Mazi's Mom
Member Since 2024
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/5-4-24-mazi-amps-305-5-88-pmps-149-4-188.289619/
Previous posts
So I made a mistake this morning and I feel awful! I think all the stress since Mazi's diagnosis and me preparing to start a new career, and late night studying is starting to burn me out.
This morning I woke up and checked Mazi's AMPS which was 188. I gave him his breakfast and while waiting for him to eat his food I fell back asleep. So Mazi did not get his AM insulin injection. I feel terrible.
I woke up 3.5 hours later and immediately checked Mazi's BG. His BG was 141.
I obviously don't want to switch up his normal schedule, so I held his dose of insulin and will plan on getting back on schedule tonight.
I plan on doing sporadic BG checks during the day just to document his response to the missed AM dose.
I'm still new to this and I'm assuming Mazis blood sugar was lower than his AM preshot BG and after eating when I finally woke up because of the Lantus Depot (spare tank/reserve). Meaning his numbers are not elevated because his body is using the stored (spare tank/reserve) insulin to keep his glucose from becoming elevated.
1st Question: Am I correct in guessing that his sugar isn't elevated due to the depot (spare tank/reserve) being used at the moment?
2nd Question: Should I expect his blood sugars to be elevated the next couple days while his body fills up the Lantus depot (spare tank/reserve)?
3rd Question: How long can I expect the next cycles to be elevated while the depot fills up?
4th Question: I'm also thinking I may have given a fur shot last night on 5/4. Reason why I'm thinking that is because I tried a new area to give the injection. His PMPS was 149 and his +4 BG was 188. In the past he has usually had a decrease in BG by +4...I always feel the fur after injection and the fur was dry. Any thoughts?
Thank you in advance for your feedback!
Theresa & Mr. Mazi
Previous posts
So I made a mistake this morning and I feel awful! I think all the stress since Mazi's diagnosis and me preparing to start a new career, and late night studying is starting to burn me out.
This morning I woke up and checked Mazi's AMPS which was 188. I gave him his breakfast and while waiting for him to eat his food I fell back asleep. So Mazi did not get his AM insulin injection. I feel terrible.
I woke up 3.5 hours later and immediately checked Mazi's BG. His BG was 141.
I obviously don't want to switch up his normal schedule, so I held his dose of insulin and will plan on getting back on schedule tonight.
I plan on doing sporadic BG checks during the day just to document his response to the missed AM dose.
I'm still new to this and I'm assuming Mazis blood sugar was lower than his AM preshot BG and after eating when I finally woke up because of the Lantus Depot (spare tank/reserve). Meaning his numbers are not elevated because his body is using the stored (spare tank/reserve) insulin to keep his glucose from becoming elevated.
1st Question: Am I correct in guessing that his sugar isn't elevated due to the depot (spare tank/reserve) being used at the moment?
2nd Question: Should I expect his blood sugars to be elevated the next couple days while his body fills up the Lantus depot (spare tank/reserve)?
3rd Question: How long can I expect the next cycles to be elevated while the depot fills up?
4th Question: I'm also thinking I may have given a fur shot last night on 5/4. Reason why I'm thinking that is because I tried a new area to give the injection. His PMPS was 149 and his +4 BG was 188. In the past he has usually had a decrease in BG by +4...I always feel the fur after injection and the fur was dry. Any thoughts?
Thank you in advance for your feedback!
Theresa & Mr. Mazi
Last edited:
You aren't the first nor the last to miss a shot due to sleep, losing track of whether shot was done, etc. Could you put either "skip" or "NS" for no shot in the spreadsheet for units and a comment in the Remarks so people will stop asking why you didn't shoot.