May have shot into food spike-set alarm?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Judy & Fritz

Member Since 2021
Fritz is on Prozinc, .5 unit. His numbers have been in the 200’s all week. One hour before PMPS, I found Fritz sitting at a food bowl. There was still a bit of food in it, he was just sitting there, I cannot say that he ate any. I have been so good about removing all food two hours before his PM test. But somehow, in this whirlwind my life has become since his diagnosis, I overlooked that bowl. I kept him on schedule, knowing that I might be testing a food spike. Sure enough, his BG was 324. It hasn’t tested that high since he was diagnosed. He ate his dinner, I gave him his insulin, and then tested again at +2. This time, BG was 252. I am going to do a bedtime test at 12:00 CST. I would normally feed them a small meal around that time. So I will hold off on that until I test him. What am I looking for? I’m trying to figure out whether I need to set the alarm or not. I know his +2 number was lower than his PMPS number, so is that cause for worry? Thanks!
 
time, BG was 252. I am going to do a bedtime test at 12:00 CST. I would normally feed them a small meal around that time. So I will hold off on that until I test him. What am I looking for? I’m trying to figure out whether I need to set the alarm or not. I know his +2 number was lower than his PMPS number, so is that cause for worry? Thanks!
Because the +2 was lower than the preshot, the cycle is most likely an active one so testing again is a good idea to keep Fritz safe.
If the next test is lower again, depending on when you take it and how low it is, you may need to test again.
 
Hi, @Bron and Sheba (GA), I did get up every few hours and he’s fine. His AMPS was 250. Just to wrap my head around this, since the 324 last night was probably food spike, and the 252 was, of course, lower than the 324, was my goal at +4 to determine if BG values were still smaller than the 324, or to determine whether they were moving up or down from the +2 value of 252? Thank you!
 
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top