? May miss shot or be late - what do I do?

Status
Not open for further replies.

KatieBDZ

Member Since 2020
Hi all,

Apologize for spreadsheet not being up to date I've been very sick. I went to urgent care and got sent to the ER where I am now. No one is available to give her her shot which she normally gets at 6:15. What do I do if I miss tonight's? Do I give it late/as soon as I get home (assuming that I do get home tonight) or just wait until the morning? Despite me being sick she has not missed any doses and I've been checking her BG at least before every shot. Thank you!
 
So sorry you are having your own health issues to deal with. I hope you feel better soon. If you get home anywhere close to 6:15, you can do the dose late, but keep in mind that means you should give your morning dose late too. Then you can slowly back it up, 15 minutes per day, until you are back on schedule. If you have to skip, then skip. Sometimes life happens. If you skip, it's a good idea to test for ketones. This can be done with inexpensive Ketostix that test urine and you can generally buy them at any pharmacy.

It's possible you could do a small or token dose late, but someone more familiar with Lantus than me will have to advise you on that.
 
I wanted to add that you might want to consider a low-carb wet diet for Arya. Orijen fit and trim dry food is higher in carbs than is best for a diabetic cat. It's much easier to get a sugar cat regulated and even reach remission on a low carb wet diet. Orijen isn't as high in carbs than many dry cat foods, but it still averages over 20% calories from carbs. Most of those carbs come from these ingredients in the Orijen: Lentil Fiber, Red Lentils, Green Lentils, Green Peas, Chickpeas, Yellow Peas, Pinto Beans, Navy Beans.

Members on this site have had success with calories from carbs under 10%. If you're interested in learning more, there's a great food chart here. I wanted to mention it because my Billy was eating Orijen before diagnosis. As dry foods go, it's great, but dry food is one of the reason's my cat got diabetes in the first place. Billy has done so well on the low-carb wet that he went into remission. Not all sugar cats reach remission, though they can all have happy healthy lives. But the right diet can give Arya her best chance.
 
So sorry you are having your own health issues to deal with. I hope you feel better soon. If you get home anywhere close to 6:15, you can do the dose late, but keep in mind that means you should give your morning dose late too. Then you can slowly back it up, 15 minutes per day, until you are back on schedule. If you have to skip, then skip. Sometimes life happens. If you skip, it's a good idea to test for ketones. This can be done with inexpensive Ketostix that test urine and you can generally buy them at any pharmacy.

It's possible you could do a small or token dose late, but someone more familiar with Lantus than me will have to advise you on that.
I wanted to add that you might want to consider a low-carb wet diet for Arya. Orijen fit and trim dry food is higher in carbs than is best for a diabetic cat. It's much easier to get a sugar cat regulated and even reach remission on a low carb wet diet. Orijen isn't as high in carbs than many dry cat foods, but it still averages over 20% calories from carbs. Most of those carbs come from these ingredients in the Orijen: Lentil Fiber, Red Lentils, Green Lentils, Green Peas, Chickpeas, Yellow Peas, Pinto Beans, Navy Beans.

Members on this site have had success with calories from carbs under 10%. If you're interested in learning more, there's a great food chart here. I wanted to mention it because my Billy was eating Orijen before diagnosis. As dry foods go, it's great, but dry food is one of the reason's my cat got diabetes in the first place. Billy has done so well on the low-carb wet that he went into remission. Not all sugar cats reach remission, though they can all have happy healthy lives. But the right diet can give Arya her best chance.
Yes I'm transitioning her food I had to wait because she had DKA/HL and it was important to keep her eating initially. She has now started wet food and eats it well just doing it slowly so as not to make her sick. I'm very worried about missing her shot..at this point I will be here for another few hours.
 
I'm going to tag a couple folks who know Lantus better than me. They might be able to tell you whether you can do a reduced dose when you get home. Lantus has a depot, so I don't really know how to help with this. I know it's best not to skip with a DKA kitty if it can be helped.

@Sienne and Gabby (GA) @Bron and Sheba (GA) @Deb & Wink (Deb's time is limited this weekend, but she might be back in time to help.)
 
A lot will depend on when you get back -- and keep in mind that Daylight Savings time starts on Sunday.

I'm inclined to suggest that you skip since if you are hours off schedule, whatever time you shoot, your next shot will be sue 12 hours later. I'm not thrilled with the idea of skipping given Arya's history. Let's see when they discharge you. If your ER is anything like the one's I'm familiar with, it could be a long night.

Do you have a plan B? If the ER decides you need to be admitted, who can take care of Arya? Could someone get her to the vet for boarding?
 
A lot will depend on when you get back -- and keep in mind that Daylight Savings time starts on Sunday.

I'm inclined to suggest that you skip since if you are hours off schedule, whatever time you shoot, your next shot will be sue 12 hours later. I'm not thrilled with the idea of skipping given Arya's history. Let's see when they discharge you. If your ER is anything like the one's I'm familiar with, it could be a long night.

Do you have a plan B? If the ER decides you need to be admitted, who can take care of Arya? Could someone get her to the vet for boarding?
Hi thanks for the response, I ended up just coming home at 7 pm and giving her her regular dose (PMPS 388). Hoping it doesn't mess up her schedule too much/she's ok.
 
Hi Katie, I have been wondering how you and Arya were getting along. I am sorry you are not well.
I agree it isn't great to skip the dose of insulin given the recent DKA but not much you can do if you are stuck in ER.
Is there anyone who can pop in and give Arya some food while you are at the ER?
Good thought from Sienne about a plan B.

When you are doing the transition over to the low carb diet, can you document that in the remarks column of the SS please so we can see? Thanks.
Get better soon and please keep us up to date with what is happening with the insulin dose/skip.
 
Hi thanks for the response, I ended up just coming home at 7 pm and giving her her regular dose (PMPS 388). Hoping it doesn't mess up her schedule too much/she's ok.
You posted just before I did. Are you OK?
So only 45 mins late for the shot so that is fine.
Please take care. You are a good mom.
 
So glad you got there at a reasonable time. Do you have to go back to the ER? I'm hoping you are doing well. Glad she got her regular dose. Her next dose should be given late as well, though you can back it up 15 minutes every day. If where you live changes to Daylight Savings Time, that means her morning dose should be given no earlier than 7:45 DST. Then the next morning you can give at 7:30, Tuesday Morning at 7:15, and so on. If your schedule and illness allows, of course.
 
Thank you all for your help and support!! I should be ok, I may have to go back in the morning (I basically just left after not being seen for over 3 hours and feeling too sick to continue to wait) but hoping some sleep/medicine tonight will help. Thinking it's just the flu but doctors being overly cautious. I'll move her up in 15 min increments and I should be home the next few days anyways so will be able to keep her on track. Working on my plan b next week I have my old cat sitter coming over to be trained as well as friends that live close by, I just didn't think I'd need it so soon. Thank you again everyone though ❤️ I will update her SS in the morning with her latest BGs and food updates also.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top