Measuring smaller doses of insulin

Status
Not open for further replies.

JackieP

Member Since 2021
I have decided to switch to the SLGS route since I am also currently changing my kitty to a low carb diet. We are only a week into being prescribed 1u of prozinc by the vet but I’m finding that more often than not, I’ll need to measure 0.25 or 0.5… The U-40 syringes I got from the vet only have whole unit markers so the best I can do is eyeball the dose…. Is there a different type of syringe I should be using for these small doses?
 
Can you go to your spreadsheet and put SLGS thete up top
We use syringes with half unit markings
You can order these
https://www.adwdiabetes.com/product/18553/ulticare-u40-pet-29g-3-10cc-1-2in-half-unit

Easier to eyeball the smaller doses
Most vets don't carry them
You will probably need a script from your vet
Call ADW and they will contact your vet, ask your vet for plenty of refills, then you can just go on the ADW site and refill them. Create an account with them
Give your vet a heads up that they will be contacting her

Can you get a few test in at night, you're only seeing half the picture
adw-coupon-dia10.jpg

10% off your next order!
 
Last edited:
You can get U40 syringes with ½ unint marking. That is as fine as you can get both U100 and U40 syringes.
You can use U100 syringes. if you draw up a U40 insulin to the i1/ mark on a U100 syringe that is 0.2 units of the U40 insulin
 
Your previous thread
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...-amps-108-2-62-3-65-4-79.255350/#post-2876040

@JackieP Jackie if you tap on the blue link above please re read what @Chris & China (GA)
suggested when you get a low pre test :cat:

If you ever need help you can tag
@JanetNJ
She is a Prozinc user to take a look at your SS we realize you are only a week into it
but it's important to get some tests in during the night cycle to see how it's working
In regards to stalling you mean? I would have done that this morning but I was leaving for work shortly, I’ll reread SLGS, maybe I misunderstood the instructions but I think I would have been worried giving him a shot @125 and not being there to monitor

I’ll definitely start trying to get some night data…
Sorry. I’m a bit overwhelmed and trying to absorb all this info quickly
 
If you are going to use the U100 syringes for the Prozinc insulin, you will need the conversion chart to make sure you don’t make a mistake in the dosing.
IF YOU ARE UNSURE WHAT TO DO PLEASE ASK.
upload_2021-11-14_14-18-58.jpeg
 

Attachments

  • upload_2021-11-14_14-18-58.jpeg
    upload_2021-11-14_14-18-58.jpeg
    115.4 KB · Views: 172
n regards to stalling you mean? I would have done that this morning but I was leaving for work shortly, I’ll reread SLGS, maybe I misunderstood the instructions but I think I would have been worried giving him a shot @125 and not being there to monitor

I’ll definitely start trying to get some night data…
Sorry. I’m a bit overwhelmed and trying to absorb all this info quickly

No since you were leaving for work I would have skipped also s nice you couldn't monitor him .
I would get the U-40 syringes with the half unit markings, until then just eyeball like you have been doing
Nothing to be sorry about , we were all overwhelmed in the beginning.
Just keep asking questions

One thing I notice on your spreadsheet you feed a lot of seafood, we recommend not feeding that everyday because of mercury in it
Once and awhile is ok
I would stuck with the Fancy Feast Pates

I did a search on our site and this better explains it
We recommend limiting fish flavors to once or twice a week due to several reasons. One is due to the heavy metal contamination found in a lot of fish these days, mercury being just one of them. Also, fish flavors are higher in phosphorus because a lot of bones end up ground up into cat food and bones are high in minerals. High phosphorus is harder on the kidneys. The last reason is because it can become "addictive" where the cat won't eat anything else. Fish isn't really supposed to be a normal part of any cat's diet. Few feline species include fish as a food source at all (although a few wild cats might snag a fish out of a river or pond now and then but more because it's something that's moving and triggers the hunting instinct than for actual food value)
 
Last edited:
@JanetNJ
Hi Janet would you mind taking a look at post #4 and #5
She couldn't stall this morning because she had to leave for work
She's following SLGS , since her cat dropped below 90 on 11-11 would she still reduce when she's able ton shoot a high enough pre shot?
Thank you
 
No since you were leaving for work I would have skipped also s nice you couldn't monitor him .
I would get the U-40 syringes with the half unit markings, until then just eyeball like you have been doing
Nothing to be sorry about , we were all overwhelmed in the beginning.
Just keep asking questions

One thing I notice on your spreadsheet you feed a lot of seafood, we recommend not feeding that everyday because of mercury in it
Once and awhile is ok
I would stuck with the Fancy Feast Pates

I did a search on our site and this better explains it
We recommend limiting fish flavors to once or twice a week due to several reasons. One is due to the heavy metal contamination found in a lot of fish these days, mercury being just one of them. Also, fish flavors are higher in phosphorus because a lot of bones end up ground up into cat food and bones are high in minerals. High phosphorus is harder on the kidneys. The last reason is because it can become "addictive" where the cat won't eat anything else. Fish isn't really supposed to be a normal part of any cat's diet. Few feline species include fish as a food source at all (although a few wild cats might snag a fish out of a river or pond now and then but more because it's something that's moving and triggers the hunting instinct than for actual food value)

I’m definitely going to try to wean him off the seafood then!! The last thing I wanna do is give him a kidney problem on top of all this!! He was a dry food addict before this so I’ve been buying all different types of cans to try to make sure I can offer something he won’t turn his nose up at
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top