Max and Elise AMPS 330 Inc. dose +6 281

Status
Not open for further replies.

tiffmaxee

Member Since 2013
I was back and forth as to whether to increase Max's dose as my vet and others told me to do. When we were not yellow or blue, I elected to do it. He's not in a good mood today, very unusual. I need to be careful as to how often I stick him. I'm hoping he just needs 4 sticks today and no extras. nailbite_smile

Elise
 
Re: Max and Elise AMPS 330 Inc. dose

Hi guys .. good luck with the extra juice! I hope it brings max down to lower levels .. and I hope he get's in a better mood .. have a great day guys!
 
Re: Max and Elise AMPS 330 Inc. dose

Remember that with each new dose that you do, there's going to be a period of bouncing, and an adjustment period when his body will be reacting to the added insulin. It's perfectly normal that this happens. Give this new dose some time to see what it does, and after that period of time things aren't improving, then go up again to the next dose amount. Always give his body that time that is needed. Another thing to remember is that with each new dose, his shed is building, too. As his #s improve, he'll start to feel better. You and Max will get used to this new routine over time.

With regards to the poking, you may want to try warming his ear (if you aren't already doing so) with a rice sock before poking. Another thing you may want to try is go in at an angle and only put a smarll part of the beveled tip of the lancet in to draw a small bead as apposed to poking straight down, and end up going through the other side and poking yourself in the process. That may help with the poking fear for you both.

Things take time, and I know it's discouraging, and frustrating. Just have patience, ok? It will get better. Hang in there. You're both doing a great job.
 
Re: Max and Elise AMPS 330 Inc. dose

Thanks to Julie, Chris, and Angela for the encouragement and advice. I know you sense are scared I am of a big bounce or worse hypo episode and so does my vet. That is why he is so very slowly increasing his insulin. The other factor is how quickly he responded when we started this journey and went from l unit to off insulin in just a month. In retrospect it probably would have been better to drop to .25 first but my vet didn't believe I could measure that small amount and with my mom in the hospital I wouldn't be around to observe enough. How do you all have a life and other responsibilities away from home and test so much without help? Thursday night I would be away from 6-10 if I weren't dealing with this but instead will shoot at 6:45 and then leave for a couple of hours. I can't adjust more than that because Friday night I will be gone from 6:45 until 9:30-10. Since I increased today, cats being cats I assume he could bounce at any time, right? It sounds like with the added depot it might not take 3-5 days to see results, right? I wonder how my friends that have dealt with feline diabetes and never tested at home didn't lose their cats. Since I have the knowledge I can't go that route and my family doesn't get it, sigh. They talk about me going with them to Palm Springs and I say I can't be gone for a night even and they think I'm crazy. Oh well, that's life. At least you all know what's up.

As for the bleeding, I just get a tiny amount each time. In fact I have to squeeze to get it. I've only gone through once. He jerks when he feels the needle so it doesn't get a chance to go through which is a good thing. Right now I'm using the sharp terumo 22g needles so a tiny prick works well. I have 31g and 33g lancets for when he bleeds more.

Elise

Elise
 
Looks like we won't get a dip today with a +6 of 281. I'll check again before his next dose.

Elise
 
I find that the 33 gauge lancets work the best with my own kitty. Any thicker than that, and she'd most definitely feel it. You may want to try the 33 gauge and see how it goes with Max. Have you tried warming a rice sock, and then placing it on his ear to warm it up a bit before you test? Also, do you have Neosporin with Pain Relief handy? If so, try putting a small amount on the area that you've just poked after you've stopped the bleeding, and rub it in. It'll help ease the pain of the poke, and hopefully make him more receptive of being poked so often if needed.

Right now, I don't work, and am able to test often if needed. I am, however, considering going back to the workforce, but as a temp for the time being. I know that there are a lot of folks on here that do have jobs, and have diabetic kitties, too. I, too, am trying to figure out how they do it, as well.
 
I tried the 31g that came with the meter and it didn't seem to draw enough blood but I guess I will try the rice sock. He jerked the same way after the lancet though. He bends his ear in and shakes his head and I lose hold of his ear if that makes any sense. He's a good boy and at least I don't get the reaction they got when he was caged at the vet's for a day. My meek cat was labeled dangerous and difficult to handle. When my vet works with him he is an angel. He said it was likely reaction to being in a cage.
 
His +6 of today looks a tiny bit better than his +6 two days ago. Yes, it's still a higher yellow, but it's not a 292 #. Don't get discouraged if you see higher #s, though, ok? I know, easier said than done, right? With every new dose you do, whether it's a increase or a decrease, you will get some amount of bouncing from it, and it can last for 72 hours, or longer depending on the kitty. The key is to try and get Max into better, lower #s so that he can start to feel better, be more regulated, and feel more like himself again. Your goal is to see the blues, and eventually greens.

Be consistent with the doses by making sure that the dose is the same amount at the AMPS as well as the PMPS. I noticed on Max's SS that when you increased his dose to 0.50u, it was on 01/09, but the PMPS dose was 0.25u that same day. This went on from 01/09 until 01/13, and then you were more consistent. I'm not sure if that was simply typos on your part, or if there was another reason for those. I'm guessing typos, though.

Either way, keep giving Max the new dose that you have just recently increased him to (the 1u), and see where it takes you and him. You'll be pleasantly surprised if he decides to give you nicer #s. :smile:
 
The rice sock warmed in the microwave should help, and you don't need to leave it in there for too long, otherwise it'll be too hot for both you, and especially him. I have done that with Blackie on occasion, and when I poke her, she hardly seems to notice the poking. Try to remain calm, and talk to him (if you don't already do so). Talking not only helps calm him down, but it also helps to calm you down, too.

Next time you make a trip to the store, try and get yourself a box of 33 gauge lancets. They're finer than the 30 gauge, and they may work a bit better. Everything about feline diabetes is an experiment. I'm still experimenting. :lol:
 
Thanks, Angela. I have a box of the 33g but was waiting to use those when he starts to bleed more easily. The funny thing is he seems to jerk as much with the 31g lancet as he does with the 22g needle which my vet prefers. At least the needles get blood every time and the terumo are super sharp. I used to use them for sub-q fluids. As for the different AM and PM doses, that was my vet's suggestion. It was based on how Max reacted in November. Then we started with l unit and worked our way down the dose range as he was in the green. My vet wants him in the blue. This is definitely an adventure. Have a nice night.
 
Hi Elise,
Try to make sure that the beveled side of the lancet is facing up. It will be less painful for Max. Have you tried using a lancet device? I find that it is a much quicker poke than I can do freehand, and therefore less painful (some prefer freehand, some the lancet device; you can experiment). I angle the lancet device and hold a small gauze pad on the other side of the ear. As soon as I get the reading, I wrap the gauze pad around both sides of the ear and apply pressure.
Rusty doesn't like the rice sock, so I use a baby washcloth in a plastic baggie. I wet the washcloth, put it in the microwave for 10 seconds, put it into the plastic bag, and hold it on his ear. It is nice and smooth. Neosporin with pain relief is a must afterwards. You can use either the creme or the ointment. (I like the creme because it absorbs quickly and doesn' t leave a sticky residue.). Don't forget the after-poke treat!!!

Good luck.

Ella & Rusty
 
i think having a diabetic cat is very hard. it does impact your schedule and your social life. can you ask at your vet's office if there is a vet tech who can come test and shoot for you so you can do things? i paid $15 per visit here, so it was doable.

if you use a lancet device (i did) use the clear lid and hold it firmly against the ear for about 5 seconds before you poke, then poke and hold it 5 more seconds, firmly in place before you remove it to test the blood. it really helps to get that blood drop to well up. i suppose it acts like a bit of a tourniquet in place.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top