Max & Elise AMPS 344 Nadir 129 PMPS 181 +1 241

Status
Not open for further replies.

tiffmaxee

Member Since 2013
Well he is at the same spot as yesterday morning. Pretty consistent. If it's a bounce I hope it ends soon. He was meowing for food around 4 a.m. so I gave him some. Not sure when he ate next prior to the test. He is drinking water so I know he has high BG. He didn't finish all the food by test time but I just heard him eat while I was typing this. With a normal appetite I doubt these numbers are pancreatitis related as he becomes inappetent with panc.

Elise
 
Re: Max & Elise AMPS 344 Nadir 129 PMPS 181?????

The bounce may have ended. Max was 129 at +6. I'll test again before his PM shot. He gets his next dose in 20 minutes. I should give it to him, right? Thanks for all the help.

Elise
 
Re: Max & Elise AMPS 344 PMPS 181 ???

Max gets his next insulin in 20 minutes and his Nadir was 129. His PMPS is 181. So it hasn't gone up much. I want to make sure that I should give him his next shot. I think I should and check again in 3-4 hours. Am I right? Thanks.

Elise
 
Re: Max & Elise AMPS 344

same dose - don't change it. and FANTASTIC! :-D

Whenever you shoot a number lower than you've shot before, get a +1 and +2 to make sure he's going up.

Being able to shoot lower numbers gives an opportunity that sometimes will lower the entire range of numbers.

So glad he cleared that bounce!
 
Re: Max & Elise AMPS 344

Thanks, Julie. I just fed him too much might raise his BG a little too. If he is going up do I need to still test in 3-4 hours or can I wait until morning?

Elise
 
Re: Max & Elise AMPS 344

feeding him is fine - we all feed along with the shot. But deciding what tests you need tonight is the kind of thing that we need to take a test at a time. You really need to get a +1 and a +2 to make sure he's having a food spike. Or if he doesn't, we need to know. not a problem, we just need to know that's what he's doing.

When you update your subject line, you have to edit and save the very first one of your thread. Otherwise they won't show on the main page. Right now it just shows AMPS 344 still. Adding any new numbers will help make sure that people see if you need help!

I'll watch for you.
 
Re: Max & Elise AMPS 344

Thank you sooo much. I will fix that immediately. I knew it was okay to feed him after the shot. I just meant it was a good thing that he was eating as it might prevent him from dropping too much.

Elise
 
Re: Max & Elise AMPS 344 Nadir 129 PMPS 181

i fed punkin 1 can of fancy feast (3oz) with his shot and another 1/2 can (1.5oz) at +3, both am and pm cycles.

What's your regular feeding schedule for Max? What i mean is, do you feed him small meals throughout the cycle or ?
 
Re: Max & Elise AMPS 344 Nadir 129 PMPS 181

Yes, I feed him small meals often. He wakes me during the early morning sometimes since this started and I feed him then, 2-5 a.m If not then he wants to eat at 6 or 7. I give him some baby food with his gel cap of BP med. That can be a problem if I need to pick up his food 2 hours before a shot. Then he free feeds until he has eaten 1/2-3/4 a can of fancy feast. Next I put food out at 1:30-2 which he eats when he wants. I feed again around 7 and 11. He eats 2-2 1/4 cans a day plus 1/3 a can of baby food. When I can't be around that much I put out the food 1/2-3/4 a can at a time and he eats when he wants. He's a grazer. Well almost time to test. This from a person that wasn't going to test at all. LOL (my vet knew I would but was super patient with me).

Elise
 
it's probably a good guess, but if you can get a +2 it will probably answer the question on which direction mr max is going to head tonight.

it's not at all uncommon for cats to get back to back bounces when they are new to lower numbers. Lower only means lower than their bodies have gotten used to. cats who have been sitting in 400's and 500's can bounce from 300's.

in any case, see you in another hour. :-D
 
you probably go to bed!

when the +2 is about the same as the preshot, we can expect what is called a typical "active" Lantus cycle.
Example of an active Lantus cycle:

+0 - PreShot number.
+1 - Usually higher than PreShot number because of the last shot wearing off. May see a food spike in this number.
+2 - Often similar to the PreShot number.
+3 - Lower than the PreShot number, onset has started.
+4 - Lower.
+5 - Lower.
+6 - Nadir/Peak (the lowest number of cycle).
+7 - Surf (hang around the nadir number).
+8 - Slight rise.
+9 - Slight rise.
+10 - Rising.
+11 - Rising (one of the quirks of Lantus/Levemir: some cat's blood glucose numbers dip around +10 or +11... not to be confused with nadir).
+12 - PreShot number.

when you see a +2 that is higher than the preshot, you might be seeing a bounce, although he's flat from +1. I think it's up to you. normally you have just been testing once a cycle. if you want to get another test tonight, we never say no to data, but it's up to you. i don't see a crisis coming, but you never know what a cat will do.

what you always need to do is to have the "Handling Low Numbers" yellow starred sticky printed out just in case you can't find anyone on the board in the middle of the night for the time he does go below 50 and you need help.

but for tonight, i probably wouldn't expect that to happen.
 
if you want to check him again, i'd probably wait til +5ish, if you're up then. if you're headed for bed sooner, i'd get a before bed test.

but i wouldn't set an alarm, personally. there might be a time you need to, but from a 241 at +2, i'd pass on the alarm tonight and just get a before bed test!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top