Max AMPS 81, +3 111, + 6 119, +9.5 76, PMPS 86

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tom B

Member Since 2017
Last Condo

Max surprised me with an AMPS of 81. His +10 from the night before was 79/81 (I thought it was wrong so I checked it twice) With numbers like these should I still be giving him a .1U shot?
 
I missed this message from the last condo and didn't want to reply to it there and bump it. For some reason I'm not getting my email notifications anymore, I'll check to make sure they aren't being sent to spam.

Hi Tom.

I don't think I've posted on one of your condos before. Max is looking pretty good, especially considering how short a time he's been on Lantus.

That AMPS isn't bad, and it could be a little bounce in response to the green he hit yesterday, or possibly a green number he hit last night while you were sleeping. Overall, I'd say things are going pretty well. :D

How does he seem to be feeling? Are you noticing an improvement in him since the switch? Normally, once they start getting these good numbers, kitties get more active and seem more alert.

I'm glad you found us, and that so far, Max is responding well to Lantus.

Max has been feeling really well, he is significantly more active in the last week. He is back to running around and playing quite a bit more.
 
Hey Tom,
I'm really sorry I'm not seeing this till now. You have the distinct advantage of being around to test since you can work from home, so I would probably have told you to shoot that 81 this morning with the .1U. His mid-cycle numbers are rising. Not terrible, mind you, but rising.
It's scary shooting numbers that low though, for sure!

He has stayed pretty flat consistently on Lantus, so he does not look like a cat prone to deep dives. The saying around here is shoot low to stay low. In addition, when you shoot low numbers, if you do see him dropping faster than you like, you can steer the cycle with food by giving bits of low carb food or a little bit of medium carb gravy to keep him flat (not too much at one time though). And ALWAYS post here if you think Max is heading down too fast and folks here will definitely help you (but make sure to put something in your subject line - like... Dropping numbers - Need help)

I would bet he's on his way to not needing insulin any more (ANTIJINX!!!) but we really like to see them stay in those green numbers for a while before you start an OTJ trial. So, I'd keep this dose.
Max is doing REALLY well and so are you!!
 
Hey @Bobbie And Bubba is there anything lower than .1U? Just curious. I thought I saw in the sticky that some people actually only dose a drop. How the heck do you do that? Wondering if Max might be one of those kitties who may need that small of a dose soon. Any thoughts?
 
One way to do a drop dose is to push really hard on the plunger, then insert the syringe into the pen/vial. Release the pressure on the plunger, and the vaccuum will suck up a drop. Practice it a few times to see what size drop you get.

Max's numbers are coming up a little bit, so maybe he does need to try that 1 drop dose for a while. That AMPS number this morning did earn him a reduction from the 0.1 unit dose. :D
 
He just surprised me with a +9.5 76. Not sure what to do about tonight.

One way to do a drop dose is to push really hard on the plunger, then insert the syringe into the pen/vial. Release the pressure on the plunger, and the vaccuum will suck up a drop. Practice it a few times to see what size drop you get.

Max's numbers are coming up a little bit, so maybe he does need to try that 1 drop dose for a while. That AMPS number this morning did earn him a reduction from the 0.1 unit dose. :D

Maybe I will try this
 
Yes, the suck up method is how you get a drop. My advice with doing the drop method is that when you inject continue to hold the plunger in and count to about 5 and then continue to hold the plunger in as you remove the needle from Max. I found if I didn't do it that way that part of the drop could still be in a syringe. Like Wendy said, practice it a few times.
 
Looks like Max's pancreas is mostly working. :D SLGS recommends not shooting if he's below 90 at shot time.
 
I find myself just sitting here shaking my head looking at Max's spreadsheet. I am dumbfounded... and thrilled... at how quickly and well he's responded to the Lantus. Rarely have I seen a cat respond so quickly. This is very cool to watch. Max's pancreas is definitely back in business!! Just awesome!!
 
I'm really hoping that this keeps up, we leave on Wednesday for 2 weeks. It's going to be very stressful for me if he is bouncing around. My brother will be watching him for most of the time but he'll be away for 3 of those days also. His wife mentioned that she isn't comfortable giving him shots.
 
Hey Tom,
I know I've told you this before, but make sure your brother and his wife have access to this board and know how to post for help if needed. Make sure they know to put something in the title of the post like"HELP NEEDED" if necessary so it will catch people's attention quickly. And please ask them to continue to update the SS so we know where Max's numbers are while you're away.

Knowing you are leaving, I'll be checking in on his SS as well. Again, feel free to give them my cell phone number and they can text or call if needed and I can even post here for them if I'm not sure how to help.

I want you both to enjoy your honeymoon!! We've got your back!! :D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top