Max and Elise AMPS 298 +6:45 219 PMPS 263 increase ???

Status
Not open for further replies.

tiffmaxee

Member Since 2013
Virtually no change with the increase from .5 to .75 and his low 74 last Wednesday. I'm going to give my vet a copy of the ss and want to know what you suggest. Increase? Hold a little longer? Thanks. My vet said to go up to 1 unit and check in in a week. He really liked the spreadsheet.

Elise
 
Re: Max and Elise AMPS 298

Hi guys, no dosing advice from me but I am sure others will be along soon .. hope you see some blues soon! have a great day!
 
Re: Max and Elise AMPS 298

Thanks. I see your cat has been OTJ for so long. I hope for the same but that it happens sooner.

Elise
 
Re: Max and Elise AMPS 298

Hi, Elise

I'm not able to view your spread sheet for Max. In your signature line, the brackets for the and aren't closed. Can you make sure that the link to the spread sheet is between can close those brackets at the beginning and the end of the link? Otherwise, the link won't be there for people to view it, and give you dosing advice if those brackets aren't closed.
 
Re: Max and Elise AMPS 298

I was trying to set up a profile and link it. Instead I screwed up the profile link and I don't know how to fix it. How do I fix it? I'm not good either with computers. Someone else set this up for me and now I ruined it.

Elise
 
Re: Max and Elise AMPS 298

I know the password. Thanks. I tried to go in and close the URL but I must not have done it correctly because it still can't be accessed. I tried.

Elise
 
Re: Max and Elise AMPS 298

Hi, Elise

The spread sheet url should look like this (I'm using mine as an example):

[url.] https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet/ccc ... EVWc#gid=4 [/url.] but without the dots between the " l " in url and the bracket.

I'm showing you how it should look in your signature (without the dots, of course, and there shouldn't be any spaces between the " l " of url, and the right hand side bracket), so that you can see and understand how the url function works, and looks. I know it sounds overwhelming, but it really isn't.
 
Re: Max and Elise AMPS 298

I've made the link worse. I think I deleted too much when I tried to get rid of the profile link that wasn't working either. In the meantime here is a recap. Max's insulin was increased from .5 to .75 the evening of 1/18. Then on 1/22 his PM+4 was 74. After that he was in the mid 300's PS and +6 mid to high 200's due probably to bouncing. On 1/25 his +6 was 121 and PMPS 181. His +1-+2 were 240 and 241. The next two days he's been 291 and 298 at AMPS and +6 292. His PMPS 297 with +4 315 last night. So mostly yellow with a +4 last night of 315. To me it seems he's been flat. Is this clear as mud or does it make sense?

Elise
 
Re: Max and Elise AMPS 298

I see your spreadsheet :-D I can't help on the dosing, just wanted to let you know that it is clickable, and to pop in to wish you a good day :razz: . I hope Max slides down for you today.
 
Re: Max and Elise AMPS 298

Thank you. One of the kind folks must have fixed it for me. I need to learn how to link posts and my profile too. For now I will leave well enough alone.

Elise
 
Re: Max and Elise AMPS 298

I don't have any dosing advice to give you, either.

I'm able to view Max's SS, also, Elise. Good job! Max's #s are starting to improve, and they will with each new dose that you do. You're doing a wonderful job; you both are. Keep in mind that with each new dose, there may be bouncing involved. Continue to keep the dosing consistency going, and with each new dose, you will start to see it work its magic in lower his #s, and make him feel better.

In fact, if you look at his SS now, you can already see how each dose that you've given to him so far has, in fact, started to lower his #s for you both. Eventually you'll start to see middle and lower yellows... then higher and middle blues... then higher and middle greens, and the pinks, and reds, and blacks will be a thing of the past.
 
Re: Max and Elise AMPS 298 +6:45 219

Thanks for letting me know you can see the ss. Thank you Marje. Max's +6hrs 45 min is 219 so maybe we are headed where we need to be without any dose increase.

Elise
 
Re: Max and Elise AMPS 298 +6:45 219 PMPS 263

So I'm trying to decide if I should increase to l unit tonight or wait until tomorrow morning. What do you think?

Elise
 
Hi Elise!

Sorry no one got to you before your shot tonight, but i see you held the dose. that's what i'd have encouraged you to do. The protocol suggests holding at least 10 cycles when Max first sees blues and he hasn't been used to them.

Increasing the dose:

Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.

if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.

when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.


After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.

You do have 10 cycles since the green 74 on the pm cycle of 1/22, and a total of 19 cycles already at 0.75u, so i think you could safely increase fairly soon. I think i'd give it 2 more cycles (tomorrow's am and pm) and if you don't see at least a low blue number or any green number by tomorrow night, i'd probably go ahead and increase to 1.0u on Wednesday morning. If you see a low blue or a green, i'd keep holding it at 0.75u a little longer.

that's just my 2 cents worth. someone else could probably make a case for increasing sooner - max is right on the fence there, in my opinion.
 
Here's my 2 cents....at 19 cycles at .75u, the majority of the nadirs have been in the 200's, so you could increase to 1 unit tomorrow morning, as long as you're available to test.

We're wanting to find a dose that keeps him in the 50-120 range for the vast majority of his nadirs, so after 6 cycles on any one dose, if those nadirs still aren't in that 50-120 range, we'd want to increase by .25 (so a total of 1 unit) and then see how he reacts and where his blood glucose numbers are during those cycles....then we re-evaluate again!

There may be times we would ask you to give the same dose longer than 6 cycles too. We have to look at how he's done over the past several days worth of numbers and then talk about dropping, keeping it the same or even raising the amount of insulin too

Does that make sense? Don't worry if it doesn't. I'm having my 2nd PJ party in a row here tonight and my brain is ready to give up on me..lol
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top