Max3/22 AMPS203 +3=282+6=226PMPS 289+3=296

Status
Not open for further replies.

tiffmaxee

Member Since 2013
Yesterday's Recap:

AMPS 288 +4=253 +6=247
PMPS 227 +3=148 +6=82 +7.25=88

Max woke me at 6 meowing and didn't stop except for short times until I was able to feed him.

Still having to juggle the hospital and probably until Monday. Have a great, green weekend everyone.

Elise
 
Re: Max3/22 AMPS203

sorry i didn't get back online last night to answer your question. looks like it was a good thing that you ended up holding the dose.

nice job, max, but couldn't you do that at 5pm instead of at 5am for your mom? :roll:

have a good weekend! hope your mom is improving today. hospital time is no fun.
 
Re: Max3/22 AMPS203

No need to apologize for not getting back to me last night. You have helped me so much. For last night I made the right decision but he is bouncing again. Hopefully he will come down. I was reading about caliper dosing and it might be what I need to do although I don't understand it yet. Maybe part of the problem with Max is that even though I try to get the same amount each time, between the syringes not being accurate and human error. Thank you.
 
Re: Max3/22 AMPS203 +3=282

i noticed on the pdf (Management of Diabetic Cat with Long-Lasting Insulin, look on the Tight Reg sticky about 4 "paragraphs" down) it has a suggestion for making a paper "caliper" and gives directions on how to use that to get more accurate dosing.

you would think that syringes could be marked consistently! when there are incredibly detailed specs on every other part of making a syringe, somehow it seems goofy that the markings are done casually.
 
Re: Max3/22 AMPS203 +3=282

Max chooses to go green between 1-3 a.m. Isn't that nice of him? I just found out i have the wrong syringes, monoject. I have a full box of 100 and another of 50. I'm going to order the terumo ones. Do you know if the BD or Relion are any more accurate? I have lots of those too but they don't have the 1/2 inch markings. I'm going to buy calipers too but will look at how to make paper ones for now. Thanks for the suggestion, Julie.
 
Re: Max3/22 AMPS203 +3=282+6=226

i wouldn't call them the "wrong" syringes, and if it were me, i'd probably use them up before i ordered more. i loved the terumo thinpro from American Diabetes Wholesale, personally, with the 0.5u markings.

you can continue using your old ones with confidence if you have a measuring gauge to help make sure the dose is accurate. The calipers would do that, so would a paper ruler with the markings on it. i can't remember exactly how they described doing it, but i was thinking after i read it that i would use a light box to be able to see through the paper markings and compare it to the syringe volume. i took a calligraphy class ages ago and have a light box left over from that.
 
Re: Max3/22 AMPS203 +3=282+6=226

It sounds complicated. Marje said she will walk me through it though.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top