was ravenous. He even gained a little weight for the first time in months. He had a few off days and symptoms of a UTI so we did two rounds of antibiotics and even did a steroid shot for the pancreatic inflammation. My vet has suggested an ultrasound and listens to me and is willing to try other blood work panels to try and figure out what else he may have going on but she is leaning toward cancer. Unfortunately money is tight and I'm not sure which tests I can afford that would be the most beneficial.
Two days ago his appetite started waning again. Now we appear to be back in a pancreas flare. The comments in my SS detail my observations and his BG test results are up to date. I found the vetsulin board and read through all the stickies and studies on pancreatitis I could find. We are going back to the vet in the morning for fluids and Cerenia and Covenia shots. I'm hoping to find an injectable emetic as I am unable to pill him when he is off food. I adore my vet and know she is trying to help him but he just doesn't seem to be responding. This is my first post but I've been actively reading the boards since March and love this community.
I'd appreciate any pointers, feedback, and opinions at this point. I'm also curious as to whether there are any vets who specialize in feline diabetes in the Dallas area.
Worried mom,
Carla
Lots of information, knowledgeable and supportive members too!