Re: HELP ... Meatball not eating/throwing up!
Of course when we got to the vet, Meatball was acting as if he was miraculously recovered ... that's the adrenaline right?
I had a very long conversation with the vet ... she was just as confused as the other about Meatball being so young as the other Drs have been. She reviewed his BG numbers and dosages and wants me to up the dose to 4u, which I told her I would do, but that seems like too much of a jump from 1.5, so I think I'm going to stick to the plan, and raise his dose a bit more slowly, but more aggressively that I've been doing. I'll up the dose every 2 days if the numbers are not lowering.
As you may know, I was really wanting to switch to Lantus, but she seemed adament about not doing that right now when he is so unstable, better to just get him into a more safe place before making that switch.
I was somewhat surprised that she did not actually DO anything. I went in there expecting at least a shot of fast-acting insulin and some fluids, but there was no insulin, and only fluids b/c I specifically asked for them.
I am going back today, as the vet called me after I left the clinic last night and wanted me to have him checked to make sure there was no infection in his body left over from the UTI he had last summer. Apparently that can make a cat difficult to regulate - at this point I would never be so happy to hear that Meatball has an infection, at least it would answer some questions.
So, when we got home last night Meatball was definitely feeling better. He ate some food, and drank a bunch of water, even though he had just gotten the fluids. His PMPS 550... though this was at 11:00pm last night, and I usually take a reading at 8:00pm. He ate this morning as well, his BG is still high, 506, even after the 2u last night...
Thanks again for all of your support!
should I do a curve today?