Max AMPS 65 +13 70 +14.25 78 +15~80 +16 100 +24(PMPS) 90

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: Max +11 92 AMPS 65 Stalling Should I shoot 0.5?

Here's your Yesterday Condo.

Will you be home to test, can you stay up all night if needed, do you have karo?
Jane

EDITED to add: Yup, dropping number. But given how Lamtus works, even if you skipped you'd probably not see that effect *this* cycle... Depends on your BOS... You do have lots of experience already and I KNOW you can handle lows. How do YOU feel?
 
Re: Max +11 92 AMPS 65 Stalling Should I shoot 0.5?

Yes, we have Karo, and we are home. It's daytime right now. Do you mean he could be going low all night although it's 9:00 a.m. right now?
 
Re: Max +11 92 AMPS 65 Stalling Should I shoot 0.5?

It's almost 15 minutes after shot time. We are going to check his BG again.
 
Re: Max +11 92 AMPS 65 Stalling Should I shoot 0.5?

Ha, no, sorry, got confused about your time zone. Meant all *DAY*. Sorry!

Given how Lantus works, even a skipped shot would probably only affect the *next* cycle... How do YOU feel about shooting? The shed seems pretty loaded, hence the low pre-shot. Max is on his way to the next reduction already, I'd say. You *can* do BCS. You *can* skip. But probably won't keep you from having to stick with this cycle...

Again - how do you feel? Gut feel?

I won't leave you until you're ok or there is back-up.
Jane
 
Re: Max +11 92 AMPS 65 Stalling Should I shoot 0.5?

He's at 69 now 15 minutes after the shot time. This means he's surfing here? He hasn't eaten since about 6 a.m. which is +9.
 
Re: Max +11 92 AMPS 65 Stalling Should I shoot 0.5?

It's not the end of the world if we skip. I'm very tired, and so is my husband. The baby, of course, doesn't stop to let us nap. I hate to lose any progress though. You were with me, Jane, so you know I was up for about 2 1/2 or 3 hours last night. There is always coffee.

If we don't skip, we will face this again tonight, too.
 
Re: Max +11 92 AMPS 65 Stalling Should I shoot 0.5?

Hi guys, no advice from me, but wooooohooo how exciting! Have a great day!
 
Re: Max +11 92 AMPS 65 Stalling Should I shoot 0.5?

Yes, he's surfing. You can wait until (+13) to shoot to see if you get more of a rise as last shot wear off. (Will move your shot time, though.)

You can shoot BCS dose (I'd probably go with 0.25u, if that's what you want to do, and then re-assess at next pre-shot.)

You *can* skip if you're really worries - but you'll still have to watch the cycle...

Got a preference?
FWIW, I would probably go for stalling a bit longer for a better rise, and then shoot newly earned reduced dose of skinny 0.5u (be exact - technically, since you've been shooting a fat 0.5u, you could go for a very skinny 0.5u...)
Jane
 
Re: Max +11 92 AMPS 65 Stalling Should I shoot 0.5?

I know you're so tired. (((Dale and Family)))

You *can* abort the cycle with HC... He *did* just earn a reduction. Max is on a roll - this wouldn't stall his progress I think. It's down to what you can cope with in terms of monitoring...
HUGS
Jane
 
Re: Max +11 92 AMPS 65 Stalling Should I shoot 0.5?

Ok, we are going to stall a while longer, and move the shot time. Thank you, Jane.

EDITED: I don't want to be up all night tonight, though. Maybe I'll skip in the hopes that that won't happen and take the reduction tonight.

Thanks for checking in, Devon. Yes, very exciting!
 
Re: Max +11 92 AMPS 65 Stalling Should I shoot 0.5?

I think it's ok to stall but you need to shoot the full dose of .5u as stalling and reducing the dose are a double whammy.

I know you are tired and that's the most important thing to consider but I am one that believes (thanks to Jill) that if you have all the supplies and you have as much data as you have...if you are physically up for an active cycle, you should shoot anything above 50 without stalling. At this point, even if you shoot a dropping number, you can feed him to get him up and take advantage of overlap....knowing he will probably start back down around onset.

This is advice for Dale and Max only because Dale knows Maxs cycles and knows how to deal with low numbers.nnso the basic question is can YOU do it with all you have going on.
 
Re: Max +11 92 AMPS 65 Stalling Should I shoot 0.5?

Ok Dale. Post with next BG, ok? We can re-visit choices then.
Hang in there. This is tricky but you'll be fine! You rock like granite :mrgreen:
Jane
 
Re: Max +11 92 AMPS 65 Stalling Should I shoot 0.5?

Hi again Dale and Jane!
Carl
 
Re: Max +11 92 AMPS 65 Stalling Should I shoot 0.5?

Well Carl....in my absence, I've also been forgotten? I'm cold, mushy oatmeal? :lol:
 
Re: Max +11 92 AMPS 65 Stalling Should I shoot 0.5?

Marjorie and Gracie said:
I think it's ok to stall but you need to shoot the full dose of .5u as stalling and reducing the dose are a double whammy. I know you are tired and that's the most important thing to consider but I am one that believes (thanks to Jill) that if you have all the supplies and you have as much data as you have...if you are physically up for an active cycle, you should shoot anything above 50 without stalling. At this point, even if you shoot a dropping number, you can feed him to get him up and take advantage of overlap....knowing he will probably start back down around onset. This is advice for Dale and Max only because Dale knows Maxs cycles and knows how to deal with low numbers.nnso the basic question is can YOU do it with all you have going on.

Bless you Marje :mrgreen: I did lean towards shooting the full (newluy reduced to skinny 0.5u) dose. Just wasn't sure given that the next PM cycle will probably be most affected, and Dale says they're exhausted. (((Dale))) Still, Dale, you can handle whatever comes, I'm sure of it.

Update with next BG, k?
Jane
 
Re: Max +11 92 AMPS 65 Stalling Should I shoot 0.5?

Dale...I guess I was actually being nice :lol: but IMHO, if you are up for a busy day with him, I'd check his BG and shoot if it's above 50....and I'd shoot the dose he just earned. .5u. You will have to deal with shed today, ok...so he's likely to keep you busy.
 
Re: Max +11 92 AMPS 65 Stalling Should I shoot 0.5?

Lol, you have certainly not been forgotten Marje:-)
The last thing I said just before the sun came up today, was "ni-ni" to Jane and Dale. Apparently I overslept :lol:
Carl
 
Re: Max +11 92 AMPS 65 +12.25 69 +12.5 67

Dale....ok, not to confuse this further...sorry. What you need to shoot in dose is .25u less than what you shot last night. When you asked if you should shoot .5u...I agreed because I knew you had been shooting .75u. But if you think you've been shooting less than that, then you don't have a reason to just shave him....he's newly diagnosed. Until he shows he can't handle reductions, you should take .25u reductions until he gets down to .25u. Then we go to .1u.

Make sense?
 
Re: Max +11 92 AMPS 65 +12.25 69 +12.5 67

We're always exhausted! LOL I have go to the office later today after Max's +5. He probably going to surf here for a while. I'll check again at +12.75.
 
Re: Max +11 92 AMPS 65 +12.25 69 +12.5 67

Marjorie and Gracie said:
Dale....ok, not to confuse this further...sorry. What you need to shoot in dose is .25u less than what you shot last night. When you asked if you should shoot .5u...I agreed because I knew you had been shooting .75u. But if you think you've been shooting less than that, then you don't have a reason to just shave him....he's newly diagnosed. Until he shows he can't handle reductions, you should take .25u reductions until he gets down to .25u. Then we go to .1u. Make sense?

Marje, in the last condo (as you may have seen now), we compared pictures of 0.75u, and deduced that Dale has actually been shooting more of a "Fat 0.5u".

SO - new dose, "Fat 0.25u"?
Jane
 
Re: Max +11 92 AMPS 65 +12.25 69 +12.5 67

Hi, Marje,

My intention was to put the TOP of the plunger at the TOP of the 0.5 line. I had been putting the top of the plunger at the BOTTOM of the 0.5 line thinking that was 0.75. So, I think what you are saying it that I need to see some daylight between the top of the line and bottom of the plunger? That, to me would be 0.25, but it doesn't matter what you call it. If I should not shoot 0.5 --a shave from what I've been doing -- and I should give even more of a reduction, I will.
 
Re: Max +11 92 AMPS 65 +12.25 69 +12.5 67

It doesn't really matter what she wants to call it, I'd just like to see her reduce by the full .25u. Max hasn't failed reductions and, in fact, we've had to decrease him by more than .25u on one occasion that I know of. So if you've been shooting .75u....take him to .5u. If you've been shooting f.5u, take him to f.25u.

Just be consistent :-D :-D :-D

All of you \M/ in my book!
 
Re: Max +11 92 AMPS 65 +12.25 69 +12.5 67 +12.75 66

He's still surfing the 60s. I'm going to look at the pictures of what a Fat 0.25 should be.
 
Re: Max +11 92 AMPS 65 +12.25 69 +12.5 67 +12.75 66

ohmygod_smile I still have had only one cup of coffee!

Here's the thing about me telling you where to put the plunger.....all the syringes differ on thickness of unit lines. So you are going to have to best estimate where a f.25u is based on what you've been shooting.

Further complicating things is I use calipers so I don't even look at the unit markings for my doses. I just know that a certain number of mm on the calipers is .75u...I have them all calculated.

But bottom line....he needs a .25u reduction.
 
Re: Max +11 92 AMPS 65 +12.25 69 +12.5 67 +12.75 66

Hi Dale,
I know how you feel - I went through some agony a few nights ago not knowing if I should shoot or not, and took readings every 20 minutes for 2 hours. And I had these great people here with me. I ended up not shooting because I was already to tired and wasn't sure I could commit to the testing cycle and I didn't have the data to predict what he might do. Leo had a high cycle after that, but he's having some great numbers now, so I'm relieved that skipping the dose didn't set him back days. My experience isn't advice, but just that I decided not to shoot and it wasn't the end of the world like I thought it would be.
Good luck
Lisa and Leo
 
Re: Max +11 92 AMPS 65 +12.25 69 +12.5 67 +12.75 66

Just peeking in at you from tbp.
Congratulations on the new dose :thumbup
 
Re: Max +11 92 AMPS 65 +12.25 69 +12.5 67 +12.75 66

When I win the lottery....
I'm sending everyone who joins FDMB a free set of digital calipers.
Carl
 
Re: Max +11 92 AMPS 65 +12.25 69 +12.5 67 +12.75 66

Hey Dale. Some pictures:

5e86c3d4.jpg

The 0.75u you *were'nt* really shooting.

025unit-1.jpg

The 0.25u you need to *roughly* shoot, taking into account how much *FAT* was on your 0.5u that you've been shooting.

From the Sticky, you're halfway between these 2:
"0.3U = skinny 0.5 with daylight under the line
0.2U = fat zero with daylight over the line"


You CAN DO IT!!!
Hugs,
Jane
 
Re: Max +11 92 AMPS 65 +12.25 69 +12.5 67 +12.75 66

They are in the "new to the group" sticky thread, Dale
 
Re: Max +11 92 AMPS 65 +12.25 69 +12.5 67 +12.75 66 +13 70

Thanks for the pictures, Jane, the advice, All of you, the location of the pictures, Carl, and the good wishes those of you who are checking in.

I have had no coffee yet! Hubs is making it now.

My husband wants us to sleep tonight. So we are going to skip this shot this morning, and give the reduction tonight a Fat 0.25.

We have calipers. What type of syringes do you use, Marjorie? I'll bet they aren't Relions are they? If they are, can you tell me how many mm is a fat 0.25?
 
Re: Max +11 92 AMPS 65 +12.25 69 +12.5 67 +12.75 66

:lol: :lol: Lisa...you got me on a soft night! One of these nights I'll say SHOOT! :lol: but I always consider safety first.

I'm glad Jane linked the pics. Im on my iPad so it's not easy to do.
 
Re: Max +11 92 AMPS 65 +12.25 69 +12.5 67 +12.75 66 +13 70

Marje,
Please correct me if I am wrong...

Dale,
If you have calipers, this is easy! Just math..
Draw up to where you have been. Measure that with your calipers.
Multiply that reading by .67.
That's your new dose.

Carl
 
Re: Max +11 92 AMPS 65 +12.25 69 +12.5 67 +12.75 66 +13 70

Ok Dale. You need to take care of yourself, DH and Emma, too. Remember *this* cycle may still throw you curveballs. Hopefully, skipping the shot now will give you a chance to rest more the next PM cycle.

Don't worry. Max is fine and even *if* this throws him a bit, he'll get back on track.
Post with any updates, ok?

Hugs
Jane
 
Re: Max +11 92 AMPS 65 +12.25 69 +12.5 67 +12.75 66

Marjorie and Gracie said:
:lol: :lol: Lisa...you got me on a soft night! One of these nights I'll say SHOOT! :lol: but I always consider safety first.

I'm glad Jane linked the pics. Im on my iPad so it's not easy to do.

LOL - I'm a newbie so I got one for free, right? :-)
 
Re: Max +11 92 AMPS 65 +12.25 69 +12.5 67 +12.75 66 +13 70

Yes, Lisa...you got one for free. But one of these nights...resistance is futile :-D :-D :-D as long as its safe ;-)

Carl....where did you get .67? Methinks it is not that easy...and I've done a couple different syringes.

Dale...I use Terumos and the lines are much thinner. Here's what you need to do. Try to find a perfect syringe...one where the zero line is lined up exactly where it should be do when you push the plunger to the top...or needle side of the syringe, the top of the plunger aligns perfectly with the top of the zero line. Draw up one perfect unit of insulin, measure with the calipers from where the 1u line and plunger line up to where the perfect zero line should be and take a reading in mm. Then figure out how many drops YOU get per unit. Most people get ten. For Gracie I get 14 because she is sensitive to decreases. So let's say your mm reading for 1 perfect unit is 1.4 mm and you get 10 drops per unit, then each drop is .14 mm.

I then double check it with .5u to be sure ...what you should find (if you re at 5 drops per .5u) is that the calipers read .7 mm/5 which should also be .14mm/drop.

If you don't get that, welcome to the world of inaccurate syringes :lol:

I wonder if Maxs forays into those blues was due to the inaccurate syringes?
 
Re: Max +11 92 AMPS 65 +12.25 69 +12.5 67 +12.75 66 +13 70

I could never resist the Borg Queen; good thing she said it was ok to stall!

Max seems really low energy, and has for a few days. These low BGs will do that for him right? I thought high ones would, too -- no juice to the cells. My husband says that when he has a BG of 90 he feels faint and sick. He wonders if Max feels that way at 90, and if so, how does he feel in the 50s? Are we making him feel terrible, he asks?

I know this is possible, but I consider that the end result is remission. So, I carry on. He wasn't very hungry this morning. That's normal, too? He ate, but wasn't pushing me to get him some food at AMPS as he usually is. He sat upstairs and napped instead. If I don't let him eat from +10 to PS, sometimes he is starving. If I don't let him eat for 4 hours, he is really starving. We think he had not eaten since +9 this morning, but he wasn't starving. Is this ok?
 
Re: Max +11 92 AMPS 65 +12.25 69 +12.5 67 +12.75 66 +13 70

Thanks Carl and Marjorie -- I'll measure as you say, and see how it works out.
 
Re: Max +11 92 AMPS 65 +12.25 69 +12.5 67 +12.75 66 +13 70

Carl....where did you get .67? Methinks it is not that easy...and I've done a couple different syringes.

OK, it is that simple in my mind, so I'll try to explain.

Currently, Dale has been shooting what she has considered to be ".75u", right?
If that were true:
There are 3 incremental doses in the syringe, per protocol.
.75u
.5u and
.25u

Reducing from .75u to .5u is a one-third reduction in total insulin, or 33%. ".67" would be the decimal equivalent of "two thirds".
So no matter how much she's been shooting (you could erase the scale on the syringe and it wouldn't matter when you are using calipers, as long as you establish that the current dose is your baseline).

.75u times .67 is .50u

So, you take the current dose, call it ".75u" no matter what it is, multiply it by .67 and come up with .5u, right?

So you take the decimal/millimeter value on your calipers. You know you have 3 incremental doses that add up to that caliper reading. You remove one of those incremental doses, and you have two left. The new dose is the first one. The next reduction is the final one (before trying the ".1 just before OTJ dose").
That final dose would be one third of the current dose, and one-half of the "new dose" she's starting tonight.

Just like
.25u is one half of .5u, right?

Did I make it more (or less) clear?

Carl

ETA - Dale, run that by your husband and see if it makes sense to him? Maybe it's a "guy thing"? :lol:
 
Re: Max +11 92 AMPS 65 +12.25 69 +12.5 67 +12.75 66 +13 70

I think that when they've been up a little, it does take a little time to get used to being down again...but Max hasn't been up that long. Max cannot tell the difference between a BG of 50 or 90... Really, he cant :-D

I always worry when a good eater doesn't want to eat....if he's off one day..ok...we all have good and bad daysnesp older kitties. But more than that, and I'd be concerned.

Actually, I'm pouting. Obviously resistance is not futile. :lol: :lol: :lol: I guess I just wasn't borgish enough.
 
Re: Max AMPS 65 +13 70 +14.25 78

Awww . . . I'll bet you have a cute little pout, Marje. Quick! Use it on your husband while it's genuine! LOL

Carl, That makes perfect sense to me, and I don't even have a Y chromosome!
 
Re: Max AMPS 65 +13 70 +14.25 78

Dale,
I wasn't trying to be chauvinistic, really I wasn't! I do know from previous condos that your hubby has done a lot of thinking and research on syringes, and if I was being confusing, he might say "ok, I get it!" and be able to explain it in a way that "couples" are able to explain things to each other, if that makes any sense?..... but if he didn't "get it", now you can explain it to him! :lol:
 
Re: Max AMPS 65 +13 70 +14.25 78

:-D I know, Carl, no offense taken -- really! I was trying to be funny, because quite frankly, he really does understand things I don't -- and vice versa, of course!

Juxtaposed with my very chauvinistic joke to Marje -- it wasn't funny? LOL! Poor Carl, a "victim" of the Feminist Era -- I know how hard it is to know what to say, how to say it - you can't even hold a door open for some women, can you? Ah, I do wish we'd made more progress before the backslide, but I'm never offended when a door is held for me. (It's easier now that I have a little one -- guys are more comfortable because they can also say, well, I was doing it because she had a kid.)
 
Re: Max AMPS 65 +13 70 +14.25 78

Jane! If you are confused, it's because it's the end of the day for you, that's all.

Poor Max. I should take Emma somewhere; she will not leave him alone. He is in the bushes as deep as he can get, but she's trying to touch him with a pie pan. Earlier this morning when he was getting his ear pricked every 15 minutes she was spinning the chair he was on back and forth back and forth; grabbing handfuls of his hair, pulling his tail. I kept stopping her and saying "Gentle, No, don't pull, just pat, DON'T HIT, just pat softly, Gentle, Gentle." He's looking at me like, "Just get this thing off me, would you?!"
 
Re: Max AMPS 65 +13 70 +14.25 78

max&emmasmommie said:
:-D I know, Carl, no offense taken -- really! I was trying to be funny, because quite frankly, he really does understand things I don't -- and vice versa, of course!

Juxtaposed with my very chauvinistic joke to Marje -- it wasn't funny? LOL! Poor Carl, a "victim" of the Feminist Era -- I know how hard it is to know what to say, how to say it - you can't even hold a door open for some women, can you? Ah, I do wish we'd made more progress before the backslide, but I'm never offended when a door is held for me. (It's easier now that I have a little one -- guys are more comfortable because they can also say, well, I was doing it because she had a kid.)

No, I got that it was humor :lol: And I'm old enough to have been raised to do stuff like open doors, pull out chairs, assist with coats and zippers, all that "old school stuff". I even say "ma'am" regardless of age! I'm smart enough to realize that women rule the world, and any guy who is successful in life owes it to at least one or two women who allowed that to happen. ;-)

Carl
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top