Max AMPS 121,+2 119,+4 100, +6 86 @.25U

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tom B

Member Since 2017
I'm looking for some advice, Max's numbers have quickly been going down and staying down with decreasing doses. It figures that I took yesterday and left the house for most of the day. It would have been great to have a +3 and +5 to know what happened.

I gave him a 1/2 dose (.25U) last night and this morning because of the low pre-shot numbers, but he has only continued to go down. I kinda feel like this happened very quickly, he's only been on insulin for about 10 days. His +6 was an 86 meaning I should decrease his dose again? Where do I go from here. I've seen terms thrown around like a drop or a light .25U but how exactly do I measure that out and what exactly is half of .25U? Or should I simply keep him @ .25 since he is responding well and not going too low?

Thanks in advance.
 
Technically with that dropbelow 90 on slgs he's earned his reduction, though it may still be the depot of the .5u talking.
He does still look as though he may need continued support. Ideally you want to see his ss go all green. It's been found that continuing insulin support for as long as it's safe to do so leads to stronger remissions.
You could take him down to 0.1u and see how that goes.

Here's a link, scroll to the bottom it explains how to measure the small doses,
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...insulin-info-handling-drawing-fine-doses.151/
 
@Bobbie And Bubba can you give Tom some tips on measuring micro dosing? Max is down to .25U already and using SLGS, so "technically" the 86 earned a reduction, but Tom is pretty new to this - Max has only been on insulin for 10 days - so if he has to go down to a 0.1 U that is difficult for an experienced person to measure, much less someone who's only been doing this a short while. I know you had Bubba on 0.1U for a while so thought you might be able to give Tom some pointers.

Any other beans with micro dose kitties, feel free to jump in a as well!!
 
Hi Tom, I am not familiar with Max's history but gosh he is responding to insulin really well. Was he on steroids previously? Or the change to low carb food could certainly drop him by 100 points. I see that you dropped him from .50 to .25 without a reduction because of the lower number last night PM cycle last night. Let's see what his PMPS is and if he soars upward, I would hold the .25 dose. In the event that he continues to drop, below is a pictorial of .10 dose.

ETA: I meant to say you reduce to .25 without an earned reduction.



upload_2017-3-27_18-56-38.png
 
Last edited:
He's never been on steroids, and I changed him to low carb food about 3 weeks ago. Before he was diagnosed with diabetes, he was eating less and I thought he was just tired of his old food.

Thank you all for the advice, we'll see what his pre-shot number is tonight.
 
Hey Tom,
Just a suggestion.... you might want to get a +11 tonite just to see which direction he's heading in. That way, if you're unsure about what dose to give, you have time to post here and ask for advice and it gives people some time to respond. Put something like "Need dosing advice" or "Need help with PM dose" in your title. That usually gets peoples attention.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top