Max AMPS 271 Reduced+6=164PMPS 190+2=187+3.75=107+5=99+7=109

Status
Not open for further replies.

tiffmaxee

Member Since 2013
YESTERDAY'S RECAP:
AMPS70
+1=110
+2=106
+3=72
+4=50/52
+5=58/77
+6=95
PMPS 109
+1=125
+2=63
+2.75=55
+3.5=50+3.75=51
+4.25=63
+5=77
+6=84

YESTERDAY'S LINK:
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=120803

Last night it was decided to decrease but now Max is bouncing. Should I still go ahead with the decrease? Could this be a sign that he needs the reduction or is it a sign to hold for another dose? I decided to try the reduction as it's just 1/2 of the normal .25 and I can always take him right back up if it fails yet again. I am disappointed to see a bounce to start it off though.
 
Re: Max AMPS 271 STILL REDUCE? BOUNCE

Hi guys .. no dosing advice from me, but wow, nice numbers max! Have a great day guys!
 
Re: Max AMPS 271 STILL REDUCE? BOUNCE

I went and read yesterday before answering ....
You could continue the dose you were on and shoot thru the bounce..... and shave the dose tonight.
or it looks like it was suggested that you just shave the dose this morning....

I remember being told when I got a 50 that it should be under 50 ( so 49 is good) for a dose reduction but you also have to consider the pattern
for the whole day.

I personally would shoot thru the bounce this morning and then reduce tonight as long as I was going to be around to monitor.
 
Re: Max AMPS 271 STILL REDUCE? BOUNCE

We were doing the 3 times under 50 but I have been working very hard to keep him over 50 with lots of carbs and constant feedings. The goal was to flatten him out and stop the constant bouncing. So I made the decision to try the reduction as I did it before you were able to get back to me. It was getting too late as I really want to shoot at 7:00 and it was 7:15. Thanks for looking. If it doesn't work we can go right back up.
 
Re: Max AMPS 271 STILL REDUCE? BOUNCE

Hi Julie. Did I do the right thing? Of course the bounce (DARN IT) made me unsure. I sure hope this one goes away as fast as the last. Does my reasoning make any sense that it could be a sign to reduce? I'm still trying to figure this all out.
 
Re: Max AMPS 271 STILL REDUCE? BOUNCE

We are cheering for you Max... Green green green!!! :RAHCAT

Those bounces can be really disappointing but with your wonderful care he will come right back down. We all know I am definitely no expert (lol!) but wouldn't you having to carb him up so much to keep him from going so low help earn him a reduction? Seems like if you have to work that hard to keep him up then you would reduce??? Just a non-expertise thought :)
 
Re: Max AMPS 271 STILL REDUCE? BOUNCE

when i woke up this morning i was thinking about Max, and thinking maybe i was premature in suggesting you reduce before he'd gone under 50. but when i read that you had numbers that you were carbing last night, i thought it was time.

you could've shot through the bounce if you'd wanted. but i think reducing was fine - it's not like we can check the manual and see what to do in every circumstance. i think your reasoning and your choice makes sense.

i'm a little concerned that i just suggested you reduce 1/8th of a unit when we know he would've gone below 50 yesterday if not for your intervention and i don't want to ignore the "3 times under 50 = reduce by 1/4 unit" so that actually makes me more comfortable that you went ahead and reduced this morning anyway. let's just watch and see what he does.
 
Re: Max AMPS 271 STILL REDUCE? BOUNCE

Your reasoning was somewhat how I felt. We reduced by this amount before so I think it was fine though. I felt it was worth a try to reduce mostly because of having given him karo a few times and I barely kept him at 50. The bounce surprised me this morning but what else is new. He surprises me a lot. Thanks Julie.
 
Re: Max AMPS 271 Reduced+2=276+4=240

Thanks for the visits. So far it's a mellow yellow bounce day. I'll do a +6 or so to see if he heads down at all and then likely let him be until tonight. I did really need to work at keeping him over 50 last night but he stayed up!! Hopefully that means he will do well with less juice.
 
Re: Max AMPS 271 Reduced+2=276+4=240+6=164PMPS 190

Max's appetite is off today. He slept the day away again. Something is not right but I don't know what it is.
 
Re: Max AMPS 271 Reduced+2=276+4=240+6=164PMPS 190

Aww..hope Max feels better soon and gets his appy back. I notice with Chi Chi when her #s are higher she sleeps way more, and doesnt eat quite as much either. Hopefully when his #s come down again he will be feeling better.
 
Re: Max AMPS 271 Reduced+2=276+4=240+6=164PMPS 190

Thanks, Laura, but the thing is, this has been going on for several weeks, maybe months. I've been so absorbed with the diabetes that I can't say when it started. It's just worse this last month. He only seems to come to life between 5 a.m. and 8 a.m. He's been sleeping in his bed that he just started using. I haven't even found him on my bed much the last couple of weeks and he doesn't jump up for cuddle time before I nod off like he used to do. :? I somehow don't think it's diabetes related. One day not eating much is not a concern as he has gained nearly 1/2 pound when I'd rather he had lost that much.

I just talked to my sister and my mom's coumadin level is too high, dangerously so. If it doesn't come down tomorrow she will need to be hospitalized to get it down. We could use some prayers. Thanks.
 
Re: Max AMPS 271 Reduced+2=276+4=240+6=164PMPS 190

Very nice numbers for Max, I see you were very busy again yesterday, day and night! I hope he gets his appetite and energy level back again soon, and also sending healing vines, and prayers for your mother as well, hugs Elise!
 
Re: Max AMPS 271 Reduced+2=276+4=240+6=164PMPS 190

So sorry about your mom, and my mom is on coumadin too, so I understand..prayers for her and you too. Chi Chi at some point(long time ago) stopped sleeping on my bed most every night, and very rarely will she now.Ive just chalked it up to being older, slowing down and less active. Chi Chi went from 18 pounds pre fd, down to just under 14 pounds. She is now back up to almost 16! Makes me wonder if I should be concerned. Shes a big cat tho :smile:
 
Re: Max AMPS 271 Reduced+2=276+4=240+6=164PMPS 190

Hi Elise.

FIrst of all, prayers and healing vines for your DM. My DH is on coumadin, but he hasn't had any problems with it (anti-jinx). I hope she stabilizes soon. Is she eating leafy greens to get some Vitamin K into her?

I have no insight on Max, but I understand your concerns. We get so focused on one issue, like FD, it's easy to miss other signs. I hope you get it figured out and he starts to feel better. You are in excellent hands with the dosing here, so I'll just wish you good luck.

Hugs. :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
Re: Max AMPS 271 Reduced+2=276+4=240+6=164PMPS 190

(((Elise))) - I hope Max gets right back on track for you. No predictions here, but it looks like he may be planning on sliding down for you. if not, it will maybe give you a change to take it easy and get some rest. Hopefully, the bigger depot will help him ease into the lower dose. I'm sorry to hear that he's not feeling well. :sad: I know he's got a number of other health issues going on. Hopefully, with this stretch of good numbers, it will result in improving his overall health. Feel good vines headed your way for Max! I know you're trying to juggle health issues with your mom right now too, and that's a lot to try to balance! Hugs to you and healing vines headed for your mom as well!
 
Re: Max AMPS 271 Reduced+2=276+4=240+6=164 PMPS 190+2=187

Elise,
I am sorry I did not realize that Max wasn't feeling so good.
Is it possible that all the extra food is making him feel tired?
Lucy used to be in green much more often and whenever I fed her extra food, she didn't feel well afterwards, so I now use only a small amount of LC and karo.
You know how you don't feel so well after eating too much?
I think Lucy feels the same, so I aim for 80% full.
Sending feel better vines to Max.

And I am sending many prayers for you rmom.
 
Re: Max AMPS 271 Reduced+2=276+4=240+6=164 PMPS 190+2=187

(((((elise))))

you are a wonderful caregiver. i hope max perks up tomorrow - and sending my best wishes for your mom too. my dad took coumadin, too. you need the right balance with it.

hope you can sleep tonight. :YMHUG:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top