Me and Buddy needs advice. Am 430 +3 398 + 6 412

Steve and Buddy

Member Since 2019
Im in need for advice. Buddy lost most of his appetite the last couple days. With little food on board yesterday he got a half dose. Today am ate very little. So he only shot one third. Stool today is soft. And he's being a couch potato. Buddy has a few hours before shot time. Looking for advice in advice. Buddy says Thanks
 
A housekeeping note: We link the previous day's thread to the current day. It makes it easy to backtrack for information vs searching the entire board. Here's Buddy's thread from yesterday.

Given that Buddy has been in high numbers, I would strongly urge you to get some Ketostix. The basic "recipe" for ketones is not enough insulin + not enough calories + an infection/inflammation. You shot a reduced dose, his appetite is off, and it sounds like there may be something GI going on plus it sounds like he's lethargic. I'd get a ketone test.

If the ketones are trace or under, I'd see about a vet appointment -- or if a vet is open, get him in even if it's precautionary.

As an aside, I think you're holding Buddy's doses for too long. It doesn't look like you've decided which dosing method you want to use. Even with the less aggressive approach, Start Low Go Slow, you hold the dose for a week, do a curve, and if needed, increase. You've been at the 3.0u dose for 2 weeks. In addition, I'd encourage you to get some spot checks during both the AM and PM cycles (and definitely a before bed test every night). Lantus dosing is based on the nadir -- the lowest number in the cycle. You have very limited data so it makes dosing decisions difficult if not impossible. With no PM tests, you're missing half of your data.
 
Last edited:
Steve, I strongly urge you to do what Sienne said and test Buddy for Ketones as soon as possible. Have a look at what Dan is going through with his Luna kitty. We don't want you and Buddy in the same situation. Dan and Luna
:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
I do test for ketone. I post results in comment section on SS. All test been negative. He's been nibbling a bit . the reason I've reduced his dose the last couple days. With little food on board. I'm I doing the right thing?
 
Can you get a ketone test today? I may be worrying unnecessarily but I'd rather know all is well than feel like I let you down by not pushing on the ketone issue if something is amiss.

I completely understand your reasoning.
 
That's great to hear you're testing for ketones and they're negative!! Also great that Buddy has started to eat a bit. Sorry I can't help with dosing questions but I'm sure Sienne will be back soon.
 
Back
Top