Meadow's AMPS 185 +4 41...PMPS 200

Status
Not open for further replies.

Meadow

Member Since 2010
Good Morning LL peeps and kitties!

Hope you are all having a good morning so far. It's still very hot and humid here, but should be cooling off the rest of the week. Aside from the humidity causing Meadow some grief with her asthma, she is feeling great. She's been eating very well, is perky and being quite the affection monger of late....more so than she usually is. My head got kicked off the pillow last night because the princess wanted it all to herself. ;)

So her PMPS last night was 204 and her AMPS this morning was 185. No idea what her bg's were through the night and although I had intentions of getting up during the night to test her, I must have just shut the alarm and went back to sleep. So we decided to up her insulin a smidge more and go to 1.25u for this mornings dose. Let's see where her numbers take her today. Hoping for smooth sailing! :)

Yesterdays condo: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=18432
 
Re: Meadow's AMPS 185....increasing dose this morning

Good morning! I am so glad that there is someone else out there that has a kitty that is a pillow stealer. No wonder I wake up with these neck aches - darn kitty manages to get me totally pushed off the pillow by morning.. :lol: and been there with the alarm thing - I just can't seem to get up once it goes off in the middle of the night... bad me. :?

Good luck with the dose change! Hope it gets Meadow to where you both want to be.
 
Re: Meadow's AMPS 185....increasing dose this morning

Well at +2 she is down to 103. I have to tell you, I get a bit nervous when she drops so fast. It usually means she's setting up for a bounce. I gave her 1/2 can FF to hopefully level her off. Fingers crossed that she doesn't bounce this time and we have blue sailing today!

Meadow said:
we decided to up her insulin a smidge more and go to 1.25u for this mornings dose. Let's see where her numbers take her today. Hoping for smooth sailing! :)

Yesterdays condo: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=18432
 
Re: Meadow's AMPS 185....increasing dose this morning

Looks like Meadow is on the right track for lower numbers. Good luck with the dosecrease, Dottie.

Ella & Stu
 
Re: Meadow's AMPS 185 +4 41...I'm panicking again!

AMPS 185 increased to 1.25u (had normal breakfast of one can FF)
+2.. 103 (ate 1/2 can FF)
+4.. 41 (ate a small serving of friskies with gravy food)
+ 4hr 45min...43

Is there anything I can do to keep her from bouncing?? I panicked at the 41.....so I gave her some friskies gravy food....it seems it is bad for her to get this low since every time she dips this low, she rebounds. Just checked her again at 45 mins after the last recheck and it's up to 43. I have to leave the house for about 2 hrs at 12:45, so I will recheck her one more time before I leave.

Keep your fingers crossed she doesn't bounce!
 
Re: Meadow's AMPS 185 +4 41...I'm panicking again!

no panicking, I would suggest thou you do your re-test's every 15 to 30 minutes thou next time she drops into the 40's.

What a drop thou! :mrgreen:

dont feed too much, little snacks is good, the gravy is good.,, you did great!



No bouncing Meadow!!
 
Re: Meadow's AMPS 185 +4 41...I'm panicking again!

I'd give Meadow more HC. She's a new diabetic and has earned her dose reduction. You want her surfing above the 40s. If you are leaving the house, make sure she has plenty of food -- depending on where the numbers are, MC or HC would be good.

Bouncing is a normal function and part of liver training school (LTS). It's the body's way of protecting against low numbers. At this point, Meadow's liver has forgotten what low numbers are like so it's taking protective measures. As she spends more time in these numbers, the bouncing will get less and less.
 
Re: Meadow's AMPS 185 +4 41...I'm panicking again!

So Sienne, are you saying that even if her bg is going up now, I should feed her a little more HC before I leave the house??
 
Re: Meadow's AMPS 185 +4 41...I'm panicking again!

Let's see the next test numbers. I am thinking that you should be sure to leave some MC or HC since it's before nadir.
 
Re: Meadow's AMPS 185 +4 41...I'm panicking again!

I guess that increase in dose this morning wasn't needed?
you going back down to 1u now?
 
Re: Meadow's AMPS 185 +4 41...I'm panicking again!

Okay, she's back up to 75 at +45 mins from last reading. I feel a little better now. Have to leave the house in 10 mins. :(

Thanks for the advice, Sienne!
 
Re: Meadow's AMPS 185 +4 41...I'm panicking again!

I would leave a bunch of MC and LC food out. (If you don't have MC, just mix some HC and LC.) That should keep Meadow surfing. And, you get to reduce your dose for tonight's shot unless there's a bounce, but we'll deal with that later.
 
Re: Meadow's AMPS 185 +4 41...I'm panicking again!

Okay Sienne. Thanks a bunch. I have to get going, but will check in again as soon as I get back.
 
Re: Meadow's AMPS 185 +4 41...I'm panicking again!

Gayle, not sure what to do now. Guess we can see what happens throughout the rest of the day.
 
Re: Meadow's AMPS 185 +4 41...I'm panicking again!

leave lots of food out. it's easier to deal with returning home to a high number than a low one.
 
Re: Meadow's AMPS 185 +4 41...I'm panicking again!

Okay, here we are at +8 and she is at 147. Looks like she is inching up slowly. That's good right? She's been getting a small amount of food almost every 2 hours. Anxious to see what her PMPS # is.

So, what do you all think....should I stick it out with the 1.25u or go back to the smidge above 1? I will be out of the house a lot tomorrow so can't monitor as well as today. And I don't seem to be real good with the overnights.
 
Re: Meadow's AMPS 185 +4 41...I'm panicking again!

You have a choice. The formal version of the protocol was revised several months ago. It now requires that a cat drop below 50 three times to earn a dose reduction. The alternative is the modified protocol which does not require three drops.

What I would recommend is that if Meadow bounces into the pinks at PMPS, shoot the 1.25. If you want to drop the dose, you can do so in the morning.
 
Re: Meadow's AMPS 185 +4 41...I'm panicking again!

You know, sometimes I hate choices. :? ;-)
We're at the +10 hour and she is 157. Let's see what the PMPS is and I guess I'll make a decision then. If she is around the same level as her AMPS (185), I would be a little apprehensive in giving her the 1.25 for fear she would drop below 50 in the middle of the night and I wouldn't know it. I have 6 other cats here and no way to segregate Meadow, so leaving food out isn't an option for me. Let me ponder this some more and see what 7pm brings. Thanks so much for your input.


Sienne and Gabby said:
You have a choice. The formal version of the protocol was revised several months ago. It now requires that a cat drop below 50 three times to earn a dose reduction. The alternative is the modified protocol which does not require three drops.

What I would recommend is that if Meadow bounces into the pinks at PMPS, shoot the 1.25. If you want to drop the dose, you can do so in the morning.
 
Re: Meadow's AMPS 185 +4 41...I'm panicking again!

If you get a blue or a yellow number at PMPS, if it were me, I'd shoot the reduced dose. If there's a bounce, shooting the old dose through the bounce helps the numbers. Otherwise, I agree -- shoot the earned dose reduction on a lower pre-shot number.
 
PMPS was 200. I chose to shoot the smidge over 1u because of my fear of her falling too low over night. Aside from the 41, I'd say she had a really good number day. :) And she was very happy to have had so much to eat all day long....especially the HC kitty crack stuff! :lol:
Hoping for an AMPS tomorrow morning at or near the same as today....with no bouncing!
 
Very educational reading here today. I learn so much and feel like I'm right there with you Dottie! All nervous and can't wait to read the next post to see what to do.

Good work today!
 
So now I am thinking that maybe I should have stuck with the 1.25 instead of going back to the 1u plus a smidge. Her post PM shot at +2 was 269 and +4 it's 241. Hopefully it will continue to drop some more and then level off in the 100's. But I won't know what happens overnight. Geez, in my younger days I could have stayed up all night monitoring her. :YMSIGH:
Oh well, she just had her cooked chicken bedtime snack and is washing herself preparing for bed. I-) And I'm off too so she can throw me off my pillow again. cat_pet_icon :-D
We'll see what tomorrow's AMPS brings. Nitey nite LL friends!


myla said:
Very educational reading here today. I learn so much and feel like I'm right there with you Dottie! All nervous and can't wait to read the next post to see what to do.

Good work today!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top