? Max 8/19; PMPS 100, +2 73, +4 71, +6.5 95, +9.75 111, AMPS still to come, but have 2 ?s

Rebecca & Max (GA)

Member Since 2020
Last post

I have my elderly dog at the vets right now, possibly in the final stages of heart failure arghh, and it's also the first day of high school for my twins (online). Max's daytime tests have taken a slight hit as it has been a stressful two days and my brain is not firing on all cylinders. I had to stall Max yesterday as I knew if I shot him at 10 AM at 76, I'd have to watch him and I could not (was hoping to get called into the vet and had to get school items from the school for today). Max has been wanting to spend his time outside under our kitchen window in this heat (argh), so I can forget to grab him for tests at times, but I'm doing my best. I do have a few questions...
1) did the s1.5 hr stall yesterday affect his BGL today (going up sooner than usual), or is he still doing okay? His PM shot time was shifted the 1.5 hrs as well (ugh, creeping back to those late times)
2) does it look like I need to keep holding his 0.1U dose? I believe OTJ needs to be lower than what he's been running, but am also trying to decide what the next step is (do I drop to one drop, keep holding, go back up to 0.25)?

Thank you! Appreciate any canine prayers you could send our way too! Bandit was my mom's and my twins have grown up with him since birth...
 
Last edited:
First :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug: I’m sorry about your dog. I wish I could say but if my cat I would continue on this dose until he tells you otherwise. It’s best for a strong remission.
 
First :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug: I’m sorry about your dog. I wish I could say but if my cat I would continue on this dose until he tells you otherwise. It’s best for a strong remission.
Thank you...it's the waiting that's killing me. He's almost 15 and has had heart issues for 10 of those years AND canine dementia. This last year has had a lit of ups and downs with him.
Awesome about the dose, tho... that's what I was thinking but I'm not really sure what a 'failed reduction' looks like when the numbers are as low as his. My stalling yesterday didn't help things a ton, but I didn't want to go up if I shouldn't. I know he's not ready to go OTJ just yet, but I also didn't know if he'd tell me that too, or if I just eventually tried going one drop and holding that, or what...
 
Sounds like you're spread pretty thin right now. So sorry to her about your pooch...I hope it goes well and he gets home soon.

You're on a pretty low dose there but it might help if you can set a timer to remind you to test Max....I'd forget to test Luci all day if it weren't for a timer..
 
Sounds like you're spread pretty thin right now. So sorry to her about your pooch...I hope it goes well and he gets home soon.

You're on a pretty low dose there but it might help if you can set a timer to remind you to test Max....I'd forget to test Luci all day if it weren't for a timer..
I have alarms set on my phone for the PM cycle, so yeah, need to do the same for daytime unless things settle down here quickly. The new shot time was also throwing me off my game, so to speak. It's been 12:30 forever and my brain automatically just knew what time it was during the day. Going all the way back to 10 was weird, and now the new stall time is messing with me good too. Doesn't help I'm now going back 30 min each AM cycle to get to that 10 AM time again. :banghead:
 
I have alarms set on my phone for the PM cycle, so yeah, need to do the same for daytime unless things settle down here quickly. The new shot time was also throwing me off my game, so to speak. It's been 12:30 forever and my brain automatically just knew what time it was during the day. Going all the way back to 10 was weird, and now the new stall time is messing with me good too. Doesn't help I'm now going back 30 min each AM cycle to get to that 10 AM time again. :banghead:[/Q:rolleyes:UOTE]

You may want to read about moving the time back unless I’m misunderstanding your comment... it’s safest to move the shot by 15 minutes per cycle...

I could be reading it incorrectly as well
 
It’s either 15 min per cycle or 30 min per 24 hours. I find I have better success if I do the once each 24 hours. So going back 30 min today to 11 (just dosed him), to 10:30 tomorrow AM, and then to 10 AM on Friday morning. So no, not going 30 min each cycle!
 
Back
Top