Max just diagnosed-freaked out

Status
Not open for further replies.

max7

Member Since 2016
Hi all. I'm new here and looking for some support. My cat Max was diagnosed today with Depo-medrol induced diabetes. He has allergies and asthma so I've had some difficulties controlling his symptoms. The vet recommended Depo-medrol and after three shots Max now has diabetes. This stuff is poison and I wish I never gave him the shots. Has anyone here had this situation and their cat go into remission? If so, how long did it take? I know not everyone comes out of this but I think I need to know there is hope as right now I'm a mess.
 
Hi and welcome--
First take a deep breath.... feline diabetes can be challenging but your Max can still have a wonderful quality of life.

I am not familiar with depo-medrol but I am thinking it is a steroid? If so chances of remission are good especially if you start treatment quickly.
There are many experts on the forum that have tons of experience (much more than many vets)

Because I am not 1 of them I am going to bump this up to get more expert eyes on it and if you go to thread tools on the top right corner and add the "?" icon you will probably get more help-

Also if you have started insulin it will be helpful to know what kind and if you are home testing (which is VERY important) if you have changed diet to a low carb?

I will also tag a few experts...
Max will be ok and there is so much knowledge here.... I want to encourage you to read the "stickys" -tons of info--
@manxcat419
@Wendy&Neko
 
Hello, Max's Person. A warm welcome to you both.

Yes, there is hope. Even with steroids in the mix insulin treatment can be worked around that if necessary. Depending on the steroids in use - and the individual cat, of course! - it may even be possible to achieve remission. I definitely know of one kitty called Remi whose caregiver became a member here shortly after I joined FDMB. Remi is asthmatic. He gets his asthma meds via inhaler and he achieved remission within 6 months of initial diabetes diagnosis (first treated with Caninsulin but then switched to a longer-acting insulin (Lantus) using a treatment method known as the Tight Regulation Protocol; we have educational stickies about TRP).

Even if a kitty doesn't achieve remission, with effective insulin treatment, appropriate diet and good care feline diabetics can live full and happy lives.

The initial Dx can be very, very scary and overwhelming; doubly so when dealing with additional health conditions but I hope I can reassure you a little that because you've found FDMB you've now got a great place to find help and support to enable you to care for Max's diabetic needs. There are members here with a wealth of knowledge and practical experience in all manner of feline health issues in addition to feline diabetes management.

We'll do all we can to help you both; there's a big learning curve at the beginning but as you learn more and work out a routine that suits you and Max it will get easier and better. FD is do-able.

:bighug::bighug::bighug:


Mogs
.
 
Last edited:
Hello.
Welcome to fdmb.
Yes with steroids , cats can become diabetic. But the diabetes is very manageable. Yes, it is possible to go back into remission.
the harder one to work with is asthma, and he will likely need the asthma treated first.... and the diabetes will be managed around the asthma.

You will want to get yourself a glucometer and strips. Avoid the ones with true in the name.

The cheapest one that many people here use is Relion. Someone will tell you more specifically the one. I had one that was more costly. ( baylor contour)
It's not the meter, it's the strips that can add up.

You will want to start testing even before you get insulin. Knowing the glucose level is key to managing this disease.
You are also going to want a long acting insulin like lantus ( glargine ) or Levemir. Since your chances of remission are good, I would recommend
the pens instead of the vials. You have to call around pharmacies ( try the smaller pharmacies run by mom and pop) They are more likely to sell
you one pen at a time.

This will work better for you because when you have asthma flares, and need the steroids, you will then need insulin again ( assuming he does
go into remission)
The steroids will likely knock him out of remission.
This is what we call the sugar dance and his needs will be the leader.

Ask questions, we all love to pay it forward because we all start out scared and overwhelmed.
There is a lot to learn in the beginning, it's a steep learning curve .
I was so worried and determined to get to remission, I couldn't sleep any way, that I spent hours and hours here reading other stories and learning
as much as I could as fast as I could. And I was one of the lucky ones who enjoyed remission for a good long while.
 
Thanks all so much for your replies. You are right, this is overwhelming. The vet gave him Prozinc. What's the difference between lantus/levemir and something like Prozinc? And the pens, I'm not sure I see much benefit other than they are prefilled and you have to buy the needle separately. Maybe I'm missing something?
As well, what do people do if you want to go on vacation? We like to travel and my vet said you either board the cat or find a person who is certified to give medications/shots. I can't board max because he absolutely hates cages and will get sick. Having a stranger in my house and max freaking out doesn't sound great either. I got him as a 6mos kitten and we think he wasn't treated well so he hates strangers. He pretty much is my cat and has serious trust issues.
The situation I'm trying to avoid is getting to the point where we start to resent Max because we can't go anywhere and feel tied to having to care for him. Now, I don't want to alarm people or have people think we're mean and don't want to care for Max. Our vet wants to come back as a cat in our house so that tells you the level of care we give our cats. And we have taken care of seriously ill cats. But it is normal to start wondering what is the good line is between his needs and ours and I know none of this is his fault.
 
on the pens, you use them like a vial. You do not buy the needles that go with the pens.
You still use regular insulin syringes and there is a rubber stopper that you draw out the insulin just like with a vial. The advantage is just the smaller
quantity instead of a full vial.

Prozinc is a good insulin too. But the protocol is slightly different and I'm not familiar with it enough to advise other than general advice.

My Shadow was very much like Max. She didn't trust anyone else.
Fortunately we didn't go anywhere while she was on insulin. (100 days) And when we traveled for Christmas one year during her remission, I had someone who
came in and put out canned food twice a day ..... I had an auto feeder too. She had 4 meals a day. And for the most part, she ate. They never saw her tho' because she would
hide from strangers or even my friends.
Diabetic kitties need to eat smaller more frequent meals.....


It is very hard to travel unless you take the cat with you or have a good caretaker.
I have a neurotic dog that I actually have to pay someone to come over a few times before we go anywhere now to desensitize her so that she cooperates
when the sitter comes and spends the night.
 
Thanks for the continued support and feedback! Travel is not an option for him as he gets sick in the car. I can barely make it down the road for five minutes when he starts. Going to the vet is a challenge needless to say.
Poor guy doesn't know what him between the shots and now the asthma med he has to inhale. But he's such a sweetie and hasn't held it against us, yet.......
 
It is a tricky balance....we traveled often and after Dre was dx we cancelled our trip because I was so afraid to leave him.
I have a great sitter and lucky for us Dre is very cooperative for testing and such so we have been able to get away for a few days-I have my sitter text me his pre shot and I leave a "sample" syringe or what we call a baby sitter dose (it is a little less insulin to be safe)
You may be surprised if you start asking around ... Many people have pets with special needs. I did a few test runs with test/feed/shoot with my sitter and she was a pro in no time.
Feline diabetes is sadly not that uncommon anymore.
As for pro zinc it is not a bad insulin and many cats do well on it.
Lantus and Lev are long acting depot insulins.....
You will want to post in the pro zinc forum if you have specific questions as they are most familiar with it.
Once you get familiar with things it will be second nature...:bighug:
 
Thanks for the continued support and feedback! Travel is not an option for him as he gets sick in the car. I can barely make it down the road for five minutes when he starts. Going to the vet is a challenge needless to say.
Poor guy doesn't know what him between the shots and now the asthma med he has to inhale. But he's such a sweetie and hasn't held it against us, yet.......
Just for future reference--the drug many of us use for nausea (ondansetron/zofran) is also very helpful for motion sickness...
 
@Puddensmom -

Hi,

I noticed from your forum signature that Puddens has asthma and allergies. I was wondering whether there are any tips or experiences you might have which would be helpful for Max?


Mogs
.
 
Travel is not an option for him as he gets sick in the car. I can barely make it down the road for five minutes when he starts. Going to the vet is a challenge needless to say.

I had the same issue with my cat....within a few minutes of getting into the car she'd start throwing up. A few years ago I was taking my mom to Branson for Christmas and didn't trust anybody else to take care of China so we had to figure out something!

I started taking her for short rides (on an empty as possible stomach) and found that she did a lot better when she wasn't in a carrier so we got her used to wearing a harness and leash....for the last couple of years she's ridden in the back seat in her harness/leash and hasn't had any problems.

She also gets a little Cerenia before travel...it's a medication for motion sickness in dogs that's also used in cats.

It can be done though.....some cats do better in carriers, some do better out of them and by going on short trips that didn't always end up at the vets office, she also gradually learned that the car didn't necessarily mean a vet trip so I think that relaxed her too
 
If the travel vomiting has a stress-related component I have read of a product called Zylkene which is supposed to help with such problems. Also Thundershirts may help with anxiety issues.


Mogs
.
 
Pudden was given a steroid shot for her asthma which did absolutely nothing and then was put on 10mg of prednisilone. Being on such a high dose, she became diabetic and her bg was over 600.

Asthma is a chronic condition and cats must be on a maintenance drug to control it or it will get worse. Pudden is on 220mcg of flovent 2 puffs twice a day. It is an inhaled steroid that has virtually no side effects and is perfectly safe for diabetic cats. I recommend the yahoo groups feline asthma or feline asthma inhaled medication. They will be able to tell you where to get the flovent cheap and how to get your cat used to the aerokat which is the spacer needed to administer the medication.

Pudden was on insulin for 2 1/2 months before she went into remission, so it is absolutely possible.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top