maybe low sugar levels

Status
Not open for further replies.

jupiter_waltz

Member Since 2012
Hi Guys

My Sabrina is twitching a lot about 3 hours after her insulin shot. Is this a sign of low sugar, she has never done this before.

Thanks Brad
 
Read the How to treat HYPOS at the top. I haven't had any experience with it yet. Hope someone answers you soon.
 
jupiter_waltz said:
Hi Guys

My Sabrina is twitching a lot about 3 hours after her insulin shot. Is this a sign of low sugar, she has never done this before.

Thanks Brad


What insulin did you give and how much?

Are you testing blood glucose levels at home? Blood glucose testing can prevent hypos so please consider doing this if you aren't already testing. You don't need the vet's permission to test.

Twitching can be a sign of hypo. Please read this for hypo treatment: http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=28&t=15887 Do you have honey or corn syrup or pancake syrup to give?

Is there any way you can take the cat to the vet right now?
 
Brad, what is the situation now?

Yes, could well be a hypo seizure.

Have you been able to give your cat any honey or syrup?

Please update us.
 
Have copied hypo info below this message.

Brad, if you cannot administer syrup orally (if Sabrina becomes unconscious) you can administer it rectally. Just so you know....

If her symptoms are severe then try to administer syrup and then get Sabrina to a vet.

I'm going to stay close to the computer and keep a look out for more messages from you. Please update us when you can.

- - - - -


SYMPTOMS
Some cats may have NO symptoms whatsoever, but here are the most common ones:

MILD HYPOGLYCEMIA
Sudden ravenous hunger
Shivering
Weak or lethargic

MODERATE HYPOGLYCEMIA
Disorientation
Trouble with vision... bumps into furniture
Poor coordination, such as staggering, walking in circles or acting drunk
Changes in head or neck movements
Restlessness
Urgent meowing
Behavioral changes, such as aggressiveness

SEVERE HYPOGLYCEMIA
Convulsions or seizures
Unconsciousness


TREATMENT

During treatment for hypoglycemia, try to test every 15 minutes until you see the bgs begin to rise. Then continue to test until you are satisfied that the cat is out of danger.

VERY LOW NUMBERS – WITHOUT SYMPTOMS
Retest glucose using a large blood sample to make certain you have enough blood, and if you still get a very low number (under 40 mg/dL or 1.9 – 2.2 mmol/L) administer a tablespoon of corn syrup, liquid glucose, pancake syrup or honey, or INSTA-GLUCOSE and follow with food until the blood glucose numbers rise to acceptable levels. The syrup can be mixed with wet food or poured over dry if the cat will eat the mixture. If using liquid glucose, dilute with water for a thinner consistency.

LOW NUMBERS – WITHOUT SYMPTOMS
Retest glucose using a large blood sample to make certain you have enough blood, and if you still get a low number (40 – 60mg/dL or 2.2 – 3.3mmol/L) give food or treats until the blood glucose numbers rise to an acceptable level. If the cat refuses to eat even his/her favorite foods, you can syringe feed or administer a small amount of syrup.

LOW NUMBERS – MILD SYMPTOMS
Try feeding first or give a little syrup or honey followed by food until the blood glucose numbers rise to an acceptable level and the symptoms disappear. The syrup can be mixed with wet food or poured over dry if the cat will eat the mixture. If the cat will not eat, syringe feed. If your cat will eat dry, feed this first as the high carbs will help to increase his/her bgs quickly. You can then follow with his/her favorite canned food. Keep in mind that giving syrup (Karo, etc.) or honey is not enough because the effects wear off quickly. You need to follow with food.
IF IN ANY DOUBT, TELEPHONE YOUR VETERINARIAN.

LOW NUMBERS – MODERATE SYMPTOMS
Give a tablespoon of syrup, a teaspoon of liquid glucose, a tablespoon of honey or a tablespoon of sugar syrup followed by food and continue doing so until you see the blood glucose numbers rise to an acceptable level and all symptoms disappear. The syrup, honey, or glucose can be rubbed against the inside of the cat’s cheeks or on the gums for quick absorption. You can also mix the syrup with wet food or pour over dry if the cat will eat it. Continue to give syrup and food as needed and observe your cat for signs of recurring hypoglycemia. Keep in mind that giving syrup (Karo, etc.) or honey is not enough because the effects wear off quickly. You need to follow with food.
IF IN ANY DOUBT, TELEPHONE YOUR VETERINARIAN.

LOW NUMBERS – SEVERE SYMPTOMS
Rub syrup, honey, or glucose on the gums and cheeks if your cat will allow it. Another option for administering syrup, diluted liquid glucose, honey or sugar syrup to a cat who is seizuring is to fill a needleless syringe with the mixture and insert via the rectum.
NEVER TRY TO SQUIRT SYRUP, HONEY, OR GLUCOSE TO A CAT WHO IS SEIZURING AS THE CAT COULD CHOKE ON IT! RUSH TO EMERGENCY
.

AGAIN! ANYTIME YOU CAT IS SEIZURING OR LIMP, RUB KARO, GLUCOSE OR HONEY ONLY ON GUMS OR ADMINISTER RECTALLY AND GET TO EMERGENCY OR YOUR NEAREST CLINIC IMMEDIATELY!!!

Remember that syrup or any other sugared syrup/preparation will spike the blood glucose ONLY for a short period of time, so food is really important with mild and moderate symptoms. Dry food (high carbohydrates) will keep the blood glucose numbers elevated longer, so it’s a better food to give during a hypoglycemic episode.

After a hypoglycemic episode cats may be more sensitive to insulin, so a reduction in dosage is generally required, especially considering too much insulin – whether due to dosage, inadequate food intake, or the cat’s changing insulin requirements – caused the hypoglycemic event in the first place. With moderate to severe episodes, your Vet may have you skip the next injection altogether.
IT IS VERY IMPORTANT THAT YOU DISCUSS YOUR CAT’S HYPOGLYCEMIC EVENT WITH YOUR VET, SO TOGETHER YOU CAN DECIDE UPON THE NEXT COURSE OF ACTION.

Always keep in mind that with low blood glucose and no symptoms, the BG you get is not as important as where it is headed. In other words, if you get a BG of 100 mg/dL or 5.6 mmol/L or less and there are still several hours or more before the insulin peaks, your need to watch your cat (and the numbers) carefully and take appropriate steps. With very low numbers and NO SYMPTOMS, a cat can be fine one moment and seizuring the next.

BE PREPARED! KNOW THE SYMPTOMS AND KNOW THE TREATMENT!
 
Hi guys and girls of course.

Sorry for the delay, I just spent like 20 mins typing a reply and it has apparently gone into the ethos. Time I could of spent with Sabrina ;-(
We gave her food and honey which she probably didn’t need because she was able to eat. She seems fine now.
We decided to lock her out of our home today because it is so hot in Townsville and put her bowls and water outside. I’m thinking maybe some neighbors’ cat ate Sabrina’s brekky. When I came home this arvy she was meowing her head off for food but our vet has told us that we can only give her two meals a day when she has her insulin. This breaks my heart because she has always been a grazer.
I gave Sabrina her dinner and insulin but a few hours afterwards she started flitching. I think her insulin dose is too strong. I have taken her in for two curves and only at the last moment they lowered her dose to 1 unit of lantus in the morning and 1.5 in the afternoon.

The vet who did save her from ketosis has told me she will be right for the next 3 to 6 months without a blood test, very dubious.
Okay Sqeem I know I’m going to be in trouble with not doing the home testing, maybe I will now. Can someone just tell me the best glucometer to use from personal experience.
At least Sabrina is purring away now on my lap and very content, not sure about this two meals a day vet recommendation. I know some people here don’t abide by that. I’m thinking your cat knows best.

Thanks Brad
 
Well, thank goodness for that! Phew!

So, Sabrina was given the shot 7 hours ago? Is that right? If so it's likely that she will have passed the insulin peak and be OK now...

This episode, if it was a hypo (it seems so but we can't be certain of course without BG readings) will probably have made Sabrina even more sensitive to insulin, so you may be wise to skip the next shot; and also to consider a further dose reduction.

Brad - you know what I'm going to say: You've got to start hometesting ASAP, mate! For Sabrina's sake! You were lucky this time....

As to the best meter. Different folks have their favourites. I really like the Lifescan 'One Touch' meters. Have used them for nearly 6 years and think they're great. Others will have their own recommendations. But the main thing is - go out and buy a meter!!!! Sabrina needs you to do this....

PS. Many of us here free feed our diabetic cats. I certainly do, and I find that Bert's BGs stay more stable that way. The main thing, with regard to food and insulin, is just to make sure that your cat has food on board when she has her shot. You don't want to give her a shot and then find that she doesn't want to eat... I give Bert his shot while he's eating. Some folks wait a little while after feeding to make sure their cat doesn't throw up (if they're the puking type!)
 
Thanks Elizabeth,

Yeah I know I was bad not doing the home testing but the Vet told me their better being the bad guys than me. Obviously though 3 to 6 months is a long absence of blood tests. So how often do I have to test her sugar levels, please don't tell me twice a day with her insulin. I'm still getting over never being able to go on a holiday or sleep in. I know I sound selfish, sorry.

Brad
 
jupiter_waltz said:
Thanks Elizabeth,

Yeah I know I was bad not doing the home testing but the Vet told me their better being the bad guys than me. Obviously though 3 to 6 months is a long absence of blood tests. So how often do I have to test her sugar levels, please don't tell me twice a day with her insulin. I'm still getting over never being able to go on a holiday or sleep in. I know I sound selfish, sorry.

Brad


Brad, you're not going to be the "bad guy", you're going to be the really, really "good guy". You get to be the handsome hero in this story! :-D

And yes, I'm sorry, but if you want Sabrina to be safer then you need to test her at least twice a day, and especially BEFORE giving insulin...

I think you're expecting hometesting to be hard. But it may not be hard at all for you. You won't know unless you try.

I thought my cat would be impossible to test, but people here persuaded me. And he is absolutely fine with it. Testing takes me about 30 seconds. What's more, I have lost count of the times when testing Bert's BG has saved him from a hypo episode. And let's be absolutely clear about this - hypo can cause brain damage or even death. Both of those things have happened to cats on this forum...

I'm going to find a couple of links for you and post back here later.
 
OK, Brad,

Here's a link to some great hometesting pics and info. I learned to test from this page and with a little help from our chums here at FDMB:
http://www.sugarpet.net/bloodtst.html

And here's a page explaining some of the reasons why hometesting matters:
http://www.sugarpet.net/reasons.html

You know, it could be that Sabrina is trying to tell you that she's thinking of going into remission (becoming diet-controlled and no longer needing insulin (either temporarily or permanently)). But if you're not hometesting you won't know.... And just think, if you monitor her BG's and can get her into remission then you get to go on holiday again....and sleep in....Zzzzzz...... ;-)
 
Elizabeth and Bertie said:
[
Brad, you're not going to be the "bad guy", you're going to be the really, really "good guy". You get to be the handsome hero in this story! :-D

And yes, I'm sorry, but if you want Sabrina to be safer then you need to test her at least twice a day...

.

Yes. Sometimes it's a little rough while you're getting started, but cats like routine. Once it's a routine, and the kitty knows to expect scritches and praise right after, almost all become very cooperative.

Most of us who have been doing this for a while, our cats jump up on the counter and wait to be tested. Sometimes they purr while you're poking their ears. cat_pet_icon It's not a big deal once you (and they) get used to it.
 
My vet told me that Beau would be "one pissed off cat" if I tried testing him at home - and that prevented me from even trying it for about 6 months. But I will tell you that once I learned to do it and had "control" over the situation - and KNEW what his blood sugar was any time I needed to - it was such a relief. And a huge money saver too.

I have introduced three cats to the testing process now, they are each different. Some take to it no problem, others actually are pissed off at first, but they all learned to accept it. Giving treats afterwards is the key. I use bites of boiled chicken.

And all my cats are free fed. That's how cats eat.

BTW, you might want to remove the candle from your first post. It's the sign of the loss your kitty.
 
Most diabetic cats do best with multiple small meals a day. Two strict meals times leaves them too hungry and bg levels are like a roller coaster ride: constant ups and downs. You can ignore the vet about the two meals a day.


jupiter_waltz said:
So how often do I have to test her sugar levels, please don't tell me twice a day with her insulin.

BEFORE giving the insulin. So twice a day every single day no matter what at the very minimum. Blindy giving insulin is dangerous, as you have just experienced with the twitching.

Give testing at least a try for a few weeks. Many cats here didn't like hometesting at first but with rewards and praise, they get used to it. Don't be wimp, either. Be firm and no-nonsense when going through the testing steps so your cat knows you mean business. We can give you tips on how to test.
 
Hi Brad, and welcome to FDMB! I don't usually venture off of the community board, as my diabetic has been gone for years, but I've made so many friends here I stick around - that's the kind of place this is! Anyway, I just wanted to toss in my 2 pence about the hometesting thing. Frankly, hometesting saved dB's life at least twice, probably more. It also helped me gauge his insulin needs while adjusting his diet, and allowed me to get him off insulin completely once he was diet-controlled. You will feel a whole lot more confident giving Sabrina her insulin when you know what's going on inside her body! And you will be more certain you are not going to kill her with an overdose. dB had two severe hypos, and I would not wish that on my worst enemy. He had seizures, and was temporarily blind. He recovered for the most part, but still had little twitches, all because I was too stubborn or stupid to hometest. It's such a simple and quick thing to do, it takes like 5 minutes, and it WILL save your cat's life. I'm so glad Sabrina is better. You can use this opportunity to help bring your vet up to speed on hometesting. Give your little sweetie a snuzzle from me!

Purrs,
Karen & dB in spirit
 
The vet who did save her from ketosis has told me she will be right for the next 3 to 6 months without a blood test, very dubious.

Do me a favor. Get in your car, go to this vet's office, and kick them in the shins for me. :evil: After cats experience extreme diabetic episodes in either direction hypo or hyper, DKA, they can be more sensitive to insulin. That is a period when testing should be MORE diligent. Especially preshot testing. Unless they have you stop giving insulin, there is no basis for believing testing would not be needed.

Then also go kick the vet who said you will be a "bad guy" for testing and the one who said you can't feed her more than 2X a day (diabetes leaves them STARVING, they need to eat more and just like people, more small meals a day keep BGs more level). If this is all the same vet, I hope his shin is sore.
 
Sheila & Beau & Jeddie (GA) said:
My vet told me that Beau would be "one pissed off cat" if I tried testing him at home - and that prevented me from even trying it for about 6 months. But I will tell you that once I learned to do it and had "control" over the situation - and KNEW what his blood sugar was any time I needed to - it was such a relief. And a huge money saver too.

I have introduced three cats to the testing process now, they are each different. Some take to it no problem, others actually are pissed off at first, but they all learned to accept it. Giving treats afterwards is the key. I use bites of boiled chicken.

Totally understand your worry about testing......I've got a newly diagnosed almost feral kitty that I've actually gotten to LIKE testing....she listens for the beep that the glucometer makes and associates it with the dried fish treat she's about to get! It's taken a week or so of hell, but we've gotten through it and now it's a dream. One week is worth the effort especially if it leads to remission where you don't have to give any insulin occurs!
Really nice stinky dried fish without any dextrose or sugar added (gotta make sure to check the ingredients list! here in the US they add sugar to EVERYTHING...sometimes disguised under other phrasings like dextrose or corn syrup etc. gotta be vigilant). I found it at the pet store.
 
Vets know something about a lot of different species; they rarely have time to focus in on just feline diabetes. And it is difficult to stay up to date on _everything_ ... which means they can be out of date quickly and that you may be more informed than the vet, because you are focusing on one topic - managing feline diabetes. If you are lucky, the vet will be open to reading veterinary articles to become updated. We can share those with you.

Its your cat.

You decide if you are going to test and how often. You'll find you want to keep your cat safe, so you'll do the best you can for your beloved companion.

You decide if you are going to adjust the dose based on a known, working, safe protocol for the insulin; you hold the syringe. And you may realize the vet is enough out of date that the protocol guidelines will be safer to follow than the vet's instructions.
 
as for home testing and vets...my vet told me i would be hurting my cat by testing and that feeding wet food should be reserved for treats only.

*sigh

anyway, i found this board and was advised to test at home immediately. paul-kyle was not handled very much before he was diagnosed and was a bit flighty...so i expectd this to be a really, really difficult procedure that would cause my cat alot of pain and me alot of time and effort.

i set about concocting a box wherein I could place him inside, cut a hole in the lid where his head would stick out but his body (and claws woud be safely tucked under the lid and keep him still while i tortured him.

ah, hem.... well, the very first time i went after him, he did scoot away because he was not accustomed to being handled, but as soon as i had him nabbed, he was putty in my hands. i placed him on the fllor between my knees, head pointing away so i had easy access to his ears.

i fed him some food while clicking the lancet pen in his ear without touching him, just to get him used to the noise.

he never tried to move or leave me, he just sat and ate the food i gave him, so while he was there i bent over top of him, pulled his ear back (didnt know about heating and rice socks and whatnot) and pricked his ear, squeezed for blood and voila! our first BG test at home. he never even flinched, just kept eating.

boy did i feel silly about that fancy box i made and all the worry and such...we have never done it any different- always tucked between knees on floor ( i put him on cardboard b/c he likes to dig his nails in!) and stick his ear, squeeze and test...no big deal, no pain, no fight, no struggle...

my paul-kyle is currently in remission (knockwood,antijinx) for the thrid time since dx in 2008. i hope it sticks this time, but if it doesn't i will know as i home test and have access to his BG level 24/7.

adversly, i would not have known he was ready for OTJ without homestesting and may have overdosed him or missed the opportunity to adjust the insulin as he progressed toward remission.

i know you can do it and i know you will! good luck...will be watching for post when you announce the first home test...hopefully it will go smoothly, but if it doesn't, don't give up! It gets easier the more you do it! :-)
 
Melissa&Paul-Kyle said:
i set about concocting a box wherein I could place him inside, cut a hole in the lid where his head would stick out but his body (and claws woud be safely tucked under the lid and keep him still while i tortured him.

There actually is a product :smile: It's called the Klaw Kontrol bag: http://www.klaw-kontrol.com/
 
Hi Guys

Sorry I have been so slow in coming back, been out of town for work and it was hard enough to get my wife to do the insulin shots whilst away. Anyway I'm glad I lowered Sabrina's dose to just one unit of Lantus before going. I just took her first reading after wasting 3 test strips because the unit timed out before I could get enough blood, but finally good, seems her right ear has better blood flow. Congrats to Sabrina, she didn't flinch one bit through the whole procedure.

Anyway I'm kind of thinking she might be in remission and lucky I'm testing because her levels seems low. These are the results. I'm using the Accua check compact plus. At 7 am this morning Sabrina had breakfast then 1 unit of Lantus. She was allowed to graze a little through out the day on ham snacks because she looked hungry. I did her first check at 6:30 pm before dinner and her level is 40, pretty low considering this is 12 hours after her intial shot and a bit of treats throughout the day. So I'm guessing I should not be giving her any insulin tonight. Just for a test, I did myself and I was 79 so I think the glucometer is working fine.

Any thoughts are most welcome

Thanks Brad
 
The general rule is to not shoot under 200 so definetly no shot thank heavens you checked :-D
 
Thanks Jen, I'll do another blood test at maybe 3 hours after a feed and see how she is going. The food would of kicked in by then and if it is still in a low range, maybe hopefully her pancreas has kicked in and working again. Is this right?

Thanks Brad
 
Okay Sabrina's test 3 hours after a really big feed, she recorded 95.

That's still pretty good isn't it. I don't think I should be giving her insulin for the present time.

Hope so, cross my paws ;-)

Brad
 
I may just be a worrywort, but please get a +4 or +5! If she gets lower than 40, she may go into hypoglycemia, which can kill quickly. (She may be fine, too, but there isn't a lot of test data)

She may appear to be OK; only a test will show if she is in danger while you have time to intervene
Do you have some high carb food, Karo syrup, or honey you can use? An oral syringe?

If she goes under 50, She may need a slight dose reduction, too, down to 0.75 units (which you have to eyeball).

Edited to add: And if she is under 200 at regular shot time, no insulin.
 
Hi thanks, but I reckon by those levels I should not be giving any insulin. I will test in the morning again after 12 hours without any insulin.
 
When is her regular shot time?

If now, then definitely no insulin.
If 9 or more hours, test to see how low she goes. Again, I may be cautious here, but better safe than sorry.

When using insulin, you want a dose that can be consistently ever 12 hours which does not take the cat lower than 50, ie no shot skipping. Because it appears you will need to skip and may be heading towards a hypo, the next time you give insulin, the dose may be reduced.
 
Hi Sabrina's normal insulin shots are 7am and 7pm.

We had a bit of a mix up this morning and Sabrina was fed before I got to check her blood glucose levels. Anyway I checked her levels 2 hours after her level was 148 then again at another 3 hours after this and her level were 98. I have not given her any insulin for 24 hours.

Should I give her a .5 unit at 7pm rather than her normal 1 unit or nothing at all, because her levels seem pretty good.

Thanks Brad.
 
We suggest new diabetics not shoot under 200. Levels between 40-120 without insulin are normal numbers. She is within those ranges. I would not give any insulin unless she is over 200 and then a reduced dose.
 
Just wanting to know, so If Sabrina has normal levels like 40 + plus before being fed then goes up to 148 after a feed and then back down to 98 a few hours later all with no insulin, is she in remission.

Can someone tell me the normal spike range for a non diabetic cat from before a feed and after a feed. Is it always constant or do they spike like Sabrina.

Basically what I'm asking is does a normal cat have the same BG level even after eating or do they rise and fall as well.
 
If she's always in normal range, and too low to shoot, it sure looks like remission to me.
If you get 2 weeks of AM glucose, mid-day glucose, and PM glucose within normal limits without using insulin, she"s officially diet-controlled and OTJ (off the juice)

See how today goes.
 
jupiter_waltz said:
Thanks Elizabeth,

.... I'm still getting over never being able to go on a holiday or sleep in. I know I sound selfish, sorry.

Brad

Hey Brad, I'm keeping fingers crossed that you may be able to sleep in soon. Or even go on holiday! Maybe this is Sabrina's Christmas gift to you! :lol:
 
Well don't think Sabrinas in remission, maybe just a honeymoon. I know my honeymoon didn't last too long.

I tested her just before dinner time and she was 144 this is after no meals for 12 hours so I gave her insulin at a reduced dose of .5 unit and 3 hours after her meal which use to be her peak time was 80. I'll test again in the morning maybe if she lets me. This glucose testing isn't working too well any more, I think she hates me now.
 
Hi Brad,

Don't lose hope. 144 (8 outside of US) is only a smidge out of the 'normal' BG range. Sabrina may well still be heading for remission. You would be wise to continue to withhold insulin for the present.

Are you just feeding her twice a day? You can help 'train' her pancreas to produce insulin (without overwhelming it) by feeding a number of small/snack-size meals throughout the day instead of a couple of large meals. This gives the pancreas some practice without giving it too much to do at any one time.

And what are you feeding Sabrina? I'm wondering if there is a lower carb food that you could try to help tweak those numbers down.

RE testing; are you rewarding Sabrina for each test? I'm sorry if she's acting like she hates you. Sometimes those cats just don't know what's good for them! :roll:

Edited to add; Yes BJM (below) is quite right. I mis-read your message and thought the 44 was at the peak of the cycle, I now see that it's 3 hours into the cycle? Is that right???

Edited to include this from the FAQ's:
"Q4.4. My cat's pre-shot level was way below the usual value. Should I give the injection?


A4.4. There's no hard and fast rule, but if you don't have data on how your cat responds to insulin, here are some general guidelines. Below 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), don't give insulin. Between 150 and 200 (8.3-11.1 mmol/L), you have three options: a.) give nothing; b.) give a token dose (10-25% of the usual dose); c.) feed as usual, test in a couple of hours, and make a decision based on that value. Above 200 (11.1 mmol/L) but below the cat's normal pre-shot value, a reduced dose might be wise. In all cases, if you are reducing or eliminating insulin, it's wise to check for ketones in the urine. Above the normal pre-shot value, give the usual dose, but if the pre-shot value is consistently elevated, it's a good idea to schedule a full glucose curve to see whether a change in dose or insulin is appropriate. In most cases, the target "peak" value should not be below 100 mg/dl (5.6 mmol/L), and for some cats it might be higher.

Keep in mind that these are general guidelines, and they should be personalized to your own cat's reactions to insulin. If your experience is that your cat does not became hypoglycemic with a dose which is close to her usual, then your experience should be your guide.

Lantus and Levemir users: Because Lantus and Levemir are gentler insulins, you may find that these guidelines are stricter than you need. If you have some data on how your cat responds to insulin, please read Jojo and Jill (Team J)'s guidelines at FDMB (http://www.felinediabetes.com/phorum5/r ... 22,1017956)."
 
jupiter_waltz said:
Well don't think Sabrinas in remission, maybe just a honeymoon. I know my honeymoon didn't last too long.

I tested her just before dinner time and she was 144 this is after no meals for 12 hours so I gave her insulin at a reduced dose of .5 unit and 3 hours after her meal which use to be her peak time was 80. I'll test again in the morning maybe if she lets me. This glucose testing isn't working too well any more, I think she hates me now.

Aacckk! DO NOT SHOOT BELOW 150
You need to stay home, or go back home to monitor her NOW. You may have sent her into hypoglycemia!!!

PM'd him, too.
 
I'm concerned we haven't heard from Brad. I'm hoping he & his kitty made it through the day OK.

Please keep an eye out for any posts.
 
Hi guys,

Sorry to worry you but I have to go to work to pay for all Sabrina's new expenses, she is doing very well though, I think.

She is only on a very low dose of 0.5 unit twice daily, the vet had her on 1.5 before I started home testing.

These are Sabrina's figures. She was 144 at dinner time last night before I gave her insulin, 3 hours later after insulin and dinner she was 80. I couldn't get a test this morning but gave her a small dose of insulin probably only 0.3unit hard to judge these small quantities. Just tested now which is her dinner time again 7pm and she is 85, so what should I do, she seems stable on the small dose of insulin but she does look kind of lathargic, but I guess she hasn't eaten for 12 hours. Insulin or no insulin, I'm guessing no is the answer.

Anyway I better feed her she's looking at me rather crankily after all I did just get some blood out of her and I won't give insulin.

Elizabeth she use to eat a lot of dry food, but because of the carbs I am trying not to give that to Sabrina. I have found some sachel packets of wet food, mainly tuna, salmon, chicken, prawn and snapper which she seems to like. They are pretty low on the carbs, so maybe with her new diet that is why I am needing less less insulin.

Thanks for your kindness and concern everybody.

Brad
 
OK
Review: The order of operations is, within 15 minutes, test, feed (ok to leave food out for 12 hours), and if at or over 200, shoot. That matches incoming insulin with incoming calories.

She is running pretty low right now, so if you can't get a test, DON'T shoot. You don't want to come home to a hypoglycemic kitty! I was praying she was OK yesterday!

Here are some options for small doses if she is at or above 200:

If you can line up the plunger halfway between 0.0 and 0.5, its about 0.25 units. You may want to use an empty syringe that you've marked to use as a reference.

Fat & skinny doses: when you measure to just above a line, it is fat; just below a line is skinny.

The drop method - take empty syringe, fill with water (colored helps) to 0.5 units, gently twist the plunger to create a droplet, wipe off, repeat until empty. See how many droplets you can consistently create of an even size. As the insulin needs shrink, fewer drops are given.
 
Hi guys

This is what Sabrina and I are doing now, it seems to work best with her dislike of blood tests and my busy work schedule. This is because she is taking no insulin at all and seems to have good figures.

I feed her at 6:30 pm test her about two hours later which should be a high time for her and then ask you guys for help if something is extreme which hasn't lately.

For the last couple of days with no insulin and testing 2 hours after a feed she is around the 110 - 120 mark, this is good isn't it. Don't tell me she is still low and I have to start giving her barley sugar lollies to suck on ;-)

I'm pretty sure she might be in remission, she is more active but looks like she may have lost a little weight, but hard to tell with a svelt oriental Siamese and seems to be eating really well.

Thanks Brad
 
jupiter_waltz said:
Hi guys

For the last couple of days with no insulin and testing 2 hours after a feed she is around the 110 - 120 mark, this is good isn't it. Don't tell me she is still low and I have to start giving her barley sugar lollies to suck on ;-)

Thanks Brad

Brad, that is brilliant news!!!

Yes, it does sound as though Sabrina is in remission. (And low numbers when no insulin is given are safe and nothing to worry about. In fact they are cause for celebration!!!)

WOOHOO!!!!!!!!!
:RAHCAT dancing_cat :RAHCAT dancing_cat :RAHCAT

Do we get to see a photo of Sabrina...? Would love to be able to put a face to the name...
 
Thanks Elizabeth, Just looking at your Bertie and Sabrina looks a lot like him. I'll post a pic in the daylight tomorrow. Luv your five kitties anim, too clever ;-)
 
Hey Elizabeth just been trying to put a pic of beeny up on my profile, but it says It has to be under 9k, thats like postage stamp size. I can't reduce the pic that much. I'm using the avitar option, is that correct?

Krgds Brad
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top