If you are using an AT meter, then you have missed reductions and I would reduce his dose tonight.
The numbers Chris gave you above are for those using a human glucometer. From the
Tight Regulation Protocol:
Therefore, if using a meter calibrated for feline use (eg. AlphaTRAK, Abbott Laboratories, CA, USA), or a serum chemistry analyzer, add approximately 30 mg/dL (1.7 mmol/L) to the target glucose concentrations (see Table 3B). For example, a target > 50 mg/dL (2.8 mmol/L) becomes > 80 mg/dL (4.4 mmo/L) when using a meter calibrated for feline use. Instead of aiming for 50-100mg/dL (2.8-5.6 mmol/L) , aim for 80-130 mg/dL (4.4-7.2 mmol/L [round numbers 4.5-7.0 mmol/L).
When using an AT, reductions are given when a newly diagnosed kitty's BG goes below 80 which Meatball has done four times on this dose.
I think the issue here is understanding that Lantus is dosed very differently than PZI. We don't dose on PS numbers; we dose primarily on nadirs.
The high numbers you are seeing are because Meatball is bouncing. When most of our kitties are dx, numbers have been high for a bit and so the body has acclimated to those numbers as normal. When the insulin starts to bring the numbers down lower (they don't even have to be really low) or there is a sudden drop in BG, the liver responds by releasing counterregulatory hormones and glucagon and the BG goes up. We call this a bounce. It is normal and every cat does it. A bounce from lower numbers or quick drops can take up to 72 hours or six cycles to clear. You do not want to increase a dose based on bounce numbers. Ignore the bounces and focus on the nadir when the bounce clears.
The other thing that concerns me is that Meatball can go from pink to green in four hours as he did on 7/24. We suggest you always get a +2 test as often as you can because it will give you a hint if numbers are likely to come down or go up. If the +2 is about the same or less than the preshot, you should be prepared for numbers to come down and should get additional tests. By not getting a +2 or before bed test every night, you are missing half your data and Meatball could be going low at night.
A 61 on an AT is an extremely low number. I strongly encourage you to reduce his dose to 1.75u tonight and let him clear the bounce that will probably follow today's numbers. You can always ask us for dosing help. We are pretty experienced and can help you keep him safe using the TR protocol.
I also recommend you read the Stickys at the top of this forum...especially the one regarding the insulin depot. It explains how Lantus and Levemir work differently than insulins like PZI.
Please let us know if you have questions.