? MED QUESTION 08/01/18 Squallie AMPS 81, +4/78, PMPS 92, +4/76

Status
Not open for further replies.

Squalliesmom

Member Since 2015
Yesterday

Squallie ate some breakfast! Yay! Still no poop, though. He is going into the LBs and making all the right moves but no product. His vet believes the stoppage is moving, albeit slowly, and hopefully he'll poop it out within the next 24-or-so hours. If not, we'll try another med to help with peristalsis. I am also scheduling him for an ultrasound regarding the lump in his colon, the obvious concern being that he may have some type of intestinal cancer. I'm praying he does not!

Beyond all the clinical stuff, he is much more himself today, bright-eyed and cheerful. :)
 
To me, his eating breakfast shows that poo is soon to come !!! Hope you got good sleep , Lucy :bighug: And prayers for no more complications of ANY kind ❤️
 
To me, his eating breakfast shows that poo is soon to come !!! Hope you got good sleep , Lucy :bighug: And prayers for no more complications of ANY kind ❤️
That's our thought, too, now just hoping Squallie is on the same page! :bighug:❤️:bighug:
I finally got a nap in around 6:30, and of course, overslept by half-an-hour! :facepalm:
 
Yesterday

Squallie ate some breakfast! Yay! Still no poop, though. He is going into the LBs and making all the right moves but no product. His vet believes the stoppage is moving, albeit slowly, and hopefully he'll poop it out within the next 24-or-so hours. If not, we'll try another med to help with peristalsis. I am also scheduling him for an ultrasound regarding the lump in his colon, the obvious concern being that he may have some type of intestinal cancer. I'm praying he does not!

Beyond all the clinical stuff, he is much more himself today, bright-eyed and cheerful. :)
Good to hear! Did the vet not give you any cisapride too? That is for motility.
 
The dentist (we'll call him Dr. R for ease of differentiating between the two vets) called this morning to see how Squallie was doing. When I told him what our regular vet (DR. H) had found, that little spot that looks like a tiny piece of bone trying to work it's way out, he just completely ruled it out, without even a consideration! He basically told me, "No, it's not. I'm going to call Dr. H about it." Okay...be my guest! The dentist isn't going to convince my vet that he didn't see what he so clearly saw, and showed to me! Dr. R also questioned my management of Squall's diabetes; said he'd talked to one of their vets who deals with diabetic patients and that my human meter readings are actually at least 20 points lower that they register! o_O I don't want to get into an argument with the dentist and some unnamed vet over Squallie's diabetes treatment. He is doing very well and I'm not changing anything. (I knew right from the beginning that Squall's numbers bothered him)
 
The dentist (we'll call him Dr. R for ease of differentiating between the two vets) called this morning to see how Squallie was doing. When I told him what our regular vet (DR. H) had found, that little spot that looks like a tiny piece of bone trying to work it's way out, he just completely ruled it out, without even a consideration! He basically told me, "No, it's not. I'm going to call Dr. H about it." Okay...be my guest! The dentist isn't going to convince my vet that he didn't see what he so clearly saw, and showed to me! Dr. R also questioned my management of Squall's diabetes; said he'd talked to one of their vets who deals with diabetic patients and that my human meter readings are actually at least 20 points lower that they register! o_O I don't want to get into an argument with the dentist and some unnamed vet over Squallie's diabetes treatment. He is doing very well and I'm not changing anything. (I knew right from the beginning that Squall's numbers bothered him)
:rolleyes::rolleyes:

You are doing good by Squallie. :bighug:
 
Wow - that must be some wad he has there. Please deposit it today, Squallie. I admire you for keeping your cool with that dentist - what's his issue with the blood glucose numbers? That they are too low for his comfort? Hopefully, the corner has been turned and good times are a comin'
 
Lucy, in the past when our little girl kitty Chloe was constipated , I would gently massage her lower belly and/or scratch her back to hopefully help things move along ....not sure if it helped but I would get desperate :woot: :banghead: A pox upon constipation :mad:
 
The dentist (we'll call him Dr. R for ease of differentiating between the two vets) called this morning to see how Squallie was doing. When I told him what our regular vet (DR. H) had found, that little spot that looks like a tiny piece of bone trying to work it's way out, he just completely ruled it out, without even a consideration! He basically told me, "No, it's not. I'm going to call Dr. H about it." Okay...be my guest! The dentist isn't going to convince my vet that he didn't see what he so clearly saw, and showed to me! Dr. R also questioned my management of Squall's diabetes; said he'd talked to one of their vets who deals with diabetic patients and that my human meter readings are actually at least 20 points lower that they register! o_O I don't want to get into an argument with the dentist and some unnamed vet over Squallie's diabetes treatment. He is doing very well and I'm not changing anything. (I knew right from the beginning that Squall's numbers bothered him)
Hey, Dr R, stick to dentistry, dude :eek:
 
Wow - that must be some wad he has there. Please deposit it today, Squallie. I admire you for keeping your cool with that dentist - what's his issue with the blood glucose numbers? That they are too low for his comfort? Hopefully, the corner has been turned and good times are a comin'
Yes, it really is! He had other stoppage, as well, that has already gone. The mother lode is still there.

Yes, I was really pretty irritated with the dentist! In the first place, he doesn't deal with diabetes on a regular basis, and if he wanted to discuss concerns he may have about it, I'd rather he broached them with my vet, rather than someone who doesn't know or treat Squallie! I appreciate his worry about my cat, but I don't think he went about it the right way. And I don't know where his colleague gets the "20 points lower" idea...I did tell him I was aware that there could be a 20% variance with ANY meter...No, that wasn't what he was talking about. :facepalm::rolleyes::arghh:
 
Lucy, in the past when our little girl kitty Chloe was constipated , I would gently massage her lower belly and/or scratch her back to hopefully help things move along ....not sure if it helped but I would get desperate :woot: :banghead: A pox upon constipation :mad:
Agreed! A pox, indeed! :mad:
 
And I don't know where his colleague gets the "20 points lower" idea...I did tell him I was aware that there could be a 20% variance with ANY meter...No, that wasn't what he was talking about.
Could he mean the approximately 20 points that we account for with this: 50 on human meter, 68 on AlphaTrak? Maybe the diabetes vet understood this and was trying to explain to the dentist that he needs to add about 20 points to your numbers if he wants to think about them in a way he's accustomed to.

Squallie! Our family is all so excited that you're feeline better! And you're going to keep getting even better from now on! More purrs for you, your momma, and your co-cat(s)!
Purr-purr-purr,
Felix
 
Olive's dentist never commented n her diabetes. Now the IM that did her ab us said she was on to much insulin. This was when she was on lantus, before acro dx she just hit 5.75 or 6 and in 300-400 consistently. I know not to see him about it.
 
Last edited:
Still no poop. He's eaten maybe half of a normal day's amount of food. I had a terrible time getting his appy meds in him, probably only got half down. I am not anticipating his eating well at dinner. :( He is not happy with me. He sits facing away from me and won't purr at all. I think his stomach hurts, as well as his mouth. I am starting to feel a little bit of despair.

ETA: I think his vet is pretty sure the US will find cancer; he's already trying to prepare me for it.
 
Still no poop. He's eaten maybe half of a normal day's amount of food. I had a terrible time getting his appy meds in him, probably only got half down. I am not anticipating his eating well at dinner. :( He is not happy with me. He sits facing away from me and won't purr at all. I think his stomach hurts, as well as his mouth. I am starting to feel a little bit of despair.

ETA: I think his vet is pretty sure the US will find cancer; he's already trying to prepare me for it.
I guess I missed your post about an ultrasound. When is it scheduled? Don't go the cancer thoughts yet.
 
Totally agree with Sandi on not going there , Lucy:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug: Squallie needs your focus on right now and not some maybe . Prayers for Squallie’s strength and cleansing poo and for you, dear Lucy, that your heart be hugged with peace as you and Squallie make it through this together :bighug:❤️:bighug:❤️:bighug::bighug:
 
Totally agree with Sandi on not going there , Lucy:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug: Squallie needs your focus on right now and not some maybe . Prayers for Squallie’s strength and cleansing poo and for you, dear Lucy, that your heart be hugged with peace as you and Squallie make it through this together :bighug:❤️:bighug:❤️:bighug::bighug:
Thank you, Beth. :bighug:❤️
 
Has anybody used Canna-Pet? Do you know if it is safe to give with bupe?
Not Canna pet but x-strength Canna companion. I give it with pain meds.

Posting the obligatory smiling poo. It has worked in the past for other kitties that need to do the doo.

poo.jpg
 
Has anybody used Canna-Pet? Do you know if it is safe to give with bupe?
My civvie Catherine takes Canna-Pet, and I think it has helped her quite a bit with chronic pain. She's very cow-hocked, and her back and hips bother her--but not nearly so much as they used to since she's been on the Canna-Pet. I don't know its effect on acute pain, and I don't know how it reacts with bupe nor how it affects motility issues. I also haven't compared brands.
 
I think that @Stacy & Asia uses cana. She’s been very busy lately, but maybe will see this and reply to your question.
I so agree with the others. Do not think the worst. Think instead of how amazing Squallie is, and how much he just needs to get through the present challenge and feel himself again. Let him rest and recover.
We are sending beautiful vines for your boy to feel lots better soon.
Hugs and scritches
 
I haven’t used canna pet, but use canna companion extra strength with bupe. It really does help with pain, I found I had to lower the bupe dose by 25% when I added the canna. If you go to canna companion’s website, you can get a free consultation from a vet or a vet tech and they can discuss with you all of your concerns. I think it’s very safe and the side effects (if any) are mild, like sleepiness. I hope Squallie is feeling more comfortable soon. :bighug:
 
Still no poop, still not eating, and he's fighting me over syringe feeding him, now. His appy stimulant isn't helping at all. Tomorrow I should be getting a shipment of YA, which I do think he'll eat, but I am afraid the dry food will just be more constipating! I have been force-feeding the a/d and the liver shake, both of which he hates, and I'm afraid all I'm doing is making him more uncomfortable, since he hasn't pooped. But he can't go without food, either, so I don't know what to do! The vet doesn't think any more enemas will help, says the blockage is now soft and "squishy"; but nothing is moving through his system. He's not meatloafing, and he can still run and jump when I'm trying to catch him and he doesn't want me to, so I can't really determine his level of discomfort.

ETA: I haven't given him any bupe because I'm afraid it may be constipating and/or reduce his appetite even further. :(
 
Last edited:
but I am afraid the dry food will just be more constipating!
Maybe not. But if you are really concerned - dissolve a bit of miralax in a bit of water and syringe it after he eats (I actually use an eye-dropper type med dispenser (vs. syringe type) - I feel I have better control. The syringes seem to shoot the whole lot at once but the eye-dropper type I can drizzle in a bit of time.

The "bulk" (fiber) may help move things along too.

Gizmo had the opposite with soft/loose poos after starting YA. And again with this new bag.

Are you giving anything for nausea?

:bighug::bighug:
 
Hi, Lucy, I’m just catching up...Good that the poop is squishy but alas that it’s not moving along....and that Squallie giving you a hard time with assist feeding.

A couple of thoughts that are long shots but are gentle/gradual and might help with peristalsis....
1. Plain kefir can help soothe gi and, at least with Spunky lately, seems to help move things along. It’s probiotic properties can help, too.
2. ACV. Either a drop or two in his water dish (if he’s drinking water on his own)
or:
Dilute a few drops of ACV (apple cider vinegar) in water...enough water (start with say 1/8- 1/4 cup water add more water if needed) so that it barely smells of vinegar (my nose tells me that when the dilution barely whiffs of vinegar and smells more like sweet than vinegary, that’s a good mild dilution). Orally dose 1-2 cc 1-2x several hours apart. You want the ACV to be very dilute bc straight up is too acidic and can be irritating rather than soothing.
Or:
Add a drop or two of ACV and add to fud that has enough water added to it to be like a pudding or slurry texture.

❤️
 
My civvie, Allen, is chronically constipated. I give a bit of miralax in each meal. I've been giving 1.5ml lactulose twice a day. And he gets one cisapride each day. And if he doesn't go in 48 hours, I give him 2 drops of Pilocarpine. It's a drug for human eye conditions but when given orally to a cat it helps with motility.
 
I am sorry you are still having a problem. Whispy had a bout with a massive amount of hair in his system a couple of weeks ago -- vet was honestly concerned that we might have to do surgery after feeling it and looking at his xray. There just wasn't anything that we could do to get him to eat while he was plugged up. I think that they just inherently feel/know that they don't want to pack anything more in until they can empty out? Just a guess on my part.

That doesn't help, I know, but gosh I hope something moves soon. Chasing him around might not be a bad thing either, I do wonder if movement (I hesitate to call it "exercise" in a cat, but sure...) or exercise might help. Can you get him to chase around after a laser toy or something on a string?
 
Sending prayers , hugs and scritches , Lucy ❤️ Maybe make this day simple , do only what he absolutely needs ...feed a few teaspoons , see if you can get him to move around , as Sandi suggested. I can’t help but imagine he is not just physically recovering but emotionally as well . Maybe play soft music , love on him so he will further relax . Praying that helps you too :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top