MAX AMPS 140+2/123+4/61+5/42?+5.75/43or50+6.5/54 /67+7.5 /69+8.5/76 PMPS 158+2.5/166+4 /144+5.5/129

Status
Not open for further replies.

tiffmaxee

Member Since 2013
YESTERDAY'S CONDO:http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...-pmps-142-2-5-94-3-5-94-5-5-67-6-5-72.131085/

Good morning. Max was very vocal this morning and was my alarm clock. I wondered if he was running either high or low but he was typical for Max. He must be feeling better though because he came in for head butts so that is good. :)

Last night when he came down to 67 at +5.5 I gave him a little 9% instead of 3% because I really didn't want him to go much lower and have to feed him more and stay awake. His test an hour later was 72 so it worked.

Prayers and vines to all in need with extra as always for Amy's DF and Tricia's kitties who also get appy vines. Have a great day everyone.
 
Max was diagnosed in the middle of November 2013. This is our 3rd time under 50 but in looking over the protocol it says for long term diabetics it's into the 40's. So my question is should I have again or not? Thanks.
 
Last edited:
Personally I would try shaving the dose and see what happens. If it doesn't hold, you can always take him back up, and he does get back on track pretty quickly. Just my 2 cents....others may definitely may have different ideas!
 
I think this is your call, Elise. He got so close to under 40 - there is meter variance to consider, too. As Amy says, you can always take him back up if you reduce and it doesn't hold.
 
I fed him 15% carb and at the retest used both meters. I got 50 on the Relion that I used earlier and 43 on the back-up. I didn't give any karo to see what he would do. I'll see what he does this afternoon and where he is this evening but am leaning toward another tiny reduction. Thanks Amy and Tricia.
 
Max, you're making this difficult again! Good thing you're being lovey.

You know Max so well. Your instincts can be your guide. A shave. Sure. Back up if need be, sure. Seems like a no harm, no foul situation.

Marilyn and Polly
 
It's 3 drops INTO the 40's (not under) or one drop under the 40's (so anytime you get into the 30's, they get reduced) if I have been understanding it right. The protocol doesn't specifically say for long term diabetics it's OK to wait for them to drop 3 times into the 40's....just that if they drop below 40, they should get the full .25 unless you have lots and lots of testing and really know thy cat.

I think the "3 drops into the 40's" is just what a lot of older diabetics started using and it's kind of become "normal" for them now.

Max has been doing great with his reductions....You've shaved his last 2 and he's held them!

You know what they say.....go with what works!
 
Thanks, Chris. What you wrote is what I meant, 3 into the 40's. I just didn't post it right. I know anything under 40 means reduce!

I corrected my previous post.
 
I think it's just fine to reduce and see how he does.

For a long term diabetic, It's actually three drops between 40-50 or one drop below 40. Since he's been in the 40-50 range three times, it's smart to reduce.

Good luck with the reduction.
 
Thank you Marje. I'm going to call the dose a fat 2 since on my syringe it almost looks like 2.25 but that is because I always have a bubble.

I'm at my mom's but leaving for home soon.
 
Last edited:
You are doing great managing the dose with Max! You seem to be on the right track and those numbers prove it. Keep doing what works for him, and good luck with the reducie. Hope your mom is doing better.
 
Thanks, Ruth. He just wasn't himself again yesterday but he did eat. Too much hiding at odd times. Today he was our more until he got fed up with my testing and then he was under the bed. He ate his pmps food and came in to push me around while I was measuring insulin tonight and then let me brush him and purred a lot.
 
Hi Laura. We cross posted. Thanks for stopping by. My mom sounded bad last night so that is why I went over. She was sleeping a good part of the time but then woke up and we got to visit.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top