Max Still High AMPS and +6

Status
Not open for further replies.

tiffmaxee

Member Since 2013
So we increased Saturday night. This morning Max was 340 and his +6 is 273. I don't understand why it isn't dropping at all. In November when all this started he responded so quickly. Nothing has changed. What's going on? I know this is day 4 but shouldn't I see signs of the Lantus kicking in?

Elise
 
Personally looking at his spreadsheet I think he maybe overdosed as he was doing better on .25u

I would roll the dose back to that and see if you get better numbers.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
How many cycles would you do that? I can't test tomorrow at +5-7 because I need to take my mom to doctors. Would you roll back tonight? Gosh this is confusing. When I look at it, I'm wondering if I should go back to .25 and .5 because that it when it seemed the best. Am I mistaken?
 
I would roll him back in the morning its going to take him a couple of days for his shed to adjust so I wouldn't worry about missing a couple midcycle tests. Or depending when you need to leave with your mom is getting an out the door test or an in the door test. They might not be nadir tests but would give you extra points of data.

The worst part of this is too much and not enough insulin can look the same, however in general if you increase the dose and the numbers get worse and stay worse its an overdose. He might even be like my Autumn and even .25 is too much. (Autumn is on .1)

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Gosh, this is a confusing disease. My vet just agreed that the .75 was needed. Maybe I need to drop off a ss for him to have a look. I have to leave just 3 1/2 hours after his a.m. dose. I probably won't get home for until at least 4 1/2 hours later. That would be 8-9 hours later. Thanks.



















gos
 
Mel, I just did a night +4 and he was 74. You are probably right that he is low at night. How does that effect dosing if true?

Elise
 
You're not going to like the answer.

As fast as he dropped last night is why he stays high during the day because he's bouncing like a rubber ball.

Now there are two ways to handle that..The first is hold the dose steady and ride out the bounces.

The second is roll back the dose to .25 to get him to stop bouncing then ease the dose back up very slowly.

If he was mine I would drop him back, hold him for a couple weeks then once he has stopped looking like a yoyo..and this is the part you're not going to like...pick a day you can be with him all day and run a curve where you test every two hours from shot to shot. And honestly I would run two curves back to back. One day I would test on the even hours and the next day I'd test the odd hours. Which should tell you exactly where his onset (when the insulin kicks in) & his nadir are at. Once we know those two points in his cycle we'll know if he just nadirs very early or very late as in that he has too much carry over and he's hitting the nadir from the a.m. shot right as he hits onset from the p.m. dose. If he nadirs extremely early as in +2-+4 and then shoots back up again then Lantus isn't lasting long enough in his system and you may want to discuss a change in insulin to Levemir with your vet. If he is overlapping the we reduce the dose.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
I knew you would say he needs a curve and I will do it Monday if possible. He was 250 this morning so if I'm lucky maybe the bounce will be ending. I know he will still need the curve. Thanks.
 
At least curves don't need to be run very often once you know where to test to get the critical info. And yeah he might be mad at you for a day or two but if it saves his life and makes him feel better he'll get over it. I know when mine were all over the map they hated testing but once I got their doses dialed in so they felt good again they became a breeze to test. In fact I swear Autumn comes and bugs me to test because she wants to show of good numbers lol

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
I would venture to say that bouncing is the bane of all those caring for a diabetic cat! I really hope my Max is starting to settle after some bouncing on the new dose, but ya never know. As soon as I think something, the opposite seems to happen. ;-)
 
Re: Max Still High AMPS and +6 PMPS 324

So Max is staying in yellow on .75 and I there hasn't been another drop. I'll test again at +3 or +4 tonight to see if there is another drop but last night there wasn't. None of Max's medical issues have been easy so why should this be any different?

Elise
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top